We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great location, comfortable rooms but average customer service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #85 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great price, great location, comfortable rooms but average customer service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I got the impression the front desk staff are underworked, underpaid or just over it. We checked on and out fine but the staff did the bare minimum. We asked for late checkout because we were out the night before. The desk bloke said we can checkout at noon. 10.30 housekeeping was knocking and 11 reception was calling to ask us when we were leaving. Apparently the bloke who checked us in didn't record the late checkout. On the plus side the location is fantastic, the rooms while small are clean and comfortable. But the bed, wow! Best bed we have slept on. Period! 10 hours of refreshing sleep on this work of bedding art. We took the sheets off to see what the matress was and am going to buy one for our bed at home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Brendon

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

I will also share your comments with our Front Office Manager, as it allows us to improve on the concerns you have raised providing future guests with a high quality product that Novotel is renowned for.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.
Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    630
    457
    152
    99
See reviews for
226
656
167
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Ibis was easy to find and we could drive up to front door. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Great location, opposite Darling Harbour and short stroll to Sydney Casino.
Room was clean and modern, however i felt a little small. I liked that there were toiletry supplies and a hairdryer in the bathroom.
Breakfast was good. Plenty of items to choose from. I would suggest you arrive early as many guests were left waiting in line for a table. (We arrived at breakfast around 830 n by 9am, queues had started).
I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.
My negatives for this stay:
1. Crowded breakfast
2. Lifts from carpark not working. Had to park car next door and walk up several ramps/floors to enter hotel. The lift was fixed by morning, thank goodness as it was raining!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Simone

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your Ibis experience, I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Please free to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.

Kind Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Right, we needed some last minute accommodation due to family coming to visit and staying in the CBD. Ibis it is....booked on line for a very reasonable $119, on the top floor overlooking the harbour. Whilst the digs were not palatial, they were good enough for a good night sleep and a quick morning shower before work the next day.

Happy hour at the bar starts at 5pm and is just that, 1 hour, however, if you are an Accor member (hotel chain) happy hour goes for 2 hours.

They have on site parking for $40 which is pretty good value and is valid until 5pm on day of check out (tip for young punters, check out, load all your crap in your car and go explore Darling harbour for a few hours- be back before 5pm and you've got yourself cheap CBD parking)

The hotel is on the west side of darling harbour with easy access to the many restaurants within walking distance.

I'd say its a perfect little spot for the business man/woman looking at an overnighter or couple of days whilst in then CBD for business. In saying that, we were there for pleasure and will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room over looking Darling Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Kaznbrett

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback.

It is always refreshing to read such a well written review. I will be sure to share your comments with our team.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.
Kind Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A lovely place to stay with my daughter who had tickets to the lunchtime 'Abba' cruise. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly. The bonus was the view from the harbourside room which was perfect to view the Saturday night fireworks.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Fayzer30

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I hope you enjoyed your cruise and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The location is excellent in the heart of Darling Harbour and only 20 minutes walk to The Rocks. Rooms are small, we had 2 single beds but still comfortable and great view of the city. The blinds kept the room dark to allow for a nice sleep in.
Did not opt for the breakfast as kids generally sleep in till lunch time anyway and there was plenty of options outside along Darling Harbour.
The $15 meal and drink options in the Ibis restaurant for dinner was great value and well prepared. The carpark was $40 per night extra and hard to find a park when you get back from day trips but Ibis do offer alternative parking.

Room Tip: Get room facing the city for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Steven

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again very soon for what I am sure will be another pleasant stay.

Kind Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Address: 70 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Darling Harbour, ibis Sydney Darling Harbour is one of Sydney's most popular 3.5 Star hotels. Ibis is renowned for its quality, simplicity and value for money with many rooms boasting spectacular views of Darling Harbour. With a popular bar, restaurant and 24 hour reception, ibis has affordable rates and friendly service and is perfect for business or leisure travel during a Sydney visit. With an undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre and surrounded by world renowned restaurants, bars, clubs and the Casino, this is Sydney's premiere visitor destination. Major visitor experiences include Sydney SEA LIFE Aquarium, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, Powerhouse Museum, National Maritime Museum, China Town and the regular free entertainment and festivals of Darling Harbour. All this, and the city and CBD are just minutes away with a Light Rail connection at the door! Ibis is part of a two hotel complex managed by Accor Hotels which includes the adjacent Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Sydney
Ibis Darling Harbour
Hotel Ibis Sydney
Ibis Sydney
Ibis Hotel Darling Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.