We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROOM WITH A VIEW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booker
Ranked #91 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“ROOM WITH A VIEW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This Ibis room was very good, we stayed in one by Darling Harbour before and the window was about 8" wide and long ,it was horrendous feeling closed in,l made sure this one had a big window with a view which it did. I have stayed in Sydney 12 times from UK,10 in 4 and 5 star,getting ridiculous prices so tried an Ibis,didnt like the other one but have seen this one every visit as it stands out on Darling Harbour,we were very pleased,the room was quite big and the bathroom was ok,nice and clean.Tea and coffee there everyday,a nice bench/table to put all my stuff on in front of the window and as always such a tiny hanging space,but we expected that,its not much room when you are staying a week there, was iron etc aswell which l used a lot as couldn't hang enough clothes up so had to iron as l went along which was a pain but ok. Had TV to watch as usual. We always take in Australia day in our visit to Oz and was out all day but stayed in the room at night because we could see all the fireworks on Darling Harbour,so it was nice and it wasn't a very warm evening,been raining so perfect. Yes l would stay there again,it was an easy walk to the Chinese Gardens,Paddys market etc and across the bridge by the Maritime Museum to cut across to the otherside of Darling Harbour,there is a massive food court right by the Ibis and a large shopping Mall,so everything is there and you can get a ferry to Circular Key for the Opera House etc,over the bridge and along abit,not too far to walk. As l said earlier, the view and price and cleanliness l would stay there next year again,pity about the lack of hanging space,but we managed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    698
    487
    166
    111
See reviews for
244
722
179
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location. The hotel was spotless and staff were very informative and helpful. There was a shopping mall beside the hotel with a variety of shops and food court. Being on Darling Harbour there were plenty of restaurants nearby but would recommend booking dinner as the restaurants were all very busy every night. Rooms were cleaned daily. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Helen,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay so much! We have to agree that Darling Harbour is a great location with so many shops, restaurants, bars and attractions all within a few minutes of each other and we are very privileged to be able to offer accommodation right in the heart of this.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards
ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A popular city hotel overlooking Darling Harbour, just a short walk to lovely restaurants, bars and attractions. The Ibis has the most comfortable beds in studio type rooms. The room was very clean and serviced by friendly,helpful staff.
Excellent value for money.....great for a "stop-over" for a couple of days.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Carole,

Thanks for the review!

We are glad you enjoyed out unbeatable location and the new ibis 'sweet' beds! These beds have been rolled out at ibis hotels across the globe and we have heard nothing but great feedback on them.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam, Kerala, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you are looking for budget stay at a premium spot, this is the choice. Right in the darling harbour area, this hotel is very convenient. Most tourism attractions like maritime museum, Sydney fish market, boating yards etc are walkable distance. I stayed here for a business trip early last year and all my visits were walkable distances... Evenings you can relax and walk through the harbour side, enjoy different varieties of exotic food... Rooms are decent, breakfast is reasonable.... I will stay here again.... Slightly. Expensive when compare to other ibis hotels, may be due to the location...

Room Tip: If you get a harbour view room, it's great... Am not sure if they have harbour facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Another place where I stayed for a couple of nights during my small trip to Sydney last year. The rooms are small (typical IBIS). Internet was really slow & expensive. The good things are the location & the staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you found our location perfect for the purpose of your stay and we will be sure to pass on your positive comments about the staff.

Please be advised for future stays in Australia that Accor Hotels offer free internet to our Le Club members of Silver Status or higher. What's better, is that Le Club is free to join!

We hope to welcome you back to Darling Harbour in the near future!

Kind Regards
ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Walked in off the street and was offered a terrific deal including breakfast and harbour views. The duty manager was terrific and nothing was a problem. Rooms serviced daily and the typical studio, but very clean and awesome view. Now the only real issue was the breakfast. Nothing was refilled unless you asked and the hot foods were cold at times. No real issue S the price is pretty good if you buy it but we had it thrown in so I'm not complaining. Will definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose. Close to the CBD and casino.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Address: 70 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Darling Harbour, ibis Sydney Darling Harbour is one of Sydney's most popular 3.5 Star hotels. Ibis is renowned for its quality, simplicity and value for money with many rooms boasting spectacular views of Darling Harbour. With a popular bar, restaurant and 24 hour reception, ibis has affordable rates and friendly service and is perfect for business or leisure travel during a Sydney visit. With an undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre and surrounded by world renowned restaurants, bars, clubs and the Casino, this is Sydney's premiere visitor destination. Major visitor experiences include Sydney SEA LIFE Aquarium, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, Powerhouse Museum, National Maritime Museum, China Town and the regular free entertainment and festivals of Darling Harbour. All this, and the city and CBD are just minutes away with a Light Rail connection at the door! Ibis is part of a two hotel complex managed by Accor Hotels which includes the adjacent Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Sydney
Ibis Darling Harbour
Hotel Ibis Sydney
Ibis Sydney
Ibis Hotel Darling Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.