We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis Darling Harbour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #86 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Ibis Darling Harbour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013.

Rooms were typical Ibis - clean, comfortable, and our room had a great view over Darling Harbour. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the local area.
Position next to the shopping centre and nearby to many restaurants and bars made the hotel very convenient.

Check in and check out were friendly and efficient, and was on our way within minutes of coming to reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    632
    457
    152
    99
See reviews for
227
658
167
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Service

The service was friendly and polite. I was quickly checked in for my one-night stay here, without too much fuss or bother. Check-out was similarly smooth.

Room

Our room (no 922) gave new meaning to the term “no frills”. More like a shipping container than a room; it was square and neat with space only for a queen-sized bed with two 2x2 bedside shelves, a small, hard bench, a table and chair flush up against the wall, a TV squeezed into a strange angle, a tiny cupboard, micro fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. No place even for a dustbin, that’s in the bathroom. No lock-up safe and no drawers, only two small shelves in what passes for the cupboard. The lighting was poor, making it impossible to read comfortably after dark. So that’s it. That’s your room. Luckily we were only staying for one night or I would have ended up with a serious bout of claustrophobia. But it did have a magnificent view of Darling Harbour and the city beyond that. It was clean and well stocked with provisions, but much too small and basic for my liking. The bed was too soft; probably worn down by age.

Bathroom

Not much bigger than an airline toilet, with a tiny shower cubicle, two mirrors and a few shelves for storage. It was clean and functional but cramped, with two towels each per person.

Location

The hotel calls itself the “Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour”, but that’s a misnomer because the hotel is in Murray Street, Pyrmont. Direct access from Darling Harbour is only via the Harbourside Shopping Centre; from where you’ll need to get the lift to level three (or a series of escalators if you don’t like lifts), walk across the foot bridge and then through the car park. It took me ages to find it that way. I got completely lost until I spotted a sign that said “Ibis Hotel Lifts”, so I followed that, which took me to a locked security door beyond which were the lifts. I had to buzz the receptionist to let me in, took the lift up one level and finally arrived at the check-in desk. What a mission. An easier way would have been to walk right out of Darling Harbour, passed the Maritime Museum, and round the corner into Murray Street, from where it’s only a few metres up the road. So really this hotel should be called the Ibis Pyrmont, not the Ibis Darling Harbour. Ok, having got that off my chest and got my bearings (and I’m a Sydney local), I guess I could say that it is a decent location. It’s about a 15-20 minute walk to Town Hall Station via Darling Harbour and Bathurst Street (just bear in mind that it’s a hilly walk going towards the city, easier if coming from the city). The light rail is close by and that can take you to various attractions such as Paddy’s Markets and the Star Casino. And of course Darling Harbour itself is a picturesque precinct with the water, the boardwalk (currently being renovated) all the shops and restaurants and plenty of activity to give it a lively vibe. So it definitely is a realistic alternative to a CBD hotel.

Amenities

There’s no pool or gym, but we were told that as guests of the Ibis we could use the facilities of the nearby Novotel. Being a rather chilly day we didn’t avail ourselves of that opportunity. The hotel has a restaurant and a bar downstairs, pleasant for relaxing in, and you’ll get expansive views from the balcony. The place is clean, airy and light but again like the rooms, rather basic in its style. There are two computers with internet access downstairs which guests can use for free (I used one and the keyboard was so old that you couldn’t read the lettering on the keys. How much does a new keyboard cost guys: $25?)

Breakfast

We decided to treat ourselves to the buffet breakfast, at a reasonable price of $15 a head (pre-booked before arrival). The fare was fresh, tasty and varied with fruits, cereals, toast, pastries, pancakes and delicious sausages and baked beans. I liked the smart, yet casual dining room with its soothing white colour scheme, comfy chairs and tables and views towards the city.

Best features

- Sensational views

- Handy location to Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Paddy’s Markets, Star Casino and the city (Town Hall end)

- Filling, tasty buffet breakfast, reasonably priced

- Friendly, accommodating staff


Worst features

- Very small, basic room with poor lighting & no safe

- Tiny bathroom

- Uncomfortable bed

- No direct access from Darling Harbour

Room Tip: Higher rooms are essential to take advantage of this hotel's best feature: the view of Darling H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I travelled and stayed here for work. I picked the location specifically as it was close to where I needed to go but staff were very helpful and friendly. There is a taxi stand right out front and there was always a taxi there. Breakfast was awesome also.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueziders, Austria
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

the hortel is located right ondarling hobour ,the opera hous is about 30 minutes walk away -so you are quite in the centre. The rooms are somehow worn down and the hotel is a typical Ibis style -simple and functional. rooms are small but sufficent when you are alone. The staff is very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: if you want a habour view -on the 5th floor room higher than No 509 you shouldask for -its worthwhil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had two nights here on our way back to the U.K. after staying in port Stephens with our family and it was excellent value and a great base to stay in this wonderful city, the facilities are good and the staff very friendly and helpful, the restaurant is excellent and the girls waiting on are very friendly and was brilliant with our fourteen month old nephew who was with our group they were very helpful and willing to accommodate our needs if we ever go back to Sydney we would stay here again deffo!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recommend getting a room with a view of the water as it is quite stunning by day or night. The rooms are small but well designed so that you are still comfortable. The location is a great base for exploring the harbour and city.

Unlike other other reviewers, we didn't find the staff overly helpful. At check-in we didn't quite understand the car park arrangement and felt that the staff member was just tolerating our confusion. We also tried to call the desk several times but our calls were unanswered.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balga west aust
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at the Ibis for one night on way to pick up cruise ship and one night when returned a fortnight later. Found staff very helpful and friendly. The location is fantastic Maratime Museum within walking distance also the Harbour Town shopping complex as well. Easy walk to other side of harbour to Cockle Bay area which boasts cafes and resturants. Found the rooms a little dated and lacked some basic information. Could not find a roomservice menu until looked on fridge and found it attached to door. And no information concerning Hotel services or bar and resturant times. The meals we had there were good and no complaints about the amount.

If looking for hotel that is close to attractions of Darling Harbour and the city would not hesitate to recommend it,

Room Tip: If can try and get a Harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Darling Harbour!

Please rest assured we have passed on your comments regarding lack of information in the rooms for our team to follow up.

Best Wishes
ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Address: 70 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Darling Harbour, ibis Sydney Darling Harbour is one of Sydney's most popular 3.5 Star hotels. Ibis is renowned for its quality, simplicity and value for money with many rooms boasting spectacular views of Darling Harbour. With a popular bar, restaurant and 24 hour reception, ibis has affordable rates and friendly service and is perfect for business or leisure travel during a Sydney visit. With an undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre and surrounded by world renowned restaurants, bars, clubs and the Casino, this is Sydney's premiere visitor destination. Major visitor experiences include Sydney SEA LIFE Aquarium, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, Powerhouse Museum, National Maritime Museum, China Town and the regular free entertainment and festivals of Darling Harbour. All this, and the city and CBD are just minutes away with a Light Rail connection at the door! Ibis is part of a two hotel complex managed by Accor Hotels which includes the adjacent Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Sydney
Ibis Darling Harbour
Hotel Ibis Sydney
Ibis Sydney
Ibis Hotel Darling Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.