We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #86 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I travelled and stayed here for work. I picked the location specifically as it was close to where I needed to go but staff were very helpful and friendly. There is a taxi stand right out front and there was always a taxi there. Breakfast was awesome also.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    632
    457
    152
    99
See reviews for
227
657
167
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nueziders, Austria
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

the hortel is located right ondarling hobour ,the opera hous is about 30 minutes walk away -so you are quite in the centre. The rooms are somehow worn down and the hotel is a typical Ibis style -simple and functional. rooms are small but sufficent when you are alone. The staff is very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: if you want a habour view -on the 5th floor room higher than No 509 you shouldask for -its worthwhil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had two nights here on our way back to the U.K. after staying in port Stephens with our family and it was excellent value and a great base to stay in this wonderful city, the facilities are good and the staff very friendly and helpful, the restaurant is excellent and the girls waiting on are very friendly and was brilliant with our fourteen month old nephew who was with our group they were very helpful and willing to accommodate our needs if we ever go back to Sydney we would stay here again deffo!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recommend getting a room with a view of the water as it is quite stunning by day or night. The rooms are small but well designed so that you are still comfortable. The location is a great base for exploring the harbour and city.

Unlike other other reviewers, we didn't find the staff overly helpful. At check-in we didn't quite understand the car park arrangement and felt that the staff member was just tolerating our confusion. We also tried to call the desk several times but our calls were unanswered.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balga west aust
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at the Ibis for one night on way to pick up cruise ship and one night when returned a fortnight later. Found staff very helpful and friendly. The location is fantastic Maratime Museum within walking distance also the Harbour Town shopping complex as well. Easy walk to other side of harbour to Cockle Bay area which boasts cafes and resturants. Found the rooms a little dated and lacked some basic information. Could not find a roomservice menu until looked on fridge and found it attached to door. And no information concerning Hotel services or bar and resturant times. The meals we had there were good and no complaints about the amount.

If looking for hotel that is close to attractions of Darling Harbour and the city would not hesitate to recommend it,

Room Tip: If can try and get a Harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Darling Harbour!

Please rest assured we have passed on your comments regarding lack of information in the rooms for our team to follow up.

Best Wishes
ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Right on Darling Harbour and close to shops. Staff were friendly and helpful .They arranged transfers when needed to our Cruise Ship. Would stay there again. Local places to eat and in walking distance to attractions



  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Spent a night here earlier in the year as we were in the city for a meal. Hotel was very upmarket for the price we paid. The staff were very professonal when dealing with them. The room was great with a great view of Darling Harbour. Plenty of room and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Address: 70 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Darling Harbour, ibis Sydney Darling Harbour is one of Sydney's most popular 3.5 Star hotels. Ibis is renowned for its quality, simplicity and value for money with many rooms boasting spectacular views of Darling Harbour. With a popular bar, restaurant and 24 hour reception, ibis has affordable rates and friendly service and is perfect for business or leisure travel during a Sydney visit. With an undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre and surrounded by world renowned restaurants, bars, clubs and the Casino, this is Sydney's premiere visitor destination. Major visitor experiences include Sydney SEA LIFE Aquarium, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, Powerhouse Museum, National Maritime Museum, China Town and the regular free entertainment and festivals of Darling Harbour. All this, and the city and CBD are just minutes away with a Light Rail connection at the door! Ibis is part of a two hotel complex managed by Accor Hotels which includes the adjacent Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Sydney
Ibis Darling Harbour
Hotel Ibis Sydney
Ibis Sydney
Ibis Hotel Darling Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.