We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sydney Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Sydney World Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Sydney World Square to your Saves list
Ibis Sydney World Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   382 - 384 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
A TripAdvisor Member
“Sydney Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Ibis World Square. Position and cleanliness is how I would describe Ibis World Square. The room was not large but spacious enough.
All facilities were in excellent working order and staff were friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, October 31, 2010
Welcome you back to the Hotel and thank you for your review. I am sure you have seen some great improvements to the area and great choices or Bars and Restaurants.
Iam glad to hear our staffs were never too busy to assist you and our other guest. It is our goal to make all guests feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    492
    494
    158
    89
See reviews for
202
440
254
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stayed there for a night in a standard room, reserved for a double bed paid incredible amount of money and got a double bed in a dirty room. Don't ever paid as much as I did! The night staffs were not friendly and I think for $250 and above you should take your money somewhere else unless you travelled for so long and can't be bothered to look for a place to stay. I'm just a student and I got ripped off.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

I am sorry you were not able to to book a room at a competitive rate that is in your budget. I have met with both the Night Team and Housekeeping and they apologize that your stay was not to our standard.
If you wish to further discuss, I will be more than happy to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Stayed with a friend in a room with 2 single beds on the 12th floor. The room is small but if you're out and about all day like we were, you don't need it any bigger. A stand alone shower in the bathroom is definately a bonus and the water pressure was nice. The room got a little hot on the first night but you have your own a/c unit so that was easily fixed. I am a light sleeper and I know we were in the middle of the city but the rooms did seem a bit noisy. not sure if the windows would benefit from some double glazing.
rooms a little tired looking, especially the bathroom but with the amount of people that must stay there every year, wear and tear is going to happen.

check in was easy, we arrived at midday and our room was ready which was great. Check out was also very quick. The staff are able to book the airport connect shuttle for you for $12 per person.

Tea and coffee was replaced in the morning. The location is fantastic! Across the road is the world square shopping complex with a coles so you can buy supplies.

The hotel has lockers for baggage at a cost of $7 for 24hours. Big enough for most suitcases but not all. Most hotels offer to hold bags for free so this could be something to improve on.

For the price we paid for the location and the amount of time we stayed in the rooms, can't complain!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Thank you for your detailed review, I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Sydney.
It is great when we can offer an early checkin, the staff understand that our Hotel guest want to explore the city and relax after a long trip.

We look forward to seeing you again in our beautiful City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed for a week with the Golden Oldies and had a blast. The staff are so much fun and nothing was a problem. The rooms are that of a 3.5 star hotel but the location is fantastic, walking distance to China town, Darling Harbour and the free bus 555 on George Street FANTASTIC....

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Front Office Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Hi Golden Oldie,

Yes, what a busy week you and your team had while in Sydney. Thank you for your feedback. We are located in the new hip part of Sydney, surrounded by new and exciting restaurants and Bars. I hope you and your team will return to Ibis World Square again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Never again! Hotel was dreadful. Mould in shower. Blood stain on bathroom wall. Dirty sink. Old funiture in bedroom. Not at all pleasant or cheap for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Front Office Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel Ibis World Square. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Sadly, the other poor reviews are consistent with my experience.
Wotif regularly advertises rooms here for under $200 claiming the full rate is $479. That full rate and the Ibis website suggest this is a smart, modern hotel. But even the discounted rate seems steep. My room was poky and tired and the hotel corridors were shabby. Amazingly, the (very necessary) air conditioner could only be switched on by reception.
The reception area is also not what you expect - small and a bit too close to the footpath at the seedier end of Pitt Street.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Front Office Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Our rates start from $139.00 per night. I am sorry you were not able to get a better rate. May I suggest booking early for the best possible rate.
Pitt Street and Goulburn street is the most exciting part of the city, I am sorry you did not enjoy this end of town. It is the new hip and renovated part of Sydney.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Michelle Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I was very pleased with the Ibis World Square Hotel. Its location is perfect. In the center of Sydney. Very easy walk to Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, Chinatown and right near George Street which has many shops and restaurants/bars. The rooms are small, but comfortable and clean. The staff was attentive and friendly. Special thanks and great job to Carina who over-extended herself to help me with whatever I needed – directions and transportation to the airport. She is the definition of excellent customer service. The business center is great and provides high speed internet at $4 per 30 minutes which is a little pricey – but very convenient for quickly checking email. The breakfast room is small but offers a nice greeting from the host every morning and well rounded breakfast choices. Overall, a great place to stay. Would definitely recommend to friends. Thanks World Square!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Sydney World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney World Square

Address: 382 - 384 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney World Square 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Sydney World Square is in the heart of the Sydney CBD, within easy walking distance of Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre and Chinatown. The hotel features 166 rooms and is conveniently close to the Sydney Light Rail and Central Station. The hotel completed a refurbishment program in 2010, which has seen the hotel's lobby completely updated and all 166 rooms over 17 floors re carpeted and replaced with new comfortable and modern furniture. The ibis Sydney World Square hotel in Sydney's CBD offers Standard and Deluxe room type, ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers in Sydney! From the solo traveler needing a comfortable queen sized bed for a night, to large two king sized bed rooms for the family holiday or a group of friends wanting to share. All hotel rooms are clean, wonderfully comfortable and have the convenience of a private en-suite bathroom with shower, flat screen TV, direct dial IDD / STD, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, high-speed broadband internet access, in-house movies and fluffy towels with hair shampoos & hair conditioners placed nicely on the bed awaits you in your room. Guests staying at the Ibis Sydney World Square can also take advantage of the extensive hotel facilities including the 24 hour Reception, tour desk and on-site self-service laundry and dry cleaning services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Sydney World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor World Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Sydney World Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.