We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, ask for high floor & room with a view.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Sydney World Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Sydney World Square to your Saves list
Ibis Sydney World Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   382 - 384 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, ask for high floor & room with a view.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Location good for exploring the city / Darling Harbour. Near China Town. Near Monorail station.

Basic, clean, kettle, fridge, good shower. Had a room with 3 beds even though I was travelling alone. I was there for 2 weeks so it was nice to have the space. Overlooked an alley though so no view & could hardly see the sky - not good for such a long stay. On 2nd floor did experience noise from night club next door @ weekends.

Housekeeping & Duty Manager very friendly / helpful.

Only offer breakfast but you can get cheaper / better brekkie & other meals outside the hotel very easily.

Did have a cockroach in my room one night, but guess that could happen anywhere!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Michelle Taylor at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
Thank you very much your review and compliments of the hotel and its staff. I am very proud of the entire team and this review is a direct reflection of their consistent desire to deliver the best level of customer service possible.

As you have also mentioned the hotel is ideally located for the business and leisure traveller, and I am glad you had such an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    492
    494
    158
    89
See reviews for
202
440
254
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

I'm not a traveler who gets too concerned with how fancy my hotel is, it just needs to be clean, safe, and in a central location. So for me, the Ibis was great. The rooms are admittedly a little on the small side, but they were very clean, had a decent sized closet, and all the little items you hope to find in a hotel room (iron, coffee pot, full length mirror, hair dryer). The beds were comfortable and the TVs got plenty of channels for the little down time we spent in the room. Which is a point I think I should stress - if you like spending time IN the hotel, this is probably not the place for you. My friend and I spent very little time at the hotel.

In terms of location, the hotel is really close to a metro stop, which is really convenient, but we were also able to walk pretty easily to a lot too. In a perfect world, it would have been half a mile further north, but, burning calories is a good thing too. The area is very Asian, and there are many restaurants of that persuasion nearby.

I liked this hotel, and would have no problem staying again, though would probably also check rates of hotels a tiny bit more central.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
Thank you very much your review and compliments of the hotel and its staff.
As you have also mentioned the hotel is ideally located for the business and leisure traveller, and I am glad you had such an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Australia is not cheap thanks to the exchange rate so to make your money stretch sometimes you have to downgrade. So the Ibis is a popular place for people on a budget. Its got a good location (just don't haul luggage on the train from the airport and try to get it up the nearby Museum station which has no elevators - take a taxi instead) and is close to the monorail and the CBD.
The rooms are all on the small side but they are clean, have good city views and are well equipped. This may not be your most memorable or romantic night in a hotel, but you should get a good nights sleep before you take on Sydney!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, November 8, 2009
Hi,

Thank you for your review.
I am glad you have a great visit to Sydney.
Our rooms are perfect for the visitor on the go.

Regards,

michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

i had the chance to book a room at the Westin on Martin place for a cheaper price than the ibis, but decided to give ibis a try since i had never stayed with them before. I arrived super early in the morning from Toronto, went straight to the hotel and even thought check in time was not until 14:00 the lady at the desk said i could check in earlier as soon as a room became available. She offered me a smoking room which i had to turn down since im allergic to smoke. I waited for an hour and a half just to see two couples (male-male and female -male) just walked in and get their rooms on the spot. The girl behind the desk forgot about me and gave more rooms away even though i was sitting in front of her in the lobby. after questioning the fact that i waited for so long for the room when they actually had some available, she just didn't seem to care. handed me the key and that was the end of it. Later that night i booked the airport shuttle service from them, originally wanted to book it for 7 30 am ( it takes about an hour to get to the airport, since the shuttle stops at every other hotel in Sydney), the 7 30 shuttle wasn't available, so they gave me the 8:30..i got there around 8 :15 since they ask you to be at the lobby 10 minutes prior to scheduled pick up time. Shuttle never showed up, same girl who ignored me the day before said the shuttle was never booked ( even thought they had already taken my money) the manager Michelle was present and saw what was going on, and demanded them( the shuttle bus company) to pay for my taxi to the airport...at the end i just got my money back for the shuttle and had to take the train. Overall, a bad experience, would i stay there again ? the answer is NO.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, November 8, 2009
Hi,

Thank you. I did a check on the other rooms that were avaliable and they were smoking rooms, whic you did not want. However I am glad we were still able to give you an early check in.
In regards to the Shuttle Bus, I understand the staff have contacted you and given you a refund. The owner of the shuttle Bus company was not avalible on the day of departure and the other staff was not able to assist us in your matter.
We hope you will return to Sydney in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We had such a great time in Sydney and enjoyed our time spent at the Ibis. One thing I will say is that it is only a budget hotel so do not expect too much. We went there expecting less and came away pleasntly surprised.

The staff were great, I had a problem with the aircon and I just told reception on the way out and when I came back it was fixed. The rooms are small but all we did was sleep in there anyway, we spent all our 4 days exploring. They had all the basic ammenities a hotel should have.

The resturant only did breakfast but with a pub and good pub meals on every corner you didnt need to eat there anyway. One pub I will suggest is the Crown Hotel one block up best meal I had in Sydney. The selection was just fine and all the food was cooked quite well. The staff were always cleaning the tables and the place was sometimes too clean.

If you get to meet the famous Theo your holiday will be even better. He always had us in stiches and was never without a smile. All the staff were fantastic. Greeting us with a smile and a hello as soon as we walked into the door. We are not really used to that. The staff obviously love their job or have excellent training. Could be a combination of both.

I cannot wait to visit Sydney again and will be using the Ibis next time I stay there. :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
Hi,
Thank you very much your review and compliments of the hotel and its staff. I am very proud of the entire team and this review is a direct reflection of their consistent desire to deliver the best level of customer service possible.
As you have also mentioned the hotel is ideally located for the business and leisure traveller, and I am glad you had such an enjoyable stay.
I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on your next visit to Sydney, and look forward to passing on your comments to the team.

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swings07
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Only stayed one night, so perhaps was given the worst room on level 2.
Its the worst room because the night club next door sounds like its in your room. It went til after 4am. Enough said.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, October 7, 2009
Dear Reviewer,

I was most concerned to read of the problems you experienced during your stay in relation to being disturbed by the noise of the Civic Hotel located next door to the Ibis Hotel. Rest assured I have discussed these shortcomings with the owner of the Civic Hotel in order to avoid such occurrences in the future. As it was the Grand Final football weekend, they had a group in attending a function. It is my understanding the Night Auditor requested the music be turned down and the request was honoured.

Thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Stayed at this hotel as I was booked in for a conference. The room had already been fully booked and upon arriving they requested that I pay for the room. As it was after business hours I couldn't call my employer but I refused to pay and told them that I would get my employer to contact them first thing in the morning. As I was staying 3 nights they said this was fine.

I had requested a double room and was given a twin. Room tiny, bathroom even smaller and not the cleanest... only good thing about the room was the plasma tv. Breakfast was average.

I went to use the gym equipment one morning... half of it not working. On the last day, rubbish was left by the cleaners from the morning in the foyer near the lifts on my floor for over 4 hours. You had to hold your breath everytime you wanted to use the lift.

Only good thing about this hotel is the location. Central to everything.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, October 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to take photos and review the Hotel.
The Gym is fully operational and is checked by an outside company every 3 months. The Report is then placed in a frame on the wall. I have personally checked the Gym and all equipment is operational. Could it be possible you did not understand how to use the equipment, the staff will always assist if possible.
Unfortunately I can not change the views from the rooms as we are located in the City Centre and yes some building tops are unattractive. The building you took a photo of is the Mandarin Club and it is in the midst of reconstruction. They may upgrade the rooftop.
I will speak to the housekeeping department in regards to the garbage left in the hallway., this is not our normal standard.

Warm Regards,

Michelle Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Sydney World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney World Square

Address: 382 - 384 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney World Square 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Sydney World Square is in the heart of the Sydney CBD, within easy walking distance of Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre and Chinatown. The hotel features 166 rooms and is conveniently close to the Sydney Light Rail and Central Station. The hotel completed a refurbishment program in 2010, which has seen the hotel's lobby completely updated and all 166 rooms over 17 floors re carpeted and replaced with new comfortable and modern furniture. The ibis Sydney World Square hotel in Sydney's CBD offers Standard and Deluxe room type, ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers in Sydney! From the solo traveler needing a comfortable queen sized bed for a night, to large two king sized bed rooms for the family holiday or a group of friends wanting to share. All hotel rooms are clean, wonderfully comfortable and have the convenience of a private en-suite bathroom with shower, flat screen TV, direct dial IDD / STD, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, high-speed broadband internet access, in-house movies and fluffy towels with hair shampoos & hair conditioners placed nicely on the bed awaits you in your room. Guests staying at the Ibis Sydney World Square can also take advantage of the extensive hotel facilities including the 24 hour Reception, tour desk and on-site self-service laundry and dry cleaning services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Sydney World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor World Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Sydney World Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.