We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location in Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Sydney World Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Sydney World Square to your Saves list
Ibis Sydney World Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   382 - 384 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Perfect Location in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here one night after arriving to Sydney a day earlier than planned. The hotel was an obvious choice as it was right around the corner from our apartment. We arrived at 0930am, and were fortunate enough to check in immediately. We also had a late check out on departure. The room was comfortable, with all the necessary ammenities for a quick stay including toiletries, coffee/tea, TV, AC, etc. The wifi charge is steep, but we had a sim card for our phone so no need to use the hotel wifi. (SIM card for 10 days was less $$$ than 24hrs at the Ibis). The shower and bathroom was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is located right across the street from World Square, and is directly in between both Central and Town Hall metro stops. Easy access to most of what Sydney has to offer. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    492
    494
    158
    89
See reviews for
202
440
254
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Ibis at world square is in a great location, close to Museum Station. However at $250 for a small room with 2 single beds on a Tuesday night, greatly overpriced. Not even a biscuit to have with test & coffee. However, staff were very friendly and towels big and fluffy. A big bonus was that the bathroom didn't steam up during a shower........quite unusual!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed one night here and it was perfectly fine for our needs. The staff was friendly and accommodating in allowing us an early check-in and late check-out. The lobby was inviting, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the shower and toilet worked fine. The location was central and within easy walking distance to the train station; CBD; Sydney Opera House and Circular Quay; Darlinghurst; and other neighborhoods.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. Like the other ibis hotels, this one is basic. Room is small, clean. But the location is central, walking distance to city, train stations.

Lots of restaurants nearby. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel charges like a 4 star property, but its a basic 3 star that cuts corners everywhere to save THEM a few dollars.

The room was tiny, barely room for the bed and an ensuite that squeezes in the smallest shower I have ever seen.

Travelling for work I had a fresh shirt in my luggage but couldn't iron it for the next day, the mini iron board sits on the side table/desk-ette making it impossible to iron anything larger than socks. And the board was dirty so I asked housekeeping for a fresh one before I let my shirt near it.

The R/C aircon has little option but to blow directly on to the bed because the room is so tiny.

As a solo traveller on business I found the Ibis WS through my Accor club membership. Yet my club status was not recognised (for complimentary inclusions). The rate would be reasonable for central Sydney if the property was worth it.

Recommendation: you can find a better hotel for this price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a no frills hotel, if u like big rooms and lots of facilities this place is not for you. If it's more about saving a bit of cash but still being in the heart of sydney then lock it in. I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat in house (many other options close by). The room was reasonable and staff were always friendly enough. Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi,

Thank yuo for taking the time to review the Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Sydney World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney World Square

Address: 382 - 384 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney World Square 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Sydney World Square is in the heart of the Sydney CBD, within easy walking distance of Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre and Chinatown. The hotel features 166 rooms and is conveniently close to the Sydney Light Rail and Central Station. The hotel completed a refurbishment program in 2010, which has seen the hotel's lobby completely updated and all 166 rooms over 17 floors re carpeted and replaced with new comfortable and modern furniture. The ibis Sydney World Square hotel in Sydney's CBD offers Standard and Deluxe room type, ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers in Sydney! From the solo traveler needing a comfortable queen sized bed for a night, to large two king sized bed rooms for the family holiday or a group of friends wanting to share. All hotel rooms are clean, wonderfully comfortable and have the convenience of a private en-suite bathroom with shower, flat screen TV, direct dial IDD / STD, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, high-speed broadband internet access, in-house movies and fluffy towels with hair shampoos & hair conditioners placed nicely on the bed awaits you in your room. Guests staying at the Ibis Sydney World Square can also take advantage of the extensive hotel facilities including the 24 hour Reception, tour desk and on-site self-service laundry and dry cleaning services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Sydney World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor World Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Sydney World Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.