We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accor Advantage Plus Member complimentary night” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Sydney World Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Sydney World Square to your Saves list
Ibis Sydney World Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   382 - 384 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    492
    494
    158
    89
See reviews for
202
440
254
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beauvais, France
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Ibis World Square is very centrally located. Metrorail connection nearby and the hotel is directly opposite the Rydges World Square Hotel - from where the AATKings coaches pickup tourists for tours of Sydney and surroundings. A wide variety of restaurants and pubs available near the hotel. No problem with the Ibis staff themselves - everyone was cordial or friendly despite often being very busy checking in large groups, and when we expressed surprise that one had to pay for internet access the night manager gave us a free voucher for 15 minutes of internet use. They also allowed us to check into our room early despite the fact that we got there at about 12h30 and standard check-in time is 14h00. However, the hotel itself is a bit run-down. At least, that was the case for our room, which had a "view" of the central ventilation shaft onto which several other rooms also looked. Being on the first floor we also thus received no direct sunlight and the room was rather dark and dingy. Fortunately the airconditioner functioned since one would have been hesitant to open the window for ventilation - heaven know what multilegged creatures might have considered this an invitation to enter the room. The shower was very dilapidated - the shower door-handle came away in my hands the first time I used it, but I was able to put it back in the right position because there was a layer of dry glue where it was supposed to fit and this glue-layer kept the handle in place if one did not pull too hard.... Luckily the beds were reasonably comfortable. We found the price (booked through a Sydney-based travel agency) to be expensive by European standards (AUD 372 for two nights) - in Europe one can find similar standard of accommodation for at least a third cheaper than that. However, we found things to be expensive generally in Australia compared with Europe and such a price is probably reasonably good value for such a location.

Room Tip: request a room on a higher floor and with a view of something less depressing than a ventilation sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good location and easy access to airport and train to nearby.
Plenty of good food around including Chinatown and the surroundings
Most of the staff are friendly and professional except for 1 stupid lady.
Quite QUIET as this is City Hotel but they done a good job on this.
Price is on the High side but due to being nearby, if not, will look for another hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Ibis Hotel is located in China Town where the streets are crowded, but close to everything. The nightclub across the street was very loud until the early morning. If you stay there make sure you are not in a room across the street from the nightclub.The lobby was tiny, making it crowded as people went in and out. The room was really small and the bathroom was the size of a bathroom on a cruise ship,tiny, but everything was very clean. The room coffee pot had only instant coffee packages. The breakfast was included for us, and was very good. Had a computer room, and charges did apply.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis World Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the IBIS World Square as we were going on a Tall Ship Harbour Cruise. We found the location very convenient. It was close to buses (which we took to Circular Quay), trains, (another option), light rail (which we took to the Casino) and the Mono Rail. Parking was across the road at the World Square Centre, which was convenient and discounted by the hotel. We had a full buffet breakfast which was extremely affordable at only $20 for the two of us. The staff were very helpful. The room was quite and we had a good nights sleep. This is a good place to stay if you have things to do and are getting out and about in the City.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We missed out on better rates my 1 Day. Our average rate about 180.00 per night. We missed out on about 130.00 per night which is more reflective of the value.

Accor has done a decent job in maintaining this property and the rooms are clean and the staff friendly. The $20.00 Buffet Breakfast is way overpriced. You can do much better in many small coffee shops short distances away.

The location is very good however. Withing 20 minute walks you can reach Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, The Rocks, Royal Botanic Gardens, and even less to China town and Centra Station. The Internet cost for wireless is excessive but less than the Ibis in Brisbane. Perhaps we are spoiled by having better rates in North America. However we paid much less in Cairns and the Noosa area. When you are travelling far from home you have a desire to stay in contact with family and friends. Oh well, live and learn.

This property should be listed as a 2 1/2 star property at best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Sydney World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney World Square

Address: 382 - 384 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney World Square 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Sydney World Square is in the heart of the Sydney CBD, within easy walking distance of Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre and Chinatown. The hotel features 166 rooms and is conveniently close to the Sydney Light Rail and Central Station. The hotel completed a refurbishment program in 2010, which has seen the hotel's lobby completely updated and all 166 rooms over 17 floors re carpeted and replaced with new comfortable and modern furniture. The ibis Sydney World Square hotel in Sydney's CBD offers Standard and Deluxe room type, ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers in Sydney! From the solo traveler needing a comfortable queen sized bed for a night, to large two king sized bed rooms for the family holiday or a group of friends wanting to share. All hotel rooms are clean, wonderfully comfortable and have the convenience of a private en-suite bathroom with shower, flat screen TV, direct dial IDD / STD, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, high-speed broadband internet access, in-house movies and fluffy towels with hair shampoos & hair conditioners placed nicely on the bed awaits you in your room. Guests staying at the Ibis Sydney World Square can also take advantage of the extensive hotel facilities including the 24 hour Reception, tour desk and on-site self-service laundry and dry cleaning services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Sydney World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor World Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Sydney World Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.