We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel centrally located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Sydney World Square

Save Saved
You added Ibis Sydney World Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis Sydney World Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   382 - 384 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Budget hotel centrally located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We had an overnight stay here as part of a bucks party in the city. We had booked 3 of the bigger rooms in the hotel, each large enough to accommodate 2 king size beds comfortably. The amenities were basic, but we just wanted a bed to crash at the end of the night and weren't after pampering at the hotel.
Hotel itself is very centrally located in the CBD, parking is off site across the road at World Square. You get a discount as a hotel guest but $35 I found to be quite steep. In most 5 star establishments you might pay a couple dollars more for vallet parking and you don't have to catch 2 lifts, an escalator, climb a set of stairs and cross the road to get from you car to the hotel lobby!
Other than that I can't fault the hotel. The staff were enthusiastic and friendly enough. We knew we weren't staying in the Shangri-La (by the way read my separate review for the Shangri-La), so we weren't expecting anything other than budget accommodation.
The size of the room we were staying in could comfortably sleep a family or even 4 adults, so I would recommend this for families or groups on short term stays or on a budget holiday. There are literally hundreds of dining and entertainment options at the door! If you're used to getting pampered and the finer things in life then this place is probably not for you (though in Sydney, you could definitely do worse). Overall, its a great value for money if you're just after a bed after a big night out on the town!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Hi,

We hope you had a great night out with your mates and that everything goes well for your friends wedding.

The team and I are glad you had an enjoyable stay, thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    408
    428
    149
    78
See reviews for
170
377
218
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Ibis and found it to be clean and comfortable and very handy to the Central train station and monorail stop. Our room was small but had everything we needed and was quiet. The efficient staff checked us in early which was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Hi,

Thank you for your review. Iam glad the team were able to give you an early check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I booked my accommodation in 2 goes as my needs changed. I contacted the hotel to make sure I would stay in the same room and there would be no hassles, I got a positive reply from the hotel, however, upon arrival that was not the case. My visits were not linked and I was told I would have to recheck in the next morning and get a new access card for my room. My visit was stressful enough as it was court, I didn't need the extra hassle. considering I was told by email before arriving it had been sorted, it was an unnecessary stress on the hotels behalf for me.
2ndly due to renovations the buffet breakfast was cancelled. It was only that I read the signs in the lift and cancelled the breakfast that I had pre-paid for, that I didn't receive a box of food instead for $20 - very disappointing. Communication is important and the staff should have known what I had paid for and given me my options instead of me having to source them out.
Lastly, the fact that when I turned the tv on it started at the adult channel everytime, I found this in bad taste, as far as your hotel goes and not somewhere to bring the family, that goes for the whole chain if it works the same. Not something I would want my kids to see, nor my husband, where he traveling alone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Hi,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry it was not for a better reason. Court can be the most uninviting places to be.
The keys do need to be reactivated checkin in a new reservation into the system, I believe it is done to protect the guest and to ensure the new reservation is the same person.
Level 2 was closed for 2 days to upgrade and maintain the Hardwood floors. I am very sorry that it happened while you were staying with us. We notified all of our agents and 3rd party websits to let them know. I am more than happy to further discuss this matter with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Just what we required not over the top but very comfortable & Clean. Can you believe check in at 9.20am. Now that's impressive! Heaps of food outlets at your door steps. The Hotels second floor restaurant was getting a huge make over the next day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Hi

Yes it is a great location. Oh my goodness the food.....Yes what a great variety, Italian, Greek, Thai, Chinese, Japanese, Indonesian just to name a few. Oh, and of course Australian :-) All within walking distance.
We have not mentioned all the fantastic Theatres, Bars and club as well within walking distance.

The team and I are glad you had a great time in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Right across the road from world square and only a short walk to Pitt St Mall, this hotel with it's pleasant staff and good rates hit the mark for me.
Their late hours snacks turned out to be quite substantial and with a small selection of beers this was an excellent convenience when we arrived late in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Hi,

Thank you for your review.

Great to hear you tried the Grab itand Go meals and for under $10.00 they are great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Sydney World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney World Square

Address: 382 - 384 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney World Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Sydney World Square is in the heart of the Sydney CBD, within easy walking distance of Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre and Chinatown. The hotel features 166 rooms and is conveniently close to the Monorail, Sydney Light Rail and Central Station. The hotel completed a refurbishment programme in 2010, which has seen the hotel's lobby completely updated and all 166 rooms over 17 floors recarpeted and replaced with new comfortable and modern furniture. The ibis Sydney World Square hotel in Sydney's CBD offers Standard and Deluxe room type, ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers in Sydney! From the solo traveler needing a comfortable queen sized bed for a night, to large two king sized bed rooms for the family holiday or a group of friends wanting to share. All hotel rooms are clean, wonderfully comfortable and have the convenience of a private ensuite bathroom with shower, flat screen TV, direct dial IDD / STD, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, high-speed broadband internet access, in-house movies and fluffy towels with hair shampoos & hair conditioners placed nicely on the bed awaits you in your room. Guests staying at the Ibis Sydney World Square can also take advantage of the extensive hotel facilities including the 24 hour Reception, tour desk and on-site self-service laundry and dry cleaning services. New facilities such as a 24-hour gymnasium, 24-hour business centre and a brand new iBar which has become the perfect place for our guests and even walk-in customers to relax and enjoy after a long day at work or to ‘chill’ before a big night out in Sydney are now available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Ibis Sydney World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor World Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Sydney World Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.