We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historical building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34-52 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful historical building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed overnight in the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a lovely boutique hotel which has been beautifully restored and is brimming with character. It is so close to the Quay area/Opera House and the CBD, very central indeed. Our room (306) was very small, which we expected from other reviews, but we were quite taken aback at the lack of floor space, not at all as spacious as photos have depicted. The baggage lift was right next door, so during the late afternoon/early evening/ early morning we had noise when it was operating. We loved the shower, the bed and pillows were a bit too firm, but the room was clean and well maintained. We had breakfast to order in the restaurant, delicious meal and very friendly staff. As we are members of Accor, we will definitely return, but will ask for a different type of accommodation next time.

Room Tip: Room 306 is on the top floor, right next to the baggage lift. Quite small, but ok for one night. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thanks very much for your review ‘evyk53’ – I was really pleased to hear that you liked the recent refurbishment of the hotel. Ensuring the design was the right fit for the historic rocks played a big part in the overall look.

We have a range of room styles/sizes available and would be happy to show you through the property for any future stays. It was great to hear you enjoyed breakfast and that you found our staff to be friendly! Just what we like to hear!

Great to hear you will look to return!

Thanks again,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    260
    70
    30
    13
See reviews for
79
392
33
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Fantastic location, Staff were very professional, food is excellent..
Beds comfortable,..
I can't fault this hotel, we had a wonderful stay in a very hospitable hotel... I'll return to stay for sure..
The location was excellent, close to all public transport and walking distance to many attractions..

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
And thank you ‘Sally G’!

I really appreciate the time you have taken to comment on how much you enjoyed your stay!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Travelled overnight for business while in Sydney. This is a fantastic hotel with close proximity to Sydney Harbour / CBD. A great vibe to the place and breakfast is excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to business travellers or families due to its location. Fantastic.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review ‘Robert N’! I’m really happy to hear that our hotel suited all of your needs. The location is just perfect to all of the major site seeing attractions isnt it (though still in a quite location away from the hustle and bustle.)

Thanks very much for recommending us!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was a great fine in the Rocks area of Sydney. Not a big hotel, but lots of character, well maintained and friendly staff. Its only 2 minute walk to George Street (follow this street for 10-15 minutes and you are in the heart of Sydney), 5 minutes to the passenger terminal port and 5 minutes to Circular Key where you can catch a ferry or bus to almost anywhere across Sydney.

The room we stayed in was clean, good size and had a great view of the city and Opera House. The bathroom wasn't the biggest and I give it a shower rating of 6/10.

The only down sides are. No elevator to the two floors (but there is a small elevator for luggage). So if you need mobility assistance talk with the staff first, but not an issue for us. The gym is small with a few machines, not much space to do a full workout.

If you are looking for a hotel which is just off the main street, close to the weekend markets, really good restaurants, great character, intimate with a small number of guests and good value for the area. This is a great place!

Room Tip: Top floor south end is the quiet spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Wow!! Thanks for your review ‘Gazza2810’ – I really appreciate the time you have taken to comment on your recent stay.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the location suited your needs. I appreciate you highlighting the fact that we can assist with guest mobility through-out the hotel.

We like to think that the small flight of stairs ensures your little bit of exercise to make room for the great food in the restaurant!! 

I appreciate you recommending us and we look forward to seeing you again the future.

Kind regards,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I had an overnight stay at this hotel - chosen deliberately - the rooms, the staff, the service was impeccable and friendly. So I can not understand some negative remarks of guests about this nice place - Well, as I walked through the halls at night I was set back to the time when this house still served as a warehouse. Hustle and bustle, workers communicate with each other and thereby sharpen the heavy sacks of grain on the ground - from outside the sound of the hooves of the horses and the heavy wooden wheels on the streets - Structurally has been left much in the old style, which very much impressed me. The rooms were clean and cozy. The situation is as unique because you are close to George Street, the quai and the famous Opera house.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hello ‘Esther G', I really enjoyed reading your review!! You actually took me back to the day!

Thanks so much for taking the time to express how our hotel impacted on you. The Rocks really is such a beautiful part of Sydney, I’m glad we were able to add to it with the experience you had staying with us.

We hope that means we will be seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Dylan Cole
General Manager
Harbour Rocks Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Address: 34-52 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.