We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to Sydney Harbour Bridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34-52 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location to Sydney Harbour Bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Superb location to Sydney Harbour Bridge. Easy walk into shopping precinct. Very close to Circular Quay if wanting to take a ferry. Very close to train station and therefore easy to get about. Clean hotel with friendly staff who were very happy to help with any question I had. Boutique hotel comes to mind with cute foyer. Restaurant served lovely meals and there is a nice bar or outside courtyard to unwind.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi ‘ajdooly’! Thanks for your review. It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to share it with others!

Fantastic to hear that you were able to make use of the wonderful location the hotel is positioned in! Also pleasing to read your comments in relation to our staff! They will be really happy to read this.Thank you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    260
    70
    30
    13
See reviews for
79
393
33
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Perfectly located hotel for the Rock area. Rooms are very quiet and staff helpful and friendly. The room we had was a little small, but nicely appointed. There was no view from our room, I am not sure about the view from other rooms - we were on the ground floor. Reasonably priced for the (expensive) Sydney market.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thanks for sharing your review ‘Peter C’! Really pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have stayed in many Sydney hotels over the years and if you want to be near The Rocks you can't beat this one. You literally step out, turn right, walk a few paces and your at the markets. Three of us shared a room - 2 double beds - they don't seem to cater for singles sharing. Room was huge - bathroom massive. One suggestion for the bathroom - put up some hooks for the towels and a table to put your toiletries on!!! Hotel was quiet in the evenings and threw the night however we did experience some early morning loud noise outside the room both days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thanks for your review Jasb10! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us!

I appreciate your suggestion of a few more hooks in the bathrooms. I’ll be sure to have our maintenance team address this.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

No one I spoke to from or in Sydney seemed to have heard of this hotel. Hard to understand why but a good reason to stay there. It's location has to be ideal for all the main activities. Furthermore the service and the quality of the rooms and service is also excellent. My very spacious room was just by reception and I thought it would be noisy. Didn't hear a thing. It was fitted out for less abled folk and although I'm no expert in these matters it seemed to do the job it was designed for well. Reception readily looked after my luggage whilst I did the bridge walk, opera house etc. They also had a shower available to freshen up before heading for the airport and the long flight.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Such a wonderful review ‘CJandMrsCJ, thank you very much. I’m so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us!

In the scheme of things we are a relatively new hotel down in the rocks. A full refurbishment was completed in 2012, transforming us in to the hotel we are today. With reviews like yours I’m sure more people will know about us before long!

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a very nice hotel but I am not a fan of boutique hotels as I prefer functionality over looks. However it is very attractive. It is converted from an old building in the rocks area of Sydney and is well positioned for getting around and especially for ferries and also close to the bridge and opera house. The staff were helpful and friendly but the rooms were small and the decor of the hotel was predominantly dark which was a bit depressing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thanks very much for your review ‘Bob b’. Hopefully we may have tempted you to try a boutique hotel again in the future!

I’m pleased to hear you found our location to be well positioned for your needs, we are in such a great little spot down here. I will be sure to pass on the positive comments relating to our staff on to our team, thank you. We have a range of rooms sizes throughout the property that have more space and different views, don’t hesitate to enquire about these should you look to stay with us again!

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is great, some great history if you take the time to look and read, perfectly located we walked everywhere and had quick access to trains and buses. Room was great, cleaned every day staff are friendly and helpful. Bed was comfy, bathroom and shower ok (shower water pressure low and thats my only grizzle but it was still ok) overall a great stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hi ‘Shane N’, thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us!

I’m so glad to hear you had a great stay! It was really pleasing to read that the location worked in well with your needs. Thanks for highlighting the water pressure, I will be sure to have our engineering team take a look at this.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Happy Easter

Sincerely,

Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Address: 34-52 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.