We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-52 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #29 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Happy days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Staying here is a lovely place, so handy for all the ferries from circular key to Manley and lots of other places. Nice stroll into town , A visit to Darling Harbour with its many restaurants is a must, Do not miss the lovely park a short walk from the opera house. You can also catch a bus to Bondi Beach from Circular Key. Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    230
    56
    26
    12
See reviews for
70
332
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Cant speak highly enough of the staff or food Great evening meal Tasty and well cooked
My wife said she had the best Chicken Breast meal ever. I had the nightly special and it was cooked how I asked . Breakfast was as good Large servings well cooked and I had the Rocks Breakfast That breakfast beat any breakfast we had on the Voyger of the Sea
Staff very friendley and helpfull and they can make a great coffee as well . Will stay there agian

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel is well situated. Rooms varied a lot. We were given a dark box room at first but eventually moved to a brighter room later. Main problem with the hotel is noise. There is a large noisy waterpump situated inside the hotel which can be heard in lots of the rooms. It sounds like a ship docking and cuts in every minute.. even during the night. As there is a preservation order on the hotel there is no double glazing. Some of the windows do not shut properly so the bar below our room could be heard well into the night. They start work in the bar at 5.30 am emptying bottles into bins etc. When we spoke to the manager of the adjoining noisy bar, Phillips Foote his response was not at all helpful. He said that they were there before the hotel so it was not their problem. So the water pump plus adjoining noisy bars spoilt our stay. This is a great shame as the hotel is lovely, staff were helpful and fairly friendly, the hotel clean and well fitted. Get rid of the droning water pump and fit secondary glazing would help immensely.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms on the left hand end or front of the hotel. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just got back from our 3 week stay in Australia and this was the first hotel that we stayed in. It is a cute small hotel very conveniently located in the Rocks area of Sydney which is within walking distance to the opera house and the bridge and the major transportation hub for the ferries and buses. The staff is quite pleasant and friendly. There is a very tiny gym in this hotel. I would suggest just running outside along the water for a workout instead. I suppose if you needed to there is probably a gym close by. There are only stairs and there are three floors so if handicap is an issue this might not be the hotel for you. We were situated on the top floor which I would suggest since it might be less noisy and we had a nice albeit small room (they all are) facing the harbor. Although you are about a block away. As mentioned, I think in previous reviews the bathrooms are small as well. I would opt for the breakfast included since food in Australia is very expensive and the breakfast had a lot of variety and was very good. Wifi as far as I knew was included in the price of the room. I would double check your bill as mentioned in a previous review for errors. There were some but they were easily corrected.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the harbor on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in room 306 sat - mon Comfy room, bit small but all you need for for our stay. There was a bit of air cond noise during the day, but we found the hotel quiet at night. Was abut noisy Monday morning with most people checking out and slamming their doors. Would stay again as very convenient location and we liked the quaintness of this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I've stayed in hundreds of hotels on five continents and never felt moved to write a report before, so here goes. My wife & I stayed in the Harbour Rocks Hotel in Feb 2013. It is in a great position in an attractive area of Sydney & has lovely ambience, the old building having been nicely restored & decorated. So what's wrong?

On arrival, we found that our booking had been mixed up: that was sorted out. Our room (warning, no lifts in the hotel) was attractive but very noisy - it is a preserved building and so cannot fit double glazing. The road is busy, gets noisy motorbikes and is in an area of bars & restaurants. Wi-fi was expensive. The electric plug for kettle was only reachable by crawling under the desk.

I notice features in hotel bathrooms that are badly designed. Harbour rocks had the lot. A tiny shelf for your toiletries (not enough space for mine, never mind my wife's stuff as well). The shelf was positioned immediately above the basin, so you couldn't lean over the basin to clean your teeth. Shower controls could only be adjusted when you were under the shower, so you got scalded or frozen while adjusting it. Toilet bowl in a narrow corner with the toilet paper just under your armpit. Towel rail on opposite wall to the basin - so you wash your face & have to grope around to find a towel. Powerful spring on the door so that it was almost impossible to close quietly when visiting the toilet in the night.

A man who looked like the Manager told us that food & drinks were half price during happy hour before 7pm, so we sat in the foyer & had a bottle of wine. When the bill came it was full price - apparently happy hour only applied to drinks by the glass. We felt tricked.

When we left, our bill was wrong, with things charged that we did not have and we had to get this sorted out.

As I say, great position & ambience, but the rest just had far too many problems. Stay somewhere else but the Harbouur Rocks is worth considering for a drink during happy hour - but check that whatever you order is half price to avoid nasty surprises.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Address: 34-52 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.