We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, all it needs is a lettle attention to detail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34-52 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (The Rocks)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great spot for a stay in Sydney with perfect location in the Rocks, close to all public transport (esp ferries), restuarants and entertainment and having it's own good bar, terrace cafe and very hospitable staff.
Car parking is a nuisance (typical inner city) having to use the public carpark nearby (the guest price reduction helped a lot).
WIll stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2B13R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Ideally located in the heart of The Rocks in the historic section around Nurse's Walk and the Suez Canal and a short five minute walk to Circular Quay. Boutique style and wonderfully restored to maintain original stone work and timber beams. Scarlett's Restaurant offers friendly service with well presented meals and great service. Plenty of other restaurants and cafes in easy walking distance. No elevators but assistance is available from the responsive staff.

Room Tip: 2nd level suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A lovely, quaint hotel just 3 levels high. Warm, cosy setting with very friendly and attentive staff. We stayed 2 nights and loved the close proximity to restaurants and cafes, and the Circular Quay ferry and train terminals. The main attraction was being in the heart of The Rocks and all its history! There is a dummy waiter-like lift only for luggage so rooms are reached via stairs but that's all part of the experience :) Lots of people have evening drinks at the bar which doubles up as the reception (I know, sounds weird but it works here!).

Room Tip: We stayed in 221 and you can hear a nearby band in the daytime but it got pretty quiet at night so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeenaSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

we stayed here one night only as a stopover & it was a very pleasant experience.the rooms are very modern with everything there for you & good free toiletries aswell.The staff here are smartly dressed,well spoken,very polite & courteous .nothing was a problem here & everything was sorted for you.this hotel is not for groups but ideal for couples & families.there is lots of bars & eateries nearby.You are in 2 minutes walking distance from The Harbour Bridge & 5 minutes walk from the Opera house.the main shopping area is a 10 minute stroll away.i would recommend this hotel for that special occasion & would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petertoonarmy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is one of my favourite hotels in the world. It's not particular cheap but is a great boutique hotel. The staff are friendly and exceptionally helpful. I used to go to this hotel whenever I was in Sydney on business but then my company made a rule that you had to stay in a Sheraton or Westin when on business. A great shame.

Ideally placed for the restaurants and bars on the Rocks and not far from Circular Quay.

Try it

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Singaporemark56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Harbour Rocks for three nights over New Year's 2013. We booked a room with two queen beds. When we were shown to our room, there was one queen bed and one pull-out sofa bed with an old, thin uncomfortable mattress. When we expressed our dismay at seeing only the one real bed, the staffer explained that NONE of the hotel rooms have more than one real bed. That is deceptive to advertise the hotel accommodations so misleadingly.

The air conditioner buzzed ALL night long, even when it was off! When it was on, the air blew right on top of the beds. No way to focus the air up to the ceiling, or at least not onto your body while you are trying to sleep.

The bathroom sink was tiny tiny tiny, and had a tall faucet, with a shelf right above the faucet. This made it impossible to get your face over the sink to brush your teeth or wash your face, without getting water on the floor. Who designed this bathroom?

The bathroom door was the heaviest door we have ever encountered in a hotel. It was heavier than the room door leading to the hallway. It had an automatic closure to it, and a latch so you could hook it to the wall in the open position. This was annoying for healthy adults, but would have been impossible for my elderly mother, had she stayed at this hotel, and could be very bad for guests with young children -- who could easily be knocked over by the auto-closing door.

We had a street-facing room along the main drag. EVERY morning we were treated to loud trucks making their deliveries, starting at 5:30 a.m. -- old thin windows.

Television was smallest tv in all the hotels we stayed at in Australia. And it was soooooooo slow to start up. Made my old 12-year old tv at home seem positively speedy in comparison.

In addition, there was no elevator in the hotel and we were on the third floor. If you're a healthy adult, no problem. If you have walking issues or are elderly, this would be a VERY annoying attribute.

The only reason good things about this hotel is that all the staff were very nice, and the room service food was good.

But overall, during our two-week trip to Australia for the holidays, where we stayed at numerous hotels, this was the WORST by far. Great location, and I can see if you only needed one real bed, it could work. But we also stayed at the Sir Stamford, and the Radisson, both in Sydney at various points in the trip, and they were great. Real beds, elevators, sound-proofed rooms, roominess, real bathrooms with real, normal sized sinks!! Imagine that!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#55 of 181 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#43 of 181 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Address: 34-52 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing