We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of the rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34-52 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Heart of the rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Was an amazing locstion. Bar and resturant were fantastic. small and intimate. Prices were very acceptable for quality of food and service. Great history of the hotel also being Syneys first hospital. Staff were very informative and knew the history of the hotel. Great stories.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    260
    70
    30
    13
See reviews for
79
394
33
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, NSW
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Harbour Rocks Hotel the night of Jan 10th for a great experience from the moment of arrival until departure. The very clean room although not large, was fine, with all facilities except a bath, a very comfortable bed, windows that opened, and a view of the Sydney Opera House. We enjoyed drinks at the bar, an evening meal and breakfast at the Scarlett Restaurant which was excellent food and service - prompt and very friendly! Every person we had any contact with throughout our very enjoyable stay in this lovely intimate hotel was extremely helpful and friendly and made us feel like we were all that mattered to them. I would rate it as the best hotel experience I've ever had. It was also an excellent location for arriving/departing by train, our trip to Manly on the ferry, stroll around the Rocks and to our evening at the opera house.

Room Tip: Our room at the top and back was quiet with a nice outlook towards the Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as we had tickets to see a show at the opera house. The hotel is situated in the heart of the rocks and only minutes away from CQ.

This was our second stay here and noticed the hotel had a complete refurbishment. The new look is fantastic in both the rooms and common areas of the hotel. It has a great boutique hotel feel and service is great.

Our room had everything we needed however we booked a much bigger room for our first stay.

Overall I would definitely be back for the location and comfort. Great hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Once at the hotel it was lovely. Staff were attentive and the room was modern and had a very comfy bed. Bathroom was small, but had a good shower.
However: This was given to us as a gift voucher. It was for the deluxe heritage room, plus wine and chocolates on arrival, breakfast, and a late check out. My sister, who gave it to us as a present, was treated atrociously when trying to follow up why the voucher hadn't arrived, and after faxing all her credit card details to the number on the form provided, she was passed from person to person, treated aggressively and moaned about in full hearing. She was actually brought to tears at one point. An apology was never given, the voucher finally just arrived. THis was after her having to contact the bank to check that there was no financial fraud happening with her credit card details, as they had been that unhelpful.
After my partner and I booked, we called back as we hadn't received the promised booking reference via email. They had got our booking wrong, and there were no rooms left, so we had to be downgraded. It took a bit of prompting to be offered $100 in the restaurant as compensation.
On checking the account at the end of the stay, there was about $50 that had been added to the account which should not have been. An apology was quickly given and it was amended.
As mentioned, whilst at the hotel we were very happy with the service and lovely environment. Unfortunately our trip was jaded by the extremely poor customer service with the booking process, that you would just not expect of a fairly expensive, boutique hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed in the HRH for one night before a cruise to New Zealand leaving from the Overseas Passenger Terminal. Great room with high ceilings, plenty of space and lots of natural light. Staff where very friendly - don't miss happy hour daily! Only thing to note is although hotel has been refurbished, there is no double glazing so traffic and general street noise is an issue if you're a light sleeper. Would stay at HRH again but would request a room away from the street if possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is 50 - 100m away from some of the biggest pubs and eateries in The Rocks. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The decor is fresh and the hotel is not too big. The building has a nice vibe about it.

However, I stayed on the third floor in a room where the window wouldn't shut properly, on the side of the building that was facing all of the very large pubs just down the road. It was noisy until midnight.

If I wanted somewhere to stay in Sydney to have as a base for going out for the night, I might choose this. I went with my son; Harbour Rocks Hotel is not the place for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Address: 34-52 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.