We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room Rate!
Ranked #25 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My car was damaged in the valet service of this hotel and they have denied responsibility despite the broken part being placed in the vehicle. They have refused to return my follow up calls and emails. I am surprised and disappointed that an otherwise fabulous weekend was ruined. Don't risk it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Georgina,

I was disappointed to read your review, however, I believe our Guest Services Manager has been in contact with you on many occasions regarding this, so I will leave this matter with him as an offline conversation.

Kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    694
    329
    107
    70
See reviews for
290
1,154
173
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (756)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed at the four seasons for my friends birthday treat and reservations offered complimentary late checkout at 2pm and send a delicious mud cake and hand written card up courtesy of the GM to wish a happy birthday.

The pool area is lovely and tranquil and I felt like I was on holidays...

There were some issues with check out and double charging but was rectified eventually.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: If it is for a special occasion, ask and you shall receive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Brenna P,

Thank you for your review, I'm glad to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed your friend's birthday with us. I'm also pleased that the issues you experienced were easily rectified. We hope we can welcome you back soon for more celebrations.

Kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our baby girl turned 2, save the stress of organising a party we decided to spoilt her with a weekend in Sydney.

As soon as we arrived and checked into our room, our daughter was bouncing with joy and called the hotel her home. She loved the king size bed, and she said the pillows were "amazzzzzing!"

Prefect location, nestled in the heart of The Rocks and within walking distance to The Harbour Bridge, Opera House and Circular Quay.

We came back from a concert held at The Big Top Luna Park to pick up our luggage up, as soon as we walked into the foyer our daughter Sage said "I'm hommmmme!!!"

From the moment we checked in and checked out it was faultless. Thankyou for leaving a lasting impression on our daughter. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Hutties,

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your family stay and that we did much to impress your 2 year old daughter. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights and really enjoyed the Four Seasons Sydney. Its location is one of the best right at the rocks and Circular Quay overlooking this spectacular city. The staff were friendly, efficient and aimed to please. Special mention to the doormen and concierge (Jorge) who always greeted us with a smile and a friendly chat. We were left a little treat every night in our beautiful, well appointed room which we enjoyed. Great business, gym and pool area. The extra touches, location, room and staff made our stay so much more enjoyable. We would love to return here next time we visit Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Penelope B,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback on the hotel, and in particular your mention of our Concierge, Jorge. I will be sure to let him know that you appreciated his service. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Safe travels,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is centrally located directly adjacent to Circular Quay, near almost everything we were interested in seeing on our first trip to Sydney, which made it worth the extra money to stay here. The staff were all very helpful, especially those at the Concierge desk. They went out of their way to help us find places to eat, book tickets for us at shows, etc. They really did a great job.

The room itself was nice, very clean, and had a partial view of the Harbor Bridge, which was great. The only thing I would have liked to change about the room is that I would have liked a refrigerator that wasn't full of minibar items - as it was, on the occasions that we had takeaway containers, we had to wedge them in around soda, water bottles, etc. But that's really a small gripe.

We were out in Sydney basically all day every day, so we didn't really try out any of the hotel amenities - pool, restaurant, etc. - so I can't comment on those.

Overall, if you're looking for a nice, centrally located hotel and don't mind paying a bit extra, this place is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Toa T,

Thank you for your extremely kind words about your stay here. I was delighted to read of your experience with our Concierge staff. In the future, we would be happy to accommodate your mini-bar requests, please do let our Housekeeping staff know. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed there for three nights. Overall a poor experience. The hotel is dated with dull colors all over the property. Quite depressing I have to say. Tiny standard rooms which can be noisy if you are in the lower floors as there are a lot of traffic around . The Food experience is very poor as compared to European standards. Only one real restaurant serving boring food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear FerratLondon,

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read that we were not able to provide you with a memorable stay, due to your experience with our rooms and restaurant. I would appreciate any further feedback, should you choose to share it, to my direct email address at david.macklin@fourseasons.com.

For your poor experience, we sincerely apologise. Please do let me know if you choose to return to Four Seasons so we can restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Recently stayed at the Sydney, Australia Four Seasons Hotel. Its location is absolutely perfect for both business and leisure purposes - easy walking distance to many fine restaurants, to classy weekend street market, to elegant shops, and most of all -- the boardwalk which leads to the incomparable Sydney Opera House.
No doubt many hotels of similar ilk may net similar results in satisfaction, but NONE can compare to the world-class service of its Concierge Desk in the persons of Jorge and David! NO DETAIL was overlooked by them, and no courtesy missed - they created an unforgettable ambiance and a treasured life-long memory. Yes, the gorgeous flowers and daily small/thoughtful amenities could only put an exclamation point on the 10-day stay!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear SundanceDoc,

Thank you for your extremely kind words about your stay with us, especially our Concierges Jorge and David. I'll be sure to pass on your feedback to them. I was glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Safe travels,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#10 Business Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.