We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality, top location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Room Rate!
Ranked #29 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Top quality, top location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Well I suppose it's what you would expect from a Four Seasons, but the Sydney property really does live up to expectations. A fantastic location in wandering distance to both the Harbour Bridge, Circular Quay and The Opera House, the hotel can't be beaten for being in the absolute heart of tourist Sydney. Well judged front desk service coupled with beautifully appointed rooms, this is a delight of an hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,164
    609
    294
    98
    67
See reviews for
255
1026
157
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Very classy , staff very friendly and helpful. Everything I want & expect from a five star hotel. Close to Sydney harbour bridge , opera house , markets etc. Beds and pillows very comfortable. Pool area great. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Four Seasons is a great location for the CBD, the Bridge, Darling Harbour etc. The service is excellent, and friendly. The pool is nice, but being overlooked by surrounding high rises is a touch off putting!
The rooms are spacious, bathrooms well equipped and spacious too, the wifi works well through the hotel, and all in all it is a reasonable value for a 5 start hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view - whichever side of the hotel you are on. You pay more for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

These rooms were amazing. They are staggered so that you can not see into another room but you can see a beautiful vista of the city. Try to get a view of Circular Quay and see the Opera House and the Harbor bridge. Avoid room 06 and 07 because they are right next to the near the service elevators. The rooms had DVD players in them and there are local EZY rental locations near by. The safes are quite large which is nice for putting in your computer.


Every hotel has some glitches but it is all about how you deal with them. While I was there they had to check all the smoke alarms manually (after a small fire) and put memos under every door. One day they had to do an annual elevator improvements and flawlessly they re-directed everyone to the service elevator (it was late night) and had a staff member on each floor with a radio the direct you. There was also construction going on and I was sick in bed (hardly able to get out of bed). I called the front desk and talked to Lucy and she managed to get the workers to move to a different part of the hotel. The workers had another 45 minutes of work to do above me, and Lucy called me to let me know that they were going to have to do a little work and for how long. She even heard how sick I was and offered to send me up soup or tea to make me feel better.

The Rocks are near by and have great dining, Jackson's (4 floors) is across the street for drinks, and there is a train stop either way for easy access.
If you are exchanging money, stay away from circular Quay. Go out the front door to the right and head towards Wynyard station and you will get a much better rate. At the Quay I got $89au for $100us and Wynyard I got $108au for $100us. Huge difference.

I hope this review was helpful. If it was, click Yes for me.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view and avoid rooms 06 and 07
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel and location, but at this price point, should include wifi in the room rate. Unless that policy changes, will look at other hotel groups in the future. If IHG can do it, why cannot Four Seasons?

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ive stayed in 2 hotels during my Sydney stay and spent the last two nights here due to saving best till the last :-) Booked into a full harbour view room and the scene is stunning both day and night. Breakfast at the Woods restaurant is also really really nice. Staff remembers me and service is sooooo good. If there is an indoor pool, that will be better. The outdoor pool is a bit too small though. The bed is so comfortable.. and therefore, overall my stay was excellent especially the reception desk allowed me for late check out when she knew my flight was late at night. Great team and I really want to come back and stay again!!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear InaLui,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I'm so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our rooms and breakfast at The Woods. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donny
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

For the price they charge you would would have thought they could have fitted noise proof windows. There is a train tunnel and line 10 metres from the hotel, and an australian law which states a train must sound its horn when it enter the tunnel. Not a good combination as the train service runs from 4.18am to midnight. There was also construction work on the other side of the hotel so there was no getting away from it.
We got moved 4 times in the week and still could not find a quiet room, though we were told we were the only ones who had ever mentioned it !!
The rooms are dated and nothing like what the website portrays. We normally love the four seasons hotels and was really disappointed with this one.

The spa got our bookings wrong and the meal in the Woods restaurant was very strange especially the sprouts offering. Breakfast was good though.

A lot of business clients who probably aren't that bothered as they wont be paying for it out of their own pockets.

Room Tip: High as you can and bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Phil G,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay, and would like to apologise sincerely for the issues you encountered while you were with us. Our location is close to all of the attractions and transport of Circular Quay, and I am sorry this impacted on your stay. I do apologise for the spa mix-up.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#10 Business Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.