We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Great Service !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room Rate!
Ranked #26 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Great Service !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Located in Historic disrtict of "The Rocks" and overlooks Sydney Harbor. Very close to many main attractions like the Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbor Bridge, Ferries, and Museums. Staff was accommodating and professional.

Many good eating and restaurant choices within walking distance as well. Relax after exploring in the triangle shaped outdoor heated pool. There are several small markets near by for purchasing snacks, water, beer, soda, etc..

Treat yourself to the Executive Club and take advantage of hot and cold buffet breakfast, beverages, and snacks all day, but especially for evening drinks, canapés, and swapping adventure stories and mingling with other guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a Upper level room with view of Opera House
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Bohemian1966,

Thank you for sharing your review with us, it’s extremely pleasing to read that you had an exceptional stay with us, including a great experience in our Executive Club.

We look forward to having you return to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney for another great stay.

Thank you again.

With kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,641
    817
    378
    125
    76
See reviews for
370
1,416
197
649
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (949)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is excellent. The room I got was outstanding if you have a view on the opera. The room was very well equipped and the staff members very professional. The room service is good but if you order for a $30 dinner in your room they will charge $15 for the service. Don't use the mini bar, buy own drink before, you will save a lot of money . My room was great but at 6 am in the morning I was disturbed by noise coming from the bathroom of my neibourgh room! What a surprise for an hotel at that price point. In terms of location at Sydney, this hotel is fantastic to discover the town.
Well I will recommend it but you can get better value for money. Try it and give our own advice!

Room Tip: You should ask for a room with view on the opera. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Alain55_13,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your stay at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney.

I'm glad to see that you were pleased with our rooms and staff members. I was concerned to read your comment about our Room Service charges, however, I understand this issue was resolved during your stay. I also believe the noise issue was rectified.

We do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

list of disappointments:
-tiny rooms
-stale, smoke smelling air
-no water at turn down ($12 for a bottle from the mini bar)
-$35/day for wifi
-2% charge for all payments with credit card


This is a slightly above average business hotel and if I didn't have four seasons expectations, I'd be happy enough with it. I stayed here over a decade ago and remember thinking the hotel wasn't up to four seasons standards then. It seems hotels change brands often in Sydney (there used to be 2 or 3 Ritz's in Sydney, now none) and I had expected this to become something less premium. While this hotel isn't at all up to four seasons standards, it's room prices are also relatively low. Come with low expectations and it's fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Gandaratravels,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding your recent experience at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney.

Please accept our apologies for any disappointment experienced during your stay. Your comments have been taken on board, and will be discussed with the relevant departments.

I would love to further hear your thoughts on our rooms, and would welcome you to email me directly at david.macklin@fourseasons.com.

With kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Loved this hotel, great location, wonderful staff. We enjoyed staying here for a week while in town for a conference. Walking distance to the ferries, Opera House, and Museum of Contemporary Arts a big plus.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear MazMichel,

Thank you for sharing your review with us, it’s extremely pleasing to read that you had an exceptional stay with us.

We look forward to having you return to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney for another great stay.

Thank you again.

With kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A great luxury hotel in a great location.
Great Interior, with nice swimming pool and spa.
Gym was great too.

I signed for the executive club (for just $AU 70), and that included
1. breakfast (great food, and big variety, with a chef to cook eggs etc) and
2. also internet
3. alcohol and fizzy drinks, and small plates and desserts almost all day

Room Tip: ask for a room with the opera house view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Cons:

This hotel seems old and rooms are very small.
Internet is very expensive and is in addition to the room rate. We paid for the Super Speed internet, however unfortunately the speed was not 'super' at all and we struggled to complete work.
When we had problems with room/internet we had to phone multiple times to get this rectified and this is not consistent with service we have received at other four seasons hotel

Pros

Great Location - easy walking distance of opera house and shopping district.
Great bar with good food and cocktails attached to the hotel
Concierge Desk helpful in planning day trips and evening meals/drinks.

In Summary hotel was ok, however i think you can find better hotels in the same price category and location. Rooms need updating to bring the hotel on par with other services/hotels in chain and communal areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear SmilieTravels,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding your recent experience at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney.

Please be assured I have taken your valuable comments on board; and I am also working very closely with our internet provider to rectify these intermittent connection issues and ensure our guests are receiving a hassle-free experience.

I am glad to hear you were pleased with the service from our Concierge and enjoyed our bar. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed in Sydney. the first time we stayed in the quay west apartments with our kids, which are terrific but when we tried to book this time they were full.

The Four Seasons is right next door to the QWA so as we wanted a view of the harbour bridge and Opera house we knew that we would be fine with TFSH.

We asked for a high floor room for the view. I think the hotel has 34 floors and our room was room 3012 on the 30th floor....... Oh my goodness !!!What a view?

When we woke up on the 1st morning, without taking our heads off the pillow, we were treated to the best full view that anyone could want of Sydney Harbour.... The Ferries in Circular Quay, The Opera House, The Harbour Bridge.... the lot!!!
THE NIGHT TIME VIEW WAS JUST AS AMAZING

The view was that good that my wife and I got up early on the 2nd morning to sit and watch the dawn break over Sydney Harbour.... one of those magical moments that well never forget. (especially as the kids wasn't there)..

our room also overlooked the lower rooftop outdoor heated swimming pool area which was a beautiful, clean, quiet and peaceful area in the midst of a busy city.

we chose to eat breakfast in the harbour area on the first morning as there are lots of foodie places and its only about 3 minutes walk ,but on the 2nd morning we ate breakfast in the hotel.
its not the cheapest breakfast, but I think apart from the Park Hyatt in Colorado some years ago..... this is the best all round breakfast we've ever had in a hotel.

We were even serenaded by someone playing a grand piano to us at breakfast.

The checking in and out was very smooth, every one of the staff we met were all extremely courteous and efficient.... the concierge was great and had a very good knowledge of anything we asked them about.

the rooms were spotless and the beds were extremely comfortable and provided a good nights sleep.

If I had to knock the hotel on one thing it was their Wi-Fi.
I am from the UK and need to keep in touch with business and family. Maybe im wrong, but I did expect free Wi-Fi but didn't get it ,and it seemed very expensive to me for 2 nights usage so I went and purchased a Aussie Vodafone sim card which gave me a months usage for the same price as 48 hrs. of the hotel Wi-Fi charges.

I don't know if there is any family rooms or apartments here so it is hard to compare, so as we have stayed with our kids in the Quay West apartments before with them and enjoyed it, we would probably stay there again if we had them with us. However, if we were to come on our own again, we would not need to look elsewhere for a magical hotel experience...
it would be room 3012 at the Sydney Four Seasons Hotel!

Room Tip: Its a bit more money but you wont regret it...ask for a harbour view and higher up the better. we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#20 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#15 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.