We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, dreadful breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15-20% Off Room Rate!
Ranked #28 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely room, dreadful breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Love the rooms here - even those without a good view are extremely comfortable and well-appointed. Front desk is fantastic and room service options are lovely. Great cocktails at the bar too.

Pool area is nice but a bit sterile.

However, had a dreadful breakfast the last time I was here - old lipstick on my coffee cup, raw eggs and orders mixed up - very disappointing for a hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    666
    311
    104
    69
See reviews for
277
1,109
168
543
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bonita springs, fl
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recall when Four Seasons was the best in the business, the hotel to beat in the luxe category. If the Sydney property is any indication, the chain has been resting on its laurels. Lobby is in dire need of a refurb. Main restaurant is loud and vacuous, while the more casual Grain restaurant is a joke: uncomfortable seating, very limited menu, and a chef who does not know that a pizza is generally a round object baked in an oven and containing, at minimum, a good marinara sauce and a generous sprinkling of cheese...not a warmed up white dinner roll with ketchup and cheese shavings on top. The rooms are nothing exceptional--not worth the comment. To top it all off, when the bill was presented it contained about $100 of minibar charges that we did not make. Go elsewhere--there are many better choices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing us feedback about your stay.
I am very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations.
Over the last year we have renovated all of our food and beverage outlets to meet the expectations of the Sydney market as well as the guests that stay in the hotel.
The new adventurous destination restaurant is helmed by rising Australian chef Hamish Ingham. His creative menu centres around the use of fresh, quality produce cooked over a range of naturally flavoured Australian woods in the restaurant’s centrally located, wood-fired oven and grill. In The Woods, a spacious open kitchen adds a theatrical touch to the intimate and welcoming atmosphere. Décor includes a grand hand-hewn wood block, a live herb wall and a bar offering a lighter menu.
We have a focus on providing fresh and local produce. We strive to provide creative and freshly made dishes, starting with hand churned butter through to the hand made pizzas.
At no stage do we use dinner rolls as we pride ourselves in quality ingredients.

Your feedback is appreciated as our goal is to provide a memorable experience to our guests.

Sincerely,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed twice during a 16 day visit to Australia. Located in the CBD yet many tourists as location is superb near "The Rocks" the historic founding location.
Rooms are a bit smaller than newer 4 Seasons but still fine. Good views if you are facing the Opera House and Circular Quay (harbor ferries). Prices fair... if such exists in a city where the CoL is nearly 50% higher than NYC!
Staff is extremely well trained for genuine customer service, a term normally having scant meaning in real terms (eg happily changed our spongy mattress for a firm replacement, thank goodness).
Free lobby wi-fi but you pay in your room, rather silly and annoying. Great breakfast buffet
Excellent free lobby coffee service until 9 AM.

Room Tip: Ask to face the harbor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel since 1983, and it never disaapoints. The staff and service is great. The junior suite overlooking the harbor maybe the best view in the city. Room service is fast and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I completely underestimated the Four Seasons. I thought because we purchased the minimum room rate, that we wouldn't get the most the hotel could offer but we were completely surprised and amazed at the overall service the hotel supplied us with. As usual, requests can never be guaranteed, however all the requests were met; an early check in, on the top 5 floors with a view (we originally had a room without a view, which we had booked but were transferred without a fuss) and a little something for my friends 21st (although it wasn't requested, just noted). Also within our purchase rate was breakfast which was great. I also organised some mini chocolates for my friend at midnight which they adhered to with ease (with extra charges) The only minor things I could pick on were the room sizes, but you get what you pay for, the beds could have been done better and they need another way to keep the hot food at breakfast warm. Overall, I'd easily give this hotel 5 stars and recommend it to anyone and everyone and would happily go back, superb value for money!

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Concierge was really helpful with recommending restaurants. Same applies to reception. Everything as one would expect from a Four Seasons, apart from the let-down at the breakfast. The buffet is more than amazing, offering a variety of international hot and cold dishes, however be prepared to wait for half an hour for your coffee. (I would prefer to have fewer choices at the buffet but a good cup of hot coffee). Also, the gym is a bit on the small side, but got everything you need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The classic Australian family home. Cannot afford the full renovation, so the next best thing is to spread it over 30 years! Great location, but needs a total renovation to make it all consistent. They have dropped what used to be a classic 5 star 80s restaurant, Kables, for a typical gastro pub style restaurant, called Woods, probably stolen the theme from the breakfast buffet at Shangrila, which is kind of ok, but not what you would expect of you had stayed at a Four Seasons in Asia or LA.
rooms are stock standard Australian corporate hotels...boring.

Staff are good.

As noted, food is quite good, but not to die for.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#10 Business Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Amex, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.