We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Staff and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #27 of 182 hotels in Sydney
New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Top Staff and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed twice during a 16 day visit to Australia. Located in the CBD yet many tourists as location is superb near "The Rocks" the historic founding location.
Rooms are a bit smaller than newer 4 Seasons but still fine. Good views if you are facing the Opera House and Circular Quay (harbor ferries). Prices fair... if such exists in a city where the CoL is nearly 50% higher than NYC!
Staff is extremely well trained for genuine customer service, a term normally having scant meaning in real terms (eg happily changed our spongy mattress for a firm replacement, thank goodness).
Free lobby wi-fi but you pay in your room, rather silly and annoying. Great breakfast buffet
Excellent free lobby coffee service until 9 AM.

Room Tip: Ask to face the harbor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,078
    570
    273
    92
    62
See reviews for
235
962
152
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel since 1983, and it never disaapoints. The staff and service is great. The junior suite overlooking the harbor maybe the best view in the city. Room service is fast and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I completely underestimated the Four Seasons. I thought because we purchased the minimum room rate, that we wouldn't get the most the hotel could offer but we were completely surprised and amazed at the overall service the hotel supplied us with. As usual, requests can never be guaranteed, however all the requests were met; an early check in, on the top 5 floors with a view (we originally had a room without a view, which we had booked but were transferred without a fuss) and a little something for my friends 21st (although it wasn't requested, just noted). Also within our purchase rate was breakfast which was great. I also organised some mini chocolates for my friend at midnight which they adhered to with ease (with extra charges) The only minor things I could pick on were the room sizes, but you get what you pay for, the beds could have been done better and they need another way to keep the hot food at breakfast warm. Overall, I'd easily give this hotel 5 stars and recommend it to anyone and everyone and would happily go back, superb value for money!

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Concierge was really helpful with recommending restaurants. Same applies to reception. Everything as one would expect from a Four Seasons, apart from the let-down at the breakfast. The buffet is more than amazing, offering a variety of international hot and cold dishes, however be prepared to wait for half an hour for your coffee. (I would prefer to have fewer choices at the buffet but a good cup of hot coffee). Also, the gym is a bit on the small side, but got everything you need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The classic Australian family home. Cannot afford the full renovation, so the next best thing is to spread it over 30 years! Great location, but needs a total renovation to make it all consistent. They have dropped what used to be a classic 5 star 80s restaurant, Kables, for a typical gastro pub style restaurant, called Woods, probably stolen the theme from the breakfast buffet at Shangrila, which is kind of ok, but not what you would expect of you had stayed at a Four Seasons in Asia or LA.
rooms are stock standard Australian corporate hotels...boring.

Staff are good.

As noted, food is quite good, but not to die for.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I could not have been happier with my stay at the Four Seasons Sydney. The room was beautiful, the views were stunning, and the location was perfect. The hotel, located just across the street from the Circular Quay/Harbour, is an easy and LEVEL walk to the Opera House.

Why I chose this hotel? A family member visited Sydney last year and stayed at the Shangri-La. My family member noted that the Shangri-La was near the Four Seasons "but it was up a hill. You can't tell that when you're at the Circular Quay but the walk back to the Shangri-La was tiring. I wish that I would have stayed at the Four Seasons." So, I decided to try the Four Seasons and was glad that I did.

The breakfast buffet was expansive, delicious, and high quality. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, The Woods, on one evening and the food was incredible. The Woods was packed with locals on the night we dined. If you're planning to have dinner at The Woods on the weekend, you need to secure a reservation ahead of time.

What I noticed about the other luxury properties in Sydney:
-Park Hyatt - Low rise building and does not appear to have full Harbour views.
-Observatory/Langham - Far walk and up "the hill" from the Harbour. It's called the Langham now but was the Observatory Hotel for years. Observatory - On top of the highest hill in the Rocks.
-Shangri-La - Near Four Seasons but my family member said the walk up the hill was difficult.

We had a fantastic stay at this luxury property. I was so happy that I made the decision to stay at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Check in was handled in a most professional way. Suite was of a high standard and was spotless and very well maintained. Executive lounge is one of the largest I have come across. They even have a chef to cook hot meals for breakfast. Lounge is looked after by very accommodating staff where nothing was too much trouble. Great location not far from Circular Quay. Great views of the Harbour Bridge and the harbour. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: High floors for a better view. Harbour view rooms have the best outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, Amex, Otel, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.