We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel view in Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room Rate!
Ranked #27 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Best hotel view in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Full disclosure -I have stayed at the Four Seasons Sydney many years ago when it was still the Regent. I stayed often and it featured as a kind of home away from home. So when I had the chance to stay again, this time as its new identity of a Four Seasons property, I was predisposed to love it. Talk about location location location. For my money, and I know the other hotel players in town, Four Seasons nails the view - harbor, bridge and the Opera House money shot. The rooms ending in 11, from memory, offer the amazing corner situation. Plus, the George Street location allows you access to some of the very best places to chill in Sydney. The Rocks, for street markets, art museums and of course, food & pubs, is vibrant and full of history. This is steps away from the hotel. Cross the street from the hotel and you're at Circular Quay and can catch a ferry to the zoo, to Manley - just get on the water. If you continue on foot from the Quay, you are at the Opera House and into the oh-so beautiful botanical gardens, where you can wander around and discover so many special nooks and crannies. Or, you can just turn right out of the hotel and head up George Street into the CBD and check out the whole Ivy dining experience. As for the hotel itself, loving the remodeled lobby. We enjoyed Grain, with its wood and cowhide chairs and transom windows opening up to the hubub on George Street. Our room was big, particularly by city standards, with that awesome corner view. Get as high a room as you can. And if you want to save a few dollars, ask for a harbor/city view so you still have at least a bit of the gorgeous view/Opera House view. If you want to splurge, however, I strongly recommend paying a bit more for Executive Club access. This is a cozy and extremely well run space serving a feast of hot and cold goodies for breakfast and throughout the day. As I mull over the hotel options, I can't think of another property in Sydney that ticks the boxes like the FS. For my money, the Park Hyatt does not offer the view from high, which I think is vital, plus it is crazy expensive. The Intercon is a great choice, but views are of the back side of the Opera House - though include the botanical gardens. Blue Hotel in the wharf in Woolloomoloo is funky and interesting, but dark and quiet. Couple of interesting Accor properties in the Rocks to be considered, along with the Q T Hotel, which is generating a lot of interest. But even if you are not a first timer to Sydney as I am not, the Four Seasons brings it all to bear.

Room Tip: As for the corner rooms overlooking the Opera House & harbor - and the higher up the better. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,366
    714
    333
    113
    71
See reviews for
303
1,194
176
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

7 people queing to register when i arrived, 2 staff at front desk serving them so 20 minute wait. Conceirge took so long i had to go downstairs to collect it myself and was told it should already be with you - no really? Thats why i am collecting it. Tv not working as satelite dish faulty. Internet log on so fiendishly complex it takes 5 minutes to log on, why am i even having to pay? The only positive note in this shambles is the restaurant staff are great and food good. Hotel management sucks. First and last stay here, there are lots of competent places in sydney.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing this feedback.
I have researched in detail about your check in and arrival day by our cameras and at no time did I see any delays at the front desk. We are very serious about our guest's experiences and would greatly appreciate any further feedback you may have so we can rectify any service delays.
Our goal is to provide a wonderful and memorable experience for our guest and your comments are appreciated.

Sincerely
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
david.macklin@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Sydney Four Seasons at the beginning of our Australia/New Zealand trip. Our room was comfortable and nicely appointed, as was the bathroom, not large, but adequate. Very nice toiletries provided. We did not pay the extra $70/night for a harbor view room, but from our 21st floor room, we had an interesting city view. For the amount of time we spent in the room, the view was not a big issue.

You couldn't ask for a more convenient location, being within easy walking distance of the Opera House, the Rocks, Circular Quay, Saturday street markets, the Botanic Gardens, Sydney Tower Eye, and many shops and restaurants. (Try the "Baker's Oven" restaurant just a block away for a delicious breakfast and pastries.)

Internet access is free at the business center on second level, with four computers for guest use. If it's raining, the concierge desk will cheerfully loan you an umbrella. We found all staff members to be friendly and welcoming.

The breakfast buffet, included with our room, was generous and delicious, with many hot and cold selections (very expensive to purchase separately, about $40 per person.)

This was an excellent choice for our first visit to Sydney, and I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Hotel is in a great location, The service and the staff are second to none, The rooms, while small are very luxurious and the beds and pillows are extremely comfortable. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rooms are nice but small and the bathrooms are very small but what was really disappointing was the pool and spa area. The pool area is dated and not very nice and the men's locker room area was poorly maintained and not overly nice. This is an older property and it shows. The Park Hyatt looked much nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel has a good location to Darling Harbour which has lots of resturants, bars and attractions. Check in was very pleasant and we had paid for a executive room with darling harbour view. The room was alot smaller than what we thought and went back to reception to make sure we were in an executive room and yes we were!!
The view from the room was really good but for the size of the room itself I wouldn't bother upgrading as your not in your room long enough to appreciate the view anyway.
The breakfast was very good and had lots of choice for everybody. There is free wifi in the lobby but not in your room unless you pay for it.
The hotel has a small gym with some running machines, bikes and free weights, which you can use and has a good view looking out over the Harbour.

If you want to go to the Opera House and Circular Quay from this hotel we jumped on the ferry which takes about 5mins which is located on Darling Harbour. The last ferry back does finish early at about 10pm so we got a taxi back to the hotel which cost about $A10.
Overall this hotel was nice and could recommend it, but personally having stayed at the Shangri La Hotel at Circular Quay before this is were I would go back for the amount of money we paid to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

After arriving at the hotel I was a little surprised they could not find my reservation. To spare you all the dramas in the end the manager worked it all out after realising it was a hiccup that we both contributed to.
The hotel is in a great location and close to the Sydney Opera House. The hotel is clean and the rooms were nice as well and we also had a great view of the harbour. The hotel is a bit old but everything is well maintained and it also has a small outdoor pool.
Staff is great and while some may argue it may not be on par with other Four Seasons hotels it is nevertheless a very pleasant hotel to stay at in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#10 Business Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Amex, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.