We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera House view unbelievable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15-20% Off Room Rate!
Ranked #29 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Englewood
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Opera House view unbelievable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in the Four Seasons, over New Year's. We had a great view of the harbour and opera house. The room is what you expect of a Four Seasons- very comfortable and terrific bathroom.
Location was premiere for touring the Harbour, Opera House, Royal Botanical Gardens, and the Rocks area.
Conceirge was very helpful.

Room Tip: ask for both opera house and bridge harbor to have a view of both. We only had opera house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,220
    641
    305
    104
    68
See reviews for
267
1071
166
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have used Four Seasons in Sydney for twenty years, right back to when it was The Regent. It remains a pretty decent hotel, but it seems to be going through a bit of an identity crisis. It cannot seem to decide whether it wants to be a first class business hotel, a vacation destination hotel or a cruise ship departure point.
We stayed for ten days and they wanted to charge more than 200 Aussie dollars for wi-fi access. This is crazy. As a result, my wife and I went to Starbucks every day for breakfast and free wi-fi. We would otherwise have used the hotel restaurant.
The wait for elevators when the cruise ships are in town is absolutely intolerable.
Bizarrely, there is no information about hotel restaurants and bars in the room. In fact, the hotel directory and the lift information panels still refer to a restaurant that has been closed for about nine months.
The pool remains nice, but there is no poolside service. Find your own towel and get your own water.
It feels like a hotel that has financial problems. In fact, the night we arrived the bar had closed early because "staff in Sydney are expensive".
We will continue to use it, because it has the best location in Sydney, but I hope it rediscovers its five star service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Travellers of 2013 expect wifi free of charge no matter what they pay for their room. Whether 3 star or luxury, wifi is a right just like electricity or running water.

Standard rooms are pokey and cleanliness is average.

Service and staff manner is poor

Only the porter owes a commendation. Nice guy, shame he works for a hotel living in the 3rd world

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the internet service at the hotel. We are currently reviewing this service as our goal is to provide a wonderful guest experience.
I would also like to apologize for not meeting you expectations with the manner of the staff. If you would like to share more information, please feel free to contact me directly by email as your feedback is extremely important.

Sincerely
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
david.macklin@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were so glad that we stayed at the Four Seasons in Sydney at the end of our Australian trip. It certainly helped seal our beautiful memories of Australia.

We booked directly with the hotel via their website. Having stayed at Darling Harbour at the beginning of our trip, we picked Four Seasons at Circular Quay for its spectacular view of the Sydney Harbour for the last leg of our journey. We booked the Deluxe Full Harbour View Room. Upon check in, we were pleasantly surprised that they upgraded us to the Grand Premier Full Harbour View Room.

The view was indeed breathtaking, both in the day time and at night. I must say Four Seasons has one of the best location at Circular Quay for its view of the harbour. The view of both the Opera House and the Sydney Bridge was spectacular!

The spacious suite, elegant decor, indulgent toiletries, impeccable service and convenient location also made our stay very, very memorable. Totally recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Incredible location for a well appointed hotel. Very comfortable bedrooms. We spent one night in a full harbour room and another in a city view room, both at the same price. The former gave us the view but was small whilst the latter was spacious and more relaxing. The Executive Lounge was as good as any we have been in and has to be recommended. The staff, throughout, were very excellent

Room Tip: Go for a city view room- you can bet a larger room for the same price as a full harbour view one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Overpriced ordinary hotel. Room interior needs renovation. 25$ extra for wifi in 800$ room is unacceptable! Hotel trsnsfer from airport delayed meeting us. Location is nice. Harbour view ix good but nothing special in it. Expected much more from this hotel brand.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had our 10th wedding anniversary here. The bed was brilliant, the food excellent, staff friendly and our view over harbour and opera house to die for. Lovely room service set up on a table at the window and the food was worth every cent.

Room Tip: go high, ask for room with view of opera house - you will pay more but it is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#10 Business Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.