We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trained staff I have ever come across.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15-20% Off Room Rate!
Ranked #29 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best trained staff I have ever come across.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I have just spent 5 nights in the Four Seasons Sydney. I have stayed on other occasions. Its position is excellent for the Harbour and always come back. The facilities are very good. The rooms extremely comfortable if slightly smaller than some comparable hotels. But the thing that is absolutely stand-out about the hotel is the staff. They are the best trained hotel staff I have ever come across - and I stay at a lot of 5* hotels around the world. They are unfailingly friendly, responsive and incredibly helpful. Gym open 24 hours and very good facilities. Also for the record, I went to the Handa Opera on the Harbour performance of La Traviata. It was absoutely fantastic. Unmissable event.

Room Tip: Go for a full or city/harbour view. Makes all the difference. I was on 29th floor with good view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsHotelSyd, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I’m thrilled to hear Four Seasons Hotel Sydney is your hotel of choice when visiting the city. Thank you for your kind feedback about the level of service our staff members offer, it's lovely to hear you valued this aspect of your stay given the hotel places such a great deal of importance on ensuring our guests have a great and memorable experience.

It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed Handa’s rendition of ‘La Traviata’, it certainly sounded like an event not to be missed!

Safe travels and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Regards,

David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    641
    303
    104
    68
See reviews for
266
1070
165
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waalre, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Four Seasons Sydney is an upmarket hotel, however some value aspects turned out disappointing for this price class. Obviously it offers "triple A" downtown location at Circular Quay, next to The Rocks. We had booked a full harbour view room (turned out to be on 20st floor), it offered indeed a stunning view of the harbour, Opera House and Harbour Bridge. However other room types will offer a less attractive view (or none at all), but are still quite expensive. Having arrived at the hotel at 9AM, our room wasn't ready yet. Unfortunate, yet we understand that that may happen with an early morning arrival. But despite us coming in straight from a 9 hours night flight, the desk staff disappointingly made no effort to try limit our inconvenience: "please come back in 2 hours". Once ready, our room was very nice, spacious and comfortably providing all necessary amenities.
Next day, we found continental breakfast offering limited choice and being poorly restocked once items ran out. Absolute negative experience was internet/wifi access: charging AU$25 for a day basic access is a rip-off. A hotel of this class should offer free service.
There may be better value-for-money hotels in downtown Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.
I am glad to read the location of the hotel and also our rooms met you expectations. However, I am sorry to see that we were unable to have your room ready upon your arrival at 9am.
Your comment about the internet is very important to us as we are currently reviewing all charges to ensure that we are competitive in Sydney.
If you would like to discuss any of these areas further, please feel free to contact me directly at anytime by email or telephone.
I do apologize for not meeting your expectations and would to thank you for passing on your experience as we continually strive to improve our services.
Sincerely
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
199 George Street
SYDNEY NSW 2000
Australia
Tel: (61 2) 9250 3302
Fax:(61 2) 9251 2851
Email: david.macklin@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just arrived in Thailand having spent 5 nights in the FOUR SEASONs Hotel SYDNEY, Room 1419 an Deluxe Opera and Partial Harbour View room.

Room review: A bit on the small size for the price you are paying, but this is an expensive city, so it was difficult to get a hotel offering bed & breakfast, which the Four Seasons did. LOVELY comfortable big bed, had fantastic sleep. Windows did not open. REALLY BAD internet connection. By bad, i mean terrible! It took 2 hours to download 1 song from iTunes. In 2012, i really think Hotels need to get High Speed internet sorted. Cleaning staff were fantastic, really cleaned the room well & tidied up our stuff imaculately.

Breakfast review: Was "good" but not excellent. I just felt something was lacking. When i have stayed at other 5 star hotels, you get a much better international selection of foods, which were not represented here so well.

Staff Review: No complaints. Really helpful. Well done!

Spa Review: Way too expensive.

Restaurant tips: We had some of the best food of our international trip in Sydney. You Must try two places: Sake (Japanese + Mexican Influences) around the corner from the hotel. Amazing! but a bit pricey. Great ambience. Make sure you book!
Also, North Bondi Italian (in Bondi Beach). WOW: The best Pasta i have had in 10 years. And i am fussy! Perfect al dente Rigatoni with Italian Sausage. Also Crab spaghetti cooked in a paper bag (sounds strange, but was great!).

Room Tip: If you have a club room, have breakfast downstairs rather than the club floor. Better & bigger s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Perfect hotel - close to the Rocks, Starbucks, Shopping area, Circular Quey. Food is excellent, rooms are great! Housekeeping staff were very accomodating.

The lady who looked after the room always made sure I had many bottles of LÓccitane conditioner. One afternoon, I asked her why does she always replenishes me with 3 extra bottles of conditioner .... she replied with a big smile on her face "because you have such lovely long hair, it requires 3 bottles !". In my books, She is a star!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsHotelSyd, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your lovely story with us. It is extremely rewarding to learn about a special experience our guests have with our staff, I am so pleased our housekeeper was able to anticipate and meet your needs as you described.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon!

Regards,

David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamunda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

My daughter and I travelled to Sydney for the Handa production of La Traviata.Our initial introduction to this hotel was somewhat marred by a series of mishaps on check in. First they could not find our reservation. It had been booked by my husband's secretary and was filed under her name. Then despite two phone calls in the preceding week to ascertain our arrival time, [1.30p.m.], our room was not ready. This was not a problem, we were assured it would only be, at the most an hour and they would ring when it was available. We walked along Circular Quay to the Opera House and enjoyed drinks and snacks at the outdoor bar taking in the beautiful view. Well over an hour passed with no phone call so we returned to reception. Apologies were profuse but there were problems getting the previous guest to vacate the room and apparently there were no other rooms with the Harbour View available. We were taken to the Cocktail Bar and offered complimentary cocktails but then he realised it was out of normal hours for cocktails!! However, a quick word to the lovely bartender and we had our cocktails and snacks. More time went by and it was beginning to look like I'd be somewhat tipsy before I ever reached our room. It was also rather tiring after a very early morning flight!
I approached reception again. Profuse apologies but they had discovered the door to the minibar/fridge and lights in the room were broken and were waiting on an engineer to fix these!! By this time, I was actually beginning to feel sorry for poor Sebastian from reception and have to commend him for the way he handled this situation and tried to do his best for us. We were offered complimentary breakfasts as compensation and did eventually get the keycard to our room on the 19th floor. The story does not end here-----the wrong room number was on the folder so it was back to reception. Full marks to Sebastian for not hiding under the desk as we approached!!
The room had the most wonderful views of the Harbour, the bridge and the Opera House. It was not as large as I had expected but well appointed and everything was in working order!
The beds are super comfortable.The bathroom was rather small with very little shelf space but L'Occitane toiletries are appreciated. After the initial problems everything was fautless and service good.
The hotel is in a very convenient position right next to the Rocks and within easy walking distance of shops, Opera House and the ferries. There are no problems getting taxis either.
We had planned to make use of the Spa facilities and enjoy some pampering but it was closed due to maintenance.
I can recommend the breakfast with a vast and varied range of food which was regularly replenished and a dedicated egg chef. They did run out of croissants but made fresh just for us which I thought was excellent service.
In summary, after a very dubious start, we enjoyed our stay and found the staff courteous and helpful. We were also extended a late check out.

Room Tip: To get the best out of your stay, book a Harbour View Room. Corner rooms are on the small size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Great stay at the Four Seasons, excellent service, clean room and professional staff. Felt very relaxed and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the four seasons over the Easter long weekend for just the one night and it was amazing!

Booked a harbour/city view deluxe room and wow - the view was spectacular! The room itself was also fantastic. Spacious, clean, great amenities and the bed was so huge and amazingly comfortable!

The service was flawless. Made me feel so welcome and important and well cared for.


Would recommend to anyone and definitly will be returning!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#10 Business Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.