We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Sussex St., Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Simple Pleasures from$195
Ranked #48 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Moe, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights last week when in town for a wedding.
As I was travelling alone, I was looking for something central and this ticked all the boxes for me.
The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, the day I arrived there was a power outage because of renovations, I was called and advised of this a couple of days prior and on the day offered to be a hospitality voucher & transport to their sister hotel to relax until I could check in.
The room was comfortable, although I found the heater took a while to get to my desired temperature, but that was a minor issue.
The bed was very comfortable & I slept well, although if could hear children running in the corridors early in the evening, which is no fault of the hotel.
I had seafood buffet in the restaurant, one night, which I thought was good value and plentiful and another night ate at The Dundee Arms pub at the hotel, which also was a nice basic meal.
Overall this is a lovely hotel and I, without a doubt, will stay here again and recommend to family & friends

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi GayleD,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your glowing feedback regarding our welcoming associates, the comfort of our newly refurbished rooms and the tasty meals at the Corn Exchange Restaurant and the Dundee Arms Pub. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Sydney.

Yours sincerely,
Assumpta McDonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    876
    302
    89
    48
See reviews for
215
696
144
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Four Points by Sheraton is a well situated 4 star hotel, i stayed here with my partner on a Saturday night for our anniversary. Knowing booking through a third party agent doesn't guarantee the bedding configuration, i specifically called the hotel a day in advance to notify the reservation/reception team to please allocate a room with queen bedding rather than 2 single as its for a special occupation.

Upon check in Steyn the front desk supervisor was very welcoming and professional, but however he wasn't able to allocate me to a harbor view room with a queen bed due to occupancy. The two options available were a disable room or a harbor view twin room. However due to the occasion non of the two was very pleasant.

Understanding it wasnt his fault we ended up choosing the Harbor view twin room because i paid extra and wasnt going to lose the view, especially the Saturday night firework.

For a hotel of Sheraton standard and size i was very disappointing with the lack of communication between the reservation and front desk team.

Such a simple request could not even be delivered points out the hotel's operational issues.

Being the largest hotel in the southern hemisphere, my stay was below expectation.

Room Tip: The view at this hotel will play a big part of the overall accommodation experience. Try to book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
HI WilliamW,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. It’s a pleasure to read your glowing feedback regarding Steyn. We would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations regarding our room availability and assure you that if we were able to accommodate your request we most certainly would have, Saturday nights are one of our busiest nights. We hope this doesn’t prevent you from choosing to stay with us again in the future, and please don’t hesitate to contact me so I can personally assist in exceeding your expectations during your next stay.

Yours sincerely,
Assumpta McDonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Average hotel. We chose the hotel for the views which in the evening was worth it. The room itself I found very uninspiring, and lacked the little touches you expect - no magazines, lack of colour, no door on shower which in the winter months wasn't pleasant. Our ac was stuck at 19 degrees and broken. Charged for wifi.

All in all the hotel had a nice feel about it in the reception area and the free wifi and magazines much appreciated. Staff were pleasant and we were allowed an early check in due to flight arrival. The hotel seems to thrive off conferences which keeps the foyer level lively and busy. The best thing about the hotel is the location just by the docks, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi Michwalk62,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback online. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by your air conditioning malfunctions, our engineering department will be looking into this. It is pleasing though to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel overlooking Darling Harbour and that our associates were warm and welcoming. Wi-Fi is available free of charge to guests in all of our public spaces. We hope this will not deter you from visiting us again and should you allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel, please contact me so I may be able to assist in ensuring you have a pleasant stay with us.

Yours sincerely,
Assumpta McDonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Watching the sunset from our harbour view room with a glass of bubbly was the best start to our evening.
The hotel is right beside Darling Harbour and I am sure all of the staff are hand picked for their politeness and service ethic.
We will definitely be back for more.

Room Tip: If the funds permit then choose a room on the harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi 777KGB,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments online. It’s always a pleasure to read that our associates exceeded your expectations during your stay, I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team. Our view over Darling Harbour during sunset is rather breathtaking, and it seems as though you enjoyed it the perfect way with some bubbles. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Assumpta McDonald
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights for work. Very good service. Room was compact but well appointed and fabulous view over Darling harbour. Breakfast included in room rate was good value and good quality. Used meeting rooms. A little cold to begin with in the morning but overall very good and nice atmosphere.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi JaneQ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. It’s great to read you were able to enjoy the view over Darling Harbour, it certainly one of the highlights mentioned by guests. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our Executive Chef, and next time don’t be afraid to request the air conditioning be adjusted. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sydney.

Yours Sincerely
Assumpta McDonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here for business travel and was pleasantly surprised. I had never heard of Darling Harbour, but it was a great spot with a mall for souvenirs and by a small zoo for a quick visit to grab a photo with a Koala and see some kangaroos, etc. It was also fun to take a water taxi just out the back of the hotel a block away over to Circular Quay, which wasn't too pricey. Walking wasn't too much of a hike either for the walk back. From Circular Quay, you can ferry over to other places like Manly Beach. The rooms were comfortable with some great views of Darling Harbour, and the staff was plenty friendly, too. It was a bit warm for me to run outside, but I still got a nice view do the Harbour on the treadmill in the fitness center.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi GastronomicPortions,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TridAdvisor. It’s great to hear you made the most of our location in Darling Harbour and finding the time to explore Sydney, a water taxi is one of the best ways to get a great view of Sydney! We appreciate your kind words regarding our associates, and it’s pleasing to know we were able to exceed your expectations. Hopefully we can welcome you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Yours Sincerely
Assumpta McDonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is in a great location overlooking Darling Harbour with its attractions and heaps of restaurants, all within a couple of minute’s walk. It’s also only a few minutes walk from the city centre.

We had a premium harbour view room which offers a westerly view second only to those overlooking Sydney Harbour. It was a good sized, recently renovated room and the bed and pillows were comfortable and the room was quiet for a good night’s sleep. One personal criticism is the trend in many hotels not to provide a top sheet on the bed, just a doona. I don’t know if it’s a cost saving exercise but its not my preference.

The bathroom has a walk in shower and good quality toiletries were provided. A complimentary morning paper and 2 bottles of spring water were included in the room price.

There’s an iron, ironing board, hairdryer, basic tea & coffee making facilities and a minibar in the fridge. The hotel breakfast is extensive and good quality but typically expensive at $35 p/p. If you want a cheaper option then the cafes at Darling Harbour are a 2 minute stroll away. Parking is available in the parking station opposite the hotel at $45 per day. If you don’t have a car there’s a taxi rank right outside the hotel.

A huge negative for us was that we were delayed on check in and getting our bags to the room until about 5pm due to electrical testing in the hotel. They locked out all guests and we weren’t notified until we arrived and were handed a letter. The contingency arranged to spend time at their sister hotel, transferred by a shuttle bus was poorly arranged and left us standing in the cold wind for about 45 minutes. Granted, there was a protest march that closed streets between the two hotels; but good organisers take these things into account and have a back-up plan to ensure their guest’s comfort.

Would I stay again? Provided there’s no electrical testing; probably.

Room Tip: Go for a Harbour View rom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Stevejomac, we thank you for taking the time to share your response on TripAdvisor and for your glowing feedback regarding our location and newly refurbished rooms. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the power supply tests. We take the comfort of all of our guests very seriously and apologise for the impact this caused during your stay. To ensure the safety of our guests, we were legally obligated to vacate the hotel during these power tests. We hope this will not deter you from visiting us again and should you allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel, please contact us so we can personally assist in ensuring you have a pleasant stay.

Yours sincerely,
Assumpta McDonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour

Address: 161 Sussex St., Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Australia's largest hotel, Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour with 648 rooms including 17 suites. Located in Sydney's central business district overlooking Darling Harbour; you will find the major entertainment and shopping districts including Pitt Street Mall, Queen Victoria Building, and Chinatown in close proximity. Ideal for leisure travellers, the hotel offers contemporary dining and a 24-hour fitness centre. All rooms have been refurbished and offer modern furnishings, Wi-Fi internet access, comfortable beds and great views of the city or Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour
Four Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Four Points Darling Harbour
Four Points Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Four Points
Sydney Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.