We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Sussex St., Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekend Special from $220
Ranked #46 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is centrally located and also one step away from from Darling Harbour, a complex of buildings around cockle Bay that has several attractions (there is a walkway so you don't even have to go out to the street). You are close to the Aquarium, Wildlife Zoo (small but you'll see kangaroos and koalas), Maritime Museum, Harbourside (good shopping centre for souvenirs and many other things plus lots of restaurants), Powerhouse Museum (Applied Art and Sciences), Chinese Garden (should be free...). It is the largest hotel in the city, but you wouldn't know. The staff are very helpful and nice. There are computers on the lobby and the internet is free...sometimes you have to wait a bit depending on the time of the day. The rooms are spacious and the harbour view is beautiful. They have a seafood buffet dinner, but there are so many restaurants in the area that I would give it a miss. The beds....ah! the beds are sooo nice and the pillows are divine. Being such a big hotel, sometimes they can put you a long way from the lifts, so I would make a special request if this is not suitable. The hotel is two blocks away from the "shopping hub" of Sydney: Queen Victoria Building and Pitt St Mall with all its arcades (Westfield, Glasshouse, Strand arcade). You can walk to the Opera House and The Rocks (historic area) in about 20 minutes. All in all a very well located, well appointed and reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear TrotamundosSydney,

Thank you for your favourable review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location. Indeed, our hotel is conveniently located in the city, a short stroll to the stunning Darling Harbour and many exciting local attractions, entertainment and dining venues which we hope you had enough time to visit. Thank you also for appreciating our friendly and caring service, comfortable room and amazing views from some our harbour side rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney hopefully in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    570
    791
    272
    80
    40
See reviews for
200
631
123
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed her for two nights in April. Stood in the check in queue for a good 15 mins - I find this tedious. However, we were offered a free upgrade so we took it and ended up in rooms with views of Darking Harbour. So good views and nice and quiet.

- Breakfast was included. Great choices.
- Free morning newspapers too.
- Room service speedy.
- 5 min walk and you are in the city. 10 mins walk and you are at David Jones dept store. 15 min walk from the town hall train station.
- Lovely little rooftop bar we enjoyed at dusk.
- Best feature ... A light that came on when I opened the wardrobe door. I want one of those at home.

In short, nothing to complain about. All good. Would def stay there again because of location even though it's not cheap.

Room Tip: Go for one with a view of Darling Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear kiwi_karyn,

Thank you for your favourable review! I am happy to read that your overall stay was a pleasant one and the services offered during your stay were to your satisfaction. Thank you for your kind words and appreciating the breakfast at our Corn Exchange Restaurant, room service, our convenient location and our facilities. I am also pleased to know that you had a delightful experience at our new rooftop venue, Bar Eleven, which is a great place to unwind, relax, and have drinks while enjoying the amazing views of Darling Harbour. We certainly look forward to your return visit hopefully sometime soon.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the best location when staying in Sydney as you have easy access to Darling Harbour, Convention Centre, Chinatown, QVB and other great shopping, ferry and train services. It has good size rooms with some wonderful views and great service.

Room Tip: Go with harbour views, worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear cjjadelaide,

Thank you for your excellent review and sharing your positive insights of your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we appreciate your kind words on our great location, amazing views and fine service. We hope your nice impression will bring you back to the Four Points by Sheraton when you are next in Sydney.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After a long flight from Dulles via LA, we arrived at the hotel in the morning, so our room was not ready. We left our bags and went out to explore the area. Upon return, the room was ready. They only had a room with 2 single beds, although it was overlooking Darling Harbour. In the morning, when we went to get breakfast, our room was not on the list at the restaurant as having breakfast included. I had to talk to the front desk person and she called a manager, who told me our reservation didn't include breakfast. I showed them the reservation, which clearly stated "Includes Breakfast." He went into the office and came back saying they would honor the breakfast. I never found out what happened, but it could have been avoided if the systems worked the way they are supposed to.

The location is very convenient if you want to take a ferry, since the ferry is literally across the street, and there is a pedestrian bridge to cross. We took the ferry to Taronga Zoo, and got to see and take pictures of the Bridge and Opera House from the water. You can walk to the Bridge/Opera House in about 20 minutes. You can also walk to Paddington Market, and there are several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear esigs,

Thank you for your review and taking the time to post your views online. I am glad to hear that you were very pleased with our excellent and convenient location. Sydney is a beautiful city and has many exciting experiences to offer and we trust you were able to take advantage of our proximity to many local sights and attractions. On the other hand, we apologise for the oversight concerning the breakfast inclusion in your booking. We do hope that inspite of this, you enjoyed your dining at our Corn Exchange Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton when your future travel plans bring you back to our wonderful city.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This landmark hotel in Sussex Street Sydney right next to Sydney Aquarium (separated by a great little walkway) is ideally positioned. The hotel boasts a great lobby bar and is also perfect for breakfasts daily with a vast range of Australian and Asian dishes to choose from. The beds are soft - preferring King beds. The rooms are well laid out. You usually can get either a Harbour View or City View - again HV gives the best view overlooking Cockle Bay Wharf.

Room Tip: Harbour View rooms are the simply the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear 53bob22,

Thank you for your review and sharing your positive experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. It was a delight to read your wonderful feedback and your highlights on our great location, comfortable beds, dining venues and well appointed rooms are much appreciated. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton either for business or leisure when you are next in Sydney, hopefully soon.


Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Although this is a very large hotel it never seemed too crowded or busy. Occasional queues at reception but all staff very friendly and helpful. Room facilities excellent and my harbour view was fabulous. Seafood buffet superb but don't depend on food in the pub as very limited menu. Local restaurants aplenty but quite pricey. The English Shop is just across the bridge and very well stocked!
Went to " worlds largest Imax cinema" in Darling Harbour and it is BIG!!! Easy access to local area and to Sydneys main areas too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear mello68,

Thank you for your review and taking the time to post your views online. I am glad to read that you were very pleased with our fantastic location and we trust that you were able to take advantage of our proximity to many exciting venues and attractions. Thank you also for appreciating our facilities, amazing views and our seafood buffet at our Corn Exchange Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not so distant future.


Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

That's exactly what they tell you when you check into the property, but you won't believe it. It never feels over crowded our busy, but the hotel does take up a city block. Easy located right on Darling Harbor, above the aquarium and right next to the shopping area. It's an easy walk to Chinatown and the main shopping area. Pretty awesome location overall.

The restaurant is pretty expensive, but it seems that most of Sydney is pretty expensive. That said, do consider some of the other local restaurants and cafes. The rooms are also pretty small, even by NYC standard, but very modernly appointed.

Would definitely come back this hotel. The service in the hotel was top notch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Jig1600,

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We appreciate you choosing the Four Points by Sheraton for your recent visit to Sydney and for sharing your insights and impressions on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that overall you had a pleasant stay and that you were delighted with our great location, well-appointed rooms and our service delivery. We do offer several room types, with some rooms bigger in size and hopefully on your next visit to Sydney, you will be able to experience them. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully sometime soon.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour

Address: 161 Sussex St., Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Australia’s largest hotel, Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour with 683 rooms including 17 suites. Located in Sydney’s central business district overlooking Darling Harbour; you will find the major entertainment and shopping districts including Pitt Street Mall, Queen Victoria Building, and Chinatown in close proximity. Ideal for leisure travellers, the hotel offers contemporary dining and a 24-hour fitness centre. All rooms have been refurbished and offer modern furnishings, Wi-Fi internet access, comfortable beds and great views of the city or Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
4 Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour
Four Points Darling Harbour
Four Points Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Four Points
Sydney Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.