We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“management issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Establishment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Establishment Hotel to your Saves list
Establishment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Bridge Lane, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“management issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel itself has very nice decor, and has clearly spent a lot of money on providing little extras for the guests(ipads in the rooms, bvulgari products). We were given a room designed for guests using wheelchairs, it had a shower that was large and leaky, not ideal. We asked for a regular room and they were unable to provide one. We ordered some room service, the food was much better then most room service. We then opted for breakfast using the order form you hang on the door. When we woke up after the food was about 20 minutes late, we called about it they said they were busy it would be another 20 minutes. As we were checking out this obviously didnt work. We had to cancel our order and start our travels starving, having not prepared anything assuming their breakfast system worked. We received no apology let alone compensation for our troubles which doesn't exactly match the obvious higher up attempts at providing a first class stay.
The walls are very very thin (might as well be curtains) and the lights buzz. They provide earplugs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    85
    25
    18
    12
See reviews for
10
152
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The establishment is a very good Sydney hotel, despite being a little difficult to find as it is located down a lane way. I have stayed at the Establishment multiple times for business and have always found the service to be efficient and first class. The rooms are a good size and the turn down service is great with the complimentary cookies and tea. If you are looking for something different in a Sydney hotel the establishment would be recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to be spoilt , indulged and you enjoy the finer things in life ....this is the place for you!
Hemisphere is hedonism at its best... with out peer... there is not one other venue in Australia that can provide five star dining , an array of bars , ambience , opulence, atmosphere and service ...Hemisphere has it all...

The complex also offers accommodation which you would have to rate as something special!!
While Grandma may enjoy the place the crowd is in the main aged 20 to 50 , seriously well dressed and not looking as if they are short of a quid!!
Enjoy a night at Hemisphere ... It is not a mirage the place is the real deal!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I really enjoyed the Establishment Hotel.
The rooms have a different feel to the traditional studio suites, so it takes away the hotel monotony for oft-travellers.
Check in was easy and the room felt incredibly spacious.
The complimentary biscuits and herbal 'pre sleep' tea was a nice touch.
The bathroom was huge, and to touch on a pet topic of mine, the toilet paper was high quality. (I can't believe the number of high priced hotels that go to great lengths to please their guest in terms of service and fit out and then roll out cheap toilet paper.)
The laneway my room overlooked was incredibly noisy at 5am on the first morning I stayed there, but was much quieter the next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Tricky to find in laneway. Parking problematic. Large clean luxurious room. Great bed Forest of incense being burnt in lobby. Would come back. Efficient front desk. Very quiet. Good place to base for city show and dinner

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed here for a week while on vacation in Sydney. I was on the fifth floor. The hotel is a little difficult to find (the main entrance is off of an alley-way). But the location itself is great, centrally located to many of the major sights in Sydney with easy access to Circular Quay and it's trains/buses/ferries. The room was comfortably sized and clean, with lots of sunlight during the day. The bed was soft and comfortable. The (free!) in-room internet was fast and reliable. The bathroom is large, with a full sized and deep tub, and a walk-in shower. There is a small gym in the hotel with somewhat outdated equipment. The employees working at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, giving me solid advice about where to eat and taking care of my needs. The breakfast restaurant was great, and the servers were super helpful. The service in the hotel bars was a little more sketchy, but not so much that it ruined the experience. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We really enjoy the hotel, Great location, near to the rocks, opera house, and a lot of Bars and Restaurants, amazing food. The room were spacious, clean and trendy, the service costumer were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Establishment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Establishment Hotel

Address: 5 Bridge Lane, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#37 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Establishment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel, with a uniquely intimate feel.31 elegantly appointed guest rooms, including two stylish Penthouse suites, access to a private gym and Establishment’s numerous bars and restaurants. Establishment hotel offers world class accommodation for discerning travellers. Located in the middle of Sydney’s CBD, it’s a very short walk to Sydney Harbour, the Opera House and botanical gardens.Voted Best Boutique Hotel Accommodation in Australia by the National Australia Hotel Association in 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Splendia so you can book your Establishment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Establishment Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Establishment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.