We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest of hotels...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Establishment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Establishment Hotel to your Saves list
Establishment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Bridge Lane, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The friendliest of hotels...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Arriving unfresh off a red-eye from Hong Kong we were given an empty room to freshen up in until we could get into ours. A great start, and with none of the attitude displayed by similar boutique hotels worldwide this place is not up its own fundament. Hotel keepers should come here to learn how to give efficient service with a friendly smile.
The rooms are comfy and spacious. The location, if you want to be in central Sydney, is fantastic.
Like all of Sydney it is expensive, and the sound proofing could be improved. But they have the best earplugs for you as compensation.
The attached restaurants and bars are cool and friendly - great Dimsum at Mr Wong.
Who'd want to stay in a giant 5 star when this trendy little gem of a hotel has all the benefits without a six km trudge from lobby to room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    84
    25
    18
    12
See reviews for
10
152
35
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Last night was my first experience staying at the Establishment Hotel, after visiting the restaurant and bar downstairs a number of times before it was nice to be able to stay for the evening. My stay was very pleasant and luxurious and the service was great.
The best part was being able to check out Mr Wong, of which I am still to dine at, hopefully in the coming weeks! My partner and I enjoyed cocktails and a charcuterie plate at Palmer & Co, undoubtedly one of Sydney's most trendy bars.
Overall my experience was very enjoyable and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Beautiful rooms, with original wood floors. Bathrooms are great.
It's just slightly/barely starting to show its age - and needs a little "tightening."
You can hear people in the halls - but that was infrequent.
I didn't stay on a weekend - so the noise level wasn't a problem -- I slept soundly.
They don't have parking - so they suggest other parking lots, which is expensive.
Overall - I'd recommend it -- a nice, sophisticated, relaxing place.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 2nd floor facing south(? -- away from the entrance alley)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After the an extremely tiring festive season my parter and I decided to take a weekend away to the city for some couple time - we chose Establishment Hotel due to its proximity to The Rocks (my partners favourite part of Sydney). Excellent service, beautiful decor and perfect for a romantic weekend. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I Stayed at the hotel for the first 2 days of feb and was quite disappointed. The staff was unfriendly and didn't bother to help with either of our comments until we asked twice ( shower was flooding whole bathroom, and someone was blasting the music in next room till 4 am- turned out to be the owner of the hotel) for the prices they are asking for I would have expected a view other then the back of a building and better service

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days in January. The location is great and the decor nice. We loved the shower and note that concerns in earlier reviews about water running all over the floor must have been addressed.

We had no problems with street noise but the noise between rooms made it feel as though we were in the same room - hearing the couple in the next room having very satisfying sex at midday was interesting; hearing a couple chatting the next morning was a bit unnerving.

The free wifi and use of iPad are nice. The approach to having everything on the iPad needs maintenance, though. It's as if the hotel started off great guns - going to have everything on the iPad but just couldn't sustain it. The room service menu is only on the iPad, there are no movies for purchase anywhere, (not on iPad, not on television, there appeared to be an Apple TV but no remote provided to allow us to access our own account), and the hotel information book is completely out of date. Information should be in one place and should be current - so either on the iPad or in the book but update it.

The front staff all seemed extraordinarily junior - it seemed that they needed a more mature person to just supervise them. Arranging a cab seemed a terrible feat to accomplish.

The incense in the lobby is nauseating, as were the spritzes of fragrance in the elevators. Just don't..

I wouldn't stay here again - it's trying hard but just isn't worth it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezzo, Italy
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We decided to treat ourselves to stay the last few days in Sydney at this This boutique hotel . The entrace is a bit odd in the side alley off George street. The common area a really quite dark and u need a torch to find your way. Elegantly designed our room was quite big around 50 Sm and lovely bathroom with careers marble and Bvlgari bath products. The noise especially at night is a bit of a problem that need to be addressed to. Hemesphere , the bar is pretty cool. Staff and service very friendly and efficient but so it should be at $ 450 per night . Location I prefer to stay in Pott point in future

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Establishment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Establishment Hotel

Address: 5 Bridge Lane, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#37 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Establishment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel, with a uniquely intimate feel.31 elegantly appointed guest rooms, including two stylish Penthouse suites, access to a private gym and Establishment’s numerous bars and restaurants. Establishment hotel offers world class accommodation for discerning travellers. Located in the middle of Sydney’s CBD, it’s a very short walk to Sydney Harbour, the Opera House and botanical gardens.Voted Best Boutique Hotel Accommodation in Australia by the National Australia Hotel Association in 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Establishment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Establishment Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Establishment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.