We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Establishment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Establishment Hotel to your Saves list
Establishment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Bridge Lane, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Burlington, VT
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Exceptional Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

The Establishment is a wonderful property, and arguably embodies everything a boutique hotel should be. Sophisticated, cool, extraordinarily comfortable rooms and very well conceived design. Warm, inviting public spaces, great staff and service and smart touches such as an iPad being provided for guest use during your stay. This place is just super cool, elegant and happening all at the same time. Steps from Circular Quay in the CBD yet tucked away on a quiet little alley, it is a gem in this fabulous city. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    77
    25
    17
    12
See reviews for
10
145
33
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

I had heard the Establishment was good but price and availability for a room in this busy Sydney boutique hotel has always led me to the bigger hotels.

I arrived through the main bar entrance, a bit lost to be honest as there were no signs to the hotel.. I asked the bartender and he actually walked me the whole way through the complex right up to check-in. Getting checked-in was great, lobby is small and luxurious, girls at check-in were great.

On opening my room I was blown away, a large corridor of dark timber flooring led to a small lounge, a desk with free wifi and iPad, along with a Bose surround sound system, good sized bed and a massive mathroom with rainshow, double basin and Bulgari amenities.

A nice touch was the giant cookies on the bed, I indulged in one of those before heading up to Sushi-E for a great solo dining experience having a chat with the guy preparing my sushi.

All round great experience for a fantastic price. I will be back.. when I get a room!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

When planning our month long honeymoon to Australia, being hotel junkies, we wanted a mix of five-star large hotels mixed with trendy luxury boutique hotels. This one was neither...

We actually like the exclusiveness of having to pull into an alleyway to get to the front door. Even the driver said he never can find his way there. At check-in everything seemed okay. When we got to our room, however, it was another story. The room was worn and tired and although we like the whole industrial vibe, it didn't feel like a luxury hotel. The shower leaked heavily onto the bathroom floor and they never brought us extra towels we asked for. During our night's sleep people kept waling in and out of another room and we heard every time the door opened and closed. I think they realize how much they lack in soundproofing because one of the amenities is earplugs. After the first trip up to our room our key stopped working for the elevator and had to get a replacement. The hallways are dark and unkept and the "breakfast" is a joke!!!

As far as the "scene" it is AMAZING!!! The bar gets full by 6pm and you are definitely in a hotspot. We ate at "etc." which was excellent and probably one of our top meals in Australia. We wished the service at the hotel was as good as in the restaurant.

Above all else the price is ridiculous especially for what you get. We later learned from some locals that this is one of the most expensive hotels and is known to not be worth it.

Our suggestion....skip the hotel and have an awesome dinner and drinks in their bars/restaurants!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

This hotel is sensational, once you find the entrance down the back alley. Biscuits at turndown time, tasty as. Rooms are big and beautfiul, Bulgari toiletries demonstrate the elegance that is everything in the Establishment. The cocktail bar up top seductive and relaxing. Only down side was the floorboards in the rooms, particularly after getting home at 2 in the morning and room above decided to do laps of their room in high heels at 7 in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011 via mobile

This is a small boutique hotel above a noisy busy restaurant / club of the same name. The rooms are not soundproofed at all and if one is unlucky enough to land up in a room above the club [as I was initially sleep is totally out of the question ] . Staff are poorly trained and service is poor. I was woken up at 1 am one bight to know if I had ordered room service. Rooms are nice and have all the amenities one wishes. Breakfast is dismal and takes forever to come .

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We have just returned from a ten-day family holiday in Sydney. Our nine night stay at the Establishment really set the most wonderful tone for the trip. The most critical component is the staff ... they are young, fun, personable, and enthusiastic. Their 'can-do' attitude permeates everything that they do to make the guests feel as if they are at home ... there are truly 'no worries', and although they are relaxed and casual, they are incredible professional! Both Sarahs, Alex, Danielle, Bob, Brigitte, and of course the master of coffee Cris all made each day so special, and we appreciate all that they did ... more like seeing friends then hotel staff.

The hotel itself is incredibly well located - in the heart of Sydney, which is extremely easy to navigate (courteous drivers, helpful citizens, etc.). Just a few moments from Circular Quay and the Opera House; at the foot of shops and downtown restaurants; and easy drive to Surry Hills, Potts Point (walkable actually), Bondi, and Manly (the even provided us with beach towels when we hit the ocean!). The rooms are spacious and sumptuous - and unlike many hotels, everything works - easliy! Wifi is great, as are the huge and spa-like bathrooms. There are touch screen controls on the phone - which may seem complicated, but are so intuitive ... you press an icon, and it does what it's supposed to! Flat screen tv's, ipod docking, speakers, neatly concealed power points. The rooms are in excellent condition, beautifully cleaned and maintained. Turn down is lovely, with homemade cookies left for guests. The vibe is totally a-list and clubby, without being stark or cold - rather, warm and inviting. By the way, we had read some reviews about noise in the hotel, and I emailed the front desk to see if they could allay my concerns. They graciously put us on the top floor at the end of the hotel, ensuring silent nights, which was greatly appreciated!

We thought that the hotel was an excellent value - breakfast was lovely in the Gin Garden, and Cris made each morning special. We had the buffet, which was plenty and yummy - from the lattés to the delicious greek yogurt with honey and toasted granola. A great way to refuel after hitting the gym (small but well lit and with everything one would need to get a great workout).

Lastly, my wife and I had dinner at Est on a Saturday evening, while our kids ate at Sushi E (both located in the hotel). The food was stunning, as was the service - we could not have had a more special evening. The staff at Est also had the same friendly but professional and knowledgeable vibe as the hotel. The food was artful, and we enjoyed an incredible and relaxed time. We popped around to the Ivy down the street after dinner, arranged quickly by Hervé, the lovely manager of Est. He also walked our kids back to their room after their sushi dinner - how sweet is that?

I would not stay anywhere else in Sydney, which has few boutique hotels ... most places are monolithic blocks where guests are just a number. At the Establishment, you feel as if you're a 'part' of something. Thanks to the team for making our family holiday the dream that we hoped it would be! Top notch all the way around.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

check in was easy. hotel could be hard to find since you enter through a back alley but our cab driver from airport had no problem. Front desk was helpful, friendly, upbeat. Room, just a regular (only one available) was ok. No views, full bed that was a bit small for the 2 of us. We ate lunch at the restaurant in hotel. it was good and the bar scene at establishment was hopping at night. friday night music was so loud we could hear it in our rooms and it went on till pretty late but I had no problem since I am a good sleeper. In the morning complimentary ear plugs in the bathroom! Breakfast was just ok and expensive so we only ate at the hotel once. Location could not be better for first time trip to sydney. i block from quay where restaurants, sight seeing boats, ferries, and opera house are located. hotel staff was really great and will help with anything so that is a huge plus. just a small little hotel tucked away with a great bar scene. walls are a bit thin so you can hear people coming and going from rooms but really not a problem for us. might try another hotel next time but certainly if you get a good price this location is good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Establishment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Establishment Hotel

Address: 5 Bridge Lane, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#37 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Establishment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel, with a uniquely intimate feel.31 elegantly appointed guest rooms, including two stylish Penthouse suites, access to a private gym and Establishment’s numerous bars and restaurants. Establishment hotel offers world class accommodation for discerning travellers. Located in the middle of Sydney’s CBD, it’s a very short walk to Sydney Harbour, the Opera House and botanical gardens.Voted Best Boutique Hotel Accommodation in Australia by the National Australia Hotel Association in 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Establishment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Establishment Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Establishment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.