We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, paper thin walls. Disappointed for honeymoon.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. George and Quay Streets | Railway Square, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Marque Hotel Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
1 review
“Good location, paper thin walls. Disappointed for honeymoon.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here couple of years back when it was the Marquee. It was really good so I booked my bride and myself in for two weeks for our honeymoon from Perth.

It has since been changed to a rendezvous and looked exactly the same.

After checking in the guy said oh your honeymooners!? Congratulations! Ill just pop up and see if your room is ready.
My new wife and I looked at each other with a smile as we both thought he's checking to see if the bottle of wine or some honeymoon treat has been sorted.
On his return we were given our keys and headed to our room we opens the door and bummer, big bummer.... Nothing special was waiting for us.
We found out later that our room for some reason had already been checked in and he was just checking on it.

The room we were given was ok, king size bed, clean, nice bathroom but the walls are paper thin and you can hear the neighbours conversations and tv.
Would not recommend it for honeymooners or people looking for a good nights sleep.

Location is great tho as its over the road from central station.
Staff are really friendly also.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    336
    135
    48
    34
See reviews for
100
275
65
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The first impression I got entering my very average room was 'is it evening already'. No it was not, but the windows were so dirty light could not get in. The hotel is situated in a busy part of town within China Town. Lots of noise all night, from drunks to traffic. Took 40 minutes to walk to Circle harbour and similar to other locations. Not for the tourist looking for an easy, relaxed hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Less than 300 metres from the Central railway and the interstate buses, the Rendezvous is a medium-sized and medium-priced establishment, recently modernized. Rooms are well appointed and reasonably spacious. Bathrooms are very good with strong overhead showers. It has a good bar and a restaurant open for breakfast & dinner. There's also a rooftop gym and open-air pool. There's a bus stop right on the corner and Chinatown is just up the road. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in the beginning of February this year for one week.
It is in an excellent location opposite Central Station and China Town. The bedrooms are
serviced to a good standard and there is a good breakfast with flexible times. The staff
are very helpful and will even look after your cases if you are too early to check in.
There is a sauna and swimming pool on the roof as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is on the shabby side. First room offered had a leak from the ceiling. We were given another room without any fuss. The beds are Okay. Despite the double glazing it can be noisey but you are in the centre of Sydney. It is very convenient for transport. It is easy to get the train to and from the hotel. Good restaurants can be found in the suburb of Surrey Hiils

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights as part of a mystery weekend deal and thought this hotel was very nice. Reception was cheerful and very helpful, room was very modern and clean (no window in our room on 3rd floor but didn't matter). The only thing was both my partner and I felt the bed, whilst seemingly comfortable, was not good for our backs. The attached restaurant where we ate a buffet breakfast was fantastic. The street front looked a little dirty on one side. Would be nice to see that spruced up. Very close to railway station from the airport.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights over a weekend.

Beds were comfortable, no complaints on the noise.
Extremely convienient, just being outside central station station and a number of bus routes along the major bus route.
Was not that expensive, and for the benefits i would consider it good value.

They even include 3 hours of free wifi per day :D

My hotel room door wasn't working very well for me, locking me out a couple of times. But the staff were happy to help and try to fix the problem.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central

Address: Cnr. George and Quay Streets | Railway Square, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Marque Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Marque Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.