We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, good amenities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Sydney Central to your Saves list
Novotel Sydney Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   169-179 Thomas Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #79 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Lapstone
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, good amenities.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this Novotel and was pleased with the comfort and size of the room. The bathroom was a little cramped but well tiled and a good shower over the bath. I thought that one of the blank walls in the bedroom could have done with a picture though.
There is a lot of building work going on across the road from the front of the hotel and it looks like that will continue for a time yet. The noise was not apparent within our room though, but it did come through into the foyer. The view to Darling Harbour from the hotel will be almost completely blocked by the new building opposite, and there are buildings already in place on both sides of the Novotel, so don't expect any great panaroma from your window.
There is an outdor heated pool on Level 8 which we enjoyed and there is also a gymnasium that we didn't use. The breakfast was excellent and the service pretty good, except that there was quite a queu at checkout on my departure.
The hotel is only a 5 or 6 minute walk to Darling Harbour, and about the same to Sydney Central station. It is also within walking distance to the centre of Sydney, but there are plenty of buses leaving from near the hotel that will take you there.

Room Tip: A room at the 3 top levels of this 18 storey hotel are the only ones with a reasonable view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear ShepLapstone,

Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement and thorough review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Sydney Central. We look forward to your return visit.

Yours Faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    264
    141
    46
    24
See reviews for
202
165
29
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Novetel for a work conference. They have great facilities for a conference. The rooms are comfortable, decent sized and clean. Staff are accommodating and food at the hotel was good. Very close to darling harbour and some great asian restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear aussiesteve83,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We are overjoyed to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,
Danesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leumeah, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here last sunday to enjoy a getaway in Sydney. This is the second time this year that we stayed; both visits were excellent.
The staff are very friendly, personable and helpful.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious (maybe not the shower - could be slightly bigger or not have the soap rack annoyingly close to your side).
Both times we liked the view - there is a lot of construction going on and our 4 and 6 year old boys loved watching the builders at work, especially from the pool.
The location is excellent, a quick walk to Chinatown for a yum cha or a cheap meal and an easy walk or bus ride into the main shopping precincts.
I have already rebooked to stay next week for two nights with another family - this hotel is only 45minutes from my house but it feels like a wonderful escape. Thank you for your hospitality Novotel Sydney Central - and your excellent deals Accor Advantage Plus!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Intrepidexplorer_Mel,

We are glad you & your family enjoyed your stay with us.

You are correct in noting the area is undertaking extensive redevelopment and the area is arguably one of the most exciting sites in Sydney at the moment. Fortunately there is minimal noise impact on our hotel as the works carried out are not loud and the development is only allowed up until 5pm.

As you may have noticed we also have a Kids corner with a lot of fun stuff and am sure your 4 & 6 year old boys will love spending time there too.

Your feedback about the friendly & helpful staff has been shared with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you for the top marks.

Kind regards, Danesh Bamji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here by mistake actually, thinking I had booked a different Novotel, so really I stuffed up here!

HOWEVER, the service was terrible. Got sent to the worng room on check-in (had paid for a better room and knew it was wrong as there was no balcony) and the staff said I must have made a mistake. Luckily I have my email confirmation handy on my iphone so that fixed that.

The hotel was undergoing renovations at the time so it was very noisy. The interior was very drab and I believe if they are going to do that the rates should drop considerably.

Horrible experience.

Although.... the rooftop spa and pool were good. Simplistic but lots of fun to relax in at night time.

Location was ok. Close to the station.

Room Tip: ALWAYS have your booking confirmation handy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here at late notice, and it had just opened as Novotel.

Flew in from LAX and dropped bag off at 8am. I was impressed they had a room ready for me!

Breakfast was good & fair value, especially if you have Accor Advantage Plus.

Room was nice. Was on top floor. not really any view on my side of the building.

Bed was OK - for a work trip I was happy with all this as I wasnt spending much time in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear OzBJM,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Danesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a recent business trip to Sydney.

I have stayed here a couple of times before when it was the Citigate and watched the quality slide between visits - grubby walls in the rooms, cracks on walls etc. I was keen to see if the expected quality of a Novotel facility had been passed on since their acquired it recently.

The answer: Sort of. The service from the front desk was excellent and rooms and foyer have been tidied up since my last visit but it still lacked the Novotel polish. That being said, the price was very reasonable so i guess you get what you pay for. The bathroom was very awkward due to its small size but other than that, it was very comfortable.

Breakfast will lighten your wallet by a ridiculous $29 - Unless you plan on eating your body weight in bacon, I would suggest finding one of the cafes close by. Try the Bella Ciao Cafe. Its on the same street, just across Quay street tucked in behind the newsagent - 60 second walk from the front door of the hotel - Good hearty food and well priced.

Apart from the extortionate breaky options, the overall experience was very pleasant - fix that and it would be in my top Sydney hotel options for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Address: 169-179 Thomas Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.