We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney Central

Save Saved
You added Novotel Sydney Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   169-179 Thomas Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Eden, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable & good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stated to be under renovation but provided no inconvenience to us. Location suited us well and Room was more than adequate. If going to Sydney would utilise again. Was close to City provided Parking and had comfortable atmosphere

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citigate_Central_Syd, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi SJN342,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on your visit. Refurbishment is well underway and we can already see some exciting new changes happening.

Look out for a whole new look on your next visit!

warm regards,
Danesh Bamji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    192
    110
    31
    20
See reviews for
160
114
23
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good location to all amentities such as resturants and fast food shops. It is within walk to China Town, Darling Harbour and Queen Victoria Building. All day parking fee is reasonable for AUD$28 with multiple entry and exit. However, wi-fi fee is too expensive which AUD$11 per hour. Room are big and clean and beds are comfortable and big enough for 2 adults and 2 children. The staff are niceand helpful. The check-in and out service is efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citigate_Central_Syd, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear charlottetse,

Thank you for your review, please feel free to ask our friendly staff for some tips on nearby attractions during your next visit. There are so many things to see and do, and many are conveniently located within walking distance or are only a short trip away.

Warm regards,
Danesh Bamji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Accommodation and breakfast was great.

Rooms were clean and had no road noise, which was great compared to the last hotel we stayed in sydney at.

The hotel was within three blocks of darling harbour and central station. we were able to walk everywhere which was great.

Was just round the corner from our favourite cafe, cafe Aroma. Always have lunch there when we are in Sydney.

Miscommunication with parking and the cost of wi fi. Hotel sorted out the parking for us so we were happy.

definitely good value and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for wedding anniversary, received an upgrade upon mentioning this also received a bottle of wine, Amanda made us feel welcolme and special, thank you. The room was adequate the bed very comfortable. The location to explore Sydney is excellent situated at the most southern end of the cbd but only 3 min walk to the main railway station called Central. The staff were excellent my upgraded room was on the 13th floor and looked recently refurbished. I would recommend this hotel for a base to explore Sydney from.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Deluxe room over the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Booked this motel as it was Novotel very dissapointing paid $315.00 per night for a King room. The condition of the room was very poor, bathroom had broken tiles, the bottom of the bath had the enamal broken, the door was rotting. The carpet was stained. Was not told that the motel was under renovations. The foyer smelled very bad, dont know what they mop the floors with it stinks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Check in at 1500 on the 18/4/2013 was horrible... a half hour wait in a long queue! No particular care as to accor advantage membership. I had booked an executive room and was told when handed the room key card that there were views to Darling Harbour. The view was of the building next door on the wrong side to the water. Next morning I phoned to ask whether I could have an hour extension before check out. The response was to be rudely told that yes this was possible but I would be charged an extra $20 on the room rate. Why bother being an accor member! The hotel is extremely tired although undergoing renovations which I was unaware of at time of booking. Overall there are better places to stay with much more friendly and helpful reception staff.

Room Tip: Stay else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Being a Le Club Accorhotels member and staying in multiple Novotel and affiliated hotels, I thought I found a great deal when I booked 3 nights at Novotel Central in March 2013. Travelling to the hotel from the domestic terminal of Sydney Airport via Airbus ($26 return), I had to specify Citigate as most airport transfers still refer to this hotel as Citigate Central and NOT Novotel central.

After a worry-free and pretty much uneventful check-in at 11am, I opened the door to my room and had a Sheldon from Big Bang Theory "Apparently, I was wrong" moment. It seriously doesn't look half as good as it does on the hotel website. It really is a little "too tired" and way too dirty to be carrying the Novotel name, not that Novotel is the pinnacle of luxury hotels but seriously, this is almost like dragging its name in the dirt.

My room was 1424, its had great views...of the balconies of the apartment block next door. The TV cabinets was in bad shape and the rust and mould spots in the toilets were pretty inviting.

The only positive aspect of staying at Novotel central is its great location. Being in the Haymarket/Ultimo area it was just a stones throw away from the city and all its buzz and yet equidistant to the hip and happening Surry Hills (Gelato Messina, Porteno, Cafe Mint, Reuben Hills etc) and only a minute from Central train station so really no complaints about the location, it was brilliant. Great coffee nearby the hotel can be found at Mecca Espresso and Knights Coffee and Tea, just if you're wondering.

All in All, this hotel needs to be refurbished, thoroughly. A great location, let down by the state of the hotel, where the age is very evident

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Address: 169-179 Thomas Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.