We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Sydney Central to your Saves list
Novotel Sydney Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   169-179 Thomas Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #79 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at the Citigate about 3 months ago.
Im an accor staff member and this hotel is not worth even the $80 a night discounted!
The reception staff were unfriendly, and didnt say good afternoon just kind of blew us off, like we went even paying to stay there!
The breakfast buffet was unclean and food was pretty cold even though the attendant told me that the burners were on.
The Bar staff however were friendly, and helpful of places to go out around the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    264
    141
    46
    24
See reviews for
203
165
29
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Citigate was very central location in Sydney. It was within walking distance to the busses.
Chinatown was just down the road and was very convenient to us as the tram goes past there to the Casino.
George Street is just up the road, so busses are easy to get to wherever you want to go to.
Central train station is just accross the road from George Street busses, so easy to get to where ever you are
Helpful staff at reception as it was Chinese New Year Celebrations, they handed out information that was very useful.
All the basics were in the room and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Did not have the best view looking into another building, so ask for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

After arriving at our hotel we checked in and went off to our room only to be bitterly disappointed, when I booked the description said harbour views newly renovated room on top floor of hotel, that's certainly not even close to what we got, level 8, double bed, dirty and old shower, after going for a walk to explore the city I decided to complain, so glad we did, upgraded to level 18. King size bed and harbour views, but of course that came at a price too! There is a construction site across the road and I understand this it not the hotels fault but it was very frustrating, construction went on all day and night, 3am in the morning we were woken to loud talking men and cranes and lots of banging needless to say we weren't impressed! I probably wouldn't stay here again it's not exactly a convenient location but its within walking distance to the harbour.
Go for king room at the back of the hotel if your going to stay soon!

Room Tip: King room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've stayed here with my family a few times and attended as conference venue this week. It's in a great central location within walking distance to chinatown, george st, darling harbour, paddy markets, powerhouse museum....Also the monrail and lightrail are just down the street and allow you to easily travel around to the sights. Large parking facilities on site, nice pool and restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just checked in at Novotel Central (Citigate). It would be a nice enjoyable stay but was ruined by a very rude female staff at front desk. I was waiting in line to be served. When it was my turn, I approached the desk but was intercepted by a taxi driver who requested the staff to call for a guest. Ok, I patiently waited for her to call the guest. No answer. Second try, still no answer. She informed the taxi driver. Then suddenly she packed her things and just left the front desk. Without a single word to me (who during her attempt to call the guest for taxi, was actually standing right in front of her), she just left. What the...? Oh by the way, I'm not petite so obviously she couldn't just missed not seeing me. That was not the welcome I was hoping for. Accor will need to do refurbishment of the staff as well to bring this hotel to its well known standard. I thank you for the other female staff, Melissa, who checked me in and who repeatedly apologised on behalf of her rude colleague. Overall, the room of this hotel is spacious and clean. Yes, it needs a face lift but for me personally, is still acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

In a good location a short walk from Darling Harbour, Chinatown & Central Station. The rooms are a good size, comfortable and clean but could do with an upgrade as the carpets are pretty stained and the bathrooms need updating.
The swimming pool is excellent and the availability of rooms with 2 double beds makes it great for families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is easy to find if you are driving there. Virtually down the road from central station, 5 min walk, I love the location when going to the Olympic park Arena for concerts. . 2 mins walk to china town and Entertainment centre. Easy parking station, staff were very nice and helpful. The rooms are ok , I was upgraded to King suite as my room wasnt ready (that was great) .Open air heated pool was warm and spa was relaxing. I have stay here before, I went back, so It must mean that I liked it. Breakfast in the morning had a good selection..only thing it was only warm, not hot. Overall pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Address: 169-179 Thomas Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.