We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a weekend off!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #20 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a weekend off!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great hotel, great location, fantastic views from level 36, the tasting menu at Altitude Restaurant was great (the wines too) - friendly staff - great weekend! And if you have time... The CHI SPA was fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,082
    938
    351
    159
    89
See reviews for
470
1,790
189
609
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,053)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Another masterpiece from Shangri-La!

I stayed at the Four Seasons before, and I was unimpressed with the drab, poorly lit lobby. While not bang on George Street, the hotel is an easy walk to Circular Quay and George Street - it is also well lit and welcoming!

The staff, as you'd expect, are extremely friendly and always happy to help you. Interestingly, I actually paid for the base size room at the Shangri-La, and got more room than a 'larger' room at the Four Seasons! Very impressed! As usual, the buffet breakfast was spectacular. Can't fault it.

Highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Sydney, for any purpose. It blows the Four Seasons to pieces on many fronts and should be seriously considered! It was honestly a shame I was only able to stay for one night!

Room Tip: I'd recommend a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Disappointing view—had to climb the window sill to see the Opera House—not like the panoramic view for same standard room on the webpage. Dirty windows, damaged bar cabinet, worn hand-towels. No gesture to acknowledge our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: If you are paying extra for rooms with a view, obtain reassurance that the allocated room is as per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a deluxe grand harbor view room. It was spacious, luxurious, clean, well appointed and I loved that plug adaptors were built into the outlets. The view was so spectacular that we were tempted to spend time in our room instead of exploring. The service was wonderful and the breakfasts were fantastic (best hash browns ever). The location was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at the Sydney Shangri-La Hotel this past January. The room was not special and was only slightly above average but we had an absolutely breathtaking view of the harbor, opera house and harbor bridge. It was a very nice location at the Rocks and very close to the Opera house, contemporary arts museum, great shopping and harbor tours. The can't miss is the Horizon Club at the Shangri-La. The staffing, food, service and view was all fabulous at the Horizon Club. They have 3 or 4 different food servings a day and they are all excellent and you could eat all your meals at this club. It is well worth the extra cost and is one of the best hotel clubs I have ever visited. Overall, I would give the Shangri-La a B- and absent the wonderful Horizon Club the rating would have been much lower.

Room Tip: Horizon Club is a must as is a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The Shangri-La Hotel is everything you imagine. Excellent service, large luxurious comfortable clean rooms and stunning views of Sydney Harbour.
However, the lifts constantly whizz up and down, sounding like an express train in the middle of the building. It is at it's worst in the evening when visitors go to the Bar on the 36th floor. No room can escape the noise. Good earplugs are required if you are sensitive to noise.
We really liked this hotel but would not stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Have just spent a couple of days at the Shangri-La Hotel in Sydney. Very nice hotel in a fantastic location. Beautiful view of Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House from our room. Spacious suite with a lovely marble bathroom. Bed was very comfortable with a pillow menu. Can highly recommend the Chi Spa within the hotel. I had the Refining Body Toner, a 90 minute treatment which would have to be one of the best treatments I have ever had. Staff in the Cafe Mix (all day dining restaurant), were alway very friendly and their buffet breakfast was first rate, great selection with freshly cooked eggs, waffles and pancakes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.