We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, but what about the Elevator noise?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sydney Package
Ranked #19 of 183 Hotels in Sydney
Neath
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, but what about the Elevator noise?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The Shangri-La Hotel is everything you imagine. Excellent service, large luxurious comfortable clean rooms and stunning views of Sydney Harbour.
However, the lifts constantly whizz up and down, sounding like an express train in the middle of the building. It is at it's worst in the evening when visitors go to the Bar on the 36th floor. No room can escape the noise. Good earplugs are required if you are sensitive to noise.
We really liked this hotel but would not stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,837
    826
    297
    137
    82
See reviews for
410
1,548
176
549
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (901)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Have just spent a couple of days at the Shangri-La Hotel in Sydney. Very nice hotel in a fantastic location. Beautiful view of Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House from our room. Spacious suite with a lovely marble bathroom. Bed was very comfortable with a pillow menu. Can highly recommend the Chi Spa within the hotel. I had the Refining Body Toner, a 90 minute treatment which would have to be one of the best treatments I have ever had. Staff in the Cafe Mix (all day dining restaurant), were alway very friendly and their buffet breakfast was first rate, great selection with freshly cooked eggs, waffles and pancakes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days for a work trip I won. Located super close to the Opera House, just a 5 minute walk. It was FANTASTIC, yet expensive! $20 USD for a Bloody Mary in the lobby bar! But, you just couldn't beat the view! Each time we walked into our room, we saw the Opera House. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for the Opera House view. Spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights in Sydney and it was a very good experience. The rooms are larger compared to other 5 star hotels. The food is good but not great. Its very close to opera house and you may just walk upto there. There are couple of bars near by and they were decent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I had the worst checkin experience at the Shangri-La. We checked in well after the 3pm checkin time and had to wait over an hour for our room. The rest of the experience was very good but started badly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarp, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Spacious room and bath, very clean, photos on homepage give a good impression.
Quiet room, every day new spring water (1bottle per person).
Had breakfast with our arrangement: one of the best buffet breakfat I ever had.
On Arrival they offered us to have both rooms twin beds (booking was 1 king and 1 twin room) and new room should be ready soon. Actually the room was even after 7 hours not ready. Good Troubleshooting by front desk: Gave us an other twin on a different floor within 15 min uand arranged baggage Transfer.
Enjoyed minivan tranfer from and to airport arranged by concierge, too.

Room Tip: Had Harbour Bridge / Opera / Circular Quay View, for tourists highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas, Chile
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Nice, sober, great attention, clean, great room, comfortable bed, excellent location just minutes walking to the Opera house, Isolated from outside noise, good food. I was lucky with the view also. Is an excellent option in Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Escapio, Amex, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.