We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad checkin experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #20 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad checkin experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I had the worst checkin experience at the Shangri-La. We checked in well after the 3pm checkin time and had to wait over an hour for our room. The rest of the experience was very good but started badly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,126
    956
    353
    162
    90
See reviews for
476
1,834
191
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,076)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarp, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Spacious room and bath, very clean, photos on homepage give a good impression.
Quiet room, every day new spring water (1bottle per person).
Had breakfast with our arrangement: one of the best buffet breakfat I ever had.
On Arrival they offered us to have both rooms twin beds (booking was 1 king and 1 twin room) and new room should be ready soon. Actually the room was even after 7 hours not ready. Good Troubleshooting by front desk: Gave us an other twin on a different floor within 15 min uand arranged baggage Transfer.
Enjoyed minivan tranfer from and to airport arranged by concierge, too.

Room Tip: Had Harbour Bridge / Opera / Circular Quay View, for tourists highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas, Chile
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Nice, sober, great attention, clean, great room, comfortable bed, excellent location just minutes walking to the Opera house, Isolated from outside noise, good food. I was lucky with the view also. Is an excellent option in Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I went here with my partner last year and I have to say from the minute i walked into the reception you can tell its a very classy hotel. All staff where amazing & well mannered. We had a good few cocktails on the 36 floor, Blu Bar. Slightly pricey, however the view & staff compromised the value.

Would recommend to all as its an amazing experience and well worth doing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The first thing you see checking into the room is the amazing view! So of course that would never let you down. Our room was serviced everyday perfect. I could not fault. Having a small child we didn't want to disrupt too many guests, but they made us feel very welcome on our arrival.
The service is amazing!! Could not fault one bit. Everything we asked for we received straight away!
We ordered our son room service and she had explained it would be 30minutes, 15 minutes later she had turned up! It was so fast!

Thank you to the wonderful team here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have stayed at many Shangri-la Hotels in Asia, but this was our first stay in the Sydney property. Unfortunately, this property is nowhere near the standard of its Asian counterparts.

The good:
Great location for the iconic landmarks in Sydney;
Very friendly and helpful staff;
Views are magnificent;
Comfortable rooms.

The bad:
The Horizon Club is oversold. It is small and uncomfortable. Food offerings are small in number and poor in quality. Food ran out very quickly and they were very slow to replace it, particularly during the afternoon tea session. The staff did not cope with the numbers in the club and the set out of the food station resulted in guests lining up beind each other in a very cramped space. Not at all pleasurable.

Breakfast in the Café Mix was a shemozzle. OMG, I have never experienced anything like it. Way too many people for the number of staff. Service was inconsistent. Buffet style of standard fare is served - nothing special. Couldn't wait to get out of there. On the Saturday morning there was a cue a mile long waiting for a table. To accommodate guests on the Sunday morning, they had to open up one of the adjoining banquet rooms and set up another buffet station in the public area outside the restaurant.

We booked our room on the Chi Spa Package. We called a week before our arrival to make bookings but they could only offer ridiculous times like 10.00 am in the morning or 8.00 pm at night. No afternoon times available during our 3 day stay. Consequently we couldn't use our Spa credits included in our Package. I relayed the issue to the staff person at the Horizon Club at check-out. Her response was let me know it was a wonderful spa and we must come back to try it!!!

The ugly:
Upon arriving back home, I realised I left a Ralph Lauren polo shirt behind, hanging on the back of the bathroom door. I called the hotel and the person I spoke with said she would check with all staff who entered the room during our stay. I explained that wasn't necessary as they only needed to check with the staff who cleaned our room after our departure. Two follow up phone calls and told the same 'we're investigating response'. On both occasions, I was told someone would call me back - no one has called back after nearly a month.
On the Saturday night we returned to our room (around 8.00 pm) and as the lifts opened on our floor, there was a woman lying on the floor screaming profanities at a man as he was screaming similar profanities at her. She was screaming about why he wouldn't #$%^ her! Not great for our kids to see and hear. They were that loud we could hear it after we entered our room. I ended up calling Security.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the harbour bridge view rooms. The "City/Opera House" views are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a night last weekend. After few days I found that they have taken out 18 dollars from my credit card without informing me, so raised the issue with them. They actually charged me for Lemonde which I never used. But they trusted me and refunded me back the money. Other wise hotel and its service was good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.