We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay at Shangri-La” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #19 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb stay at Shangri-La”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very good location, close to circular quay with superb views of Opera house and Harbour. Rooms are are spacious and comfortable. Horizon lounge offers great service and iconic views. Staff are all so helpful. Superb hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,148
    963
    356
    163
    90
See reviews for
483
1,852
192
621
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,086)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights, both for my birthday and for work.
The customer service was exceptional and the room was cleaned twice a day. I would not hesitate recommending this amazing hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lovely hotel, staff were all extremely helpful and friendly, facilities first rate. My Wife and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We made use of the Horizon Club during our stay which we highly recommend - the breakfast and evening drinks and food were first rate - and the view - out past Sydney Heads was magnificent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I recently spent 5 nights here again, February 2014, my previous stay was 3 nights in 2013. I was in room 2909, which is spacious and has a 180 degree northerly view. (Executive King Grand Harbour View). I ate at the cafe, and had room service 2 nights. My room was always clean and lovely, bath nice and deep, the bed is comfy, it was at night- not much lift noise (sounds like the building breathing) and didn't hear adjoining rooms.
All the staff I met were great from check-in, room service, turn-down, room cleaning, room service, valet, cafe staff, guys out the front. I hope I haven't forgotten anyone. Location is fabulous, I walked around The Rocks and Circular Quay/Opera House. I walked daily to my conference in Liverpool St (near Chinatown), the hill coming back to the hotel is a good workout (come in through the back door= bit less climbing). Looking forward to my next visit, my son wants to come so twin rooms will be reviewed .
Minuses- very few- missing a knob in the bathroom; doona cover had a hole one time; missed one veg order in room service (had too much anyway); nothing I complained about at the time.
I have never eaten breakfast there- I heard it was too pricey- there is a cafe with rosellas that steal your sugar sachet a very short walk to Circular Quay.

Room Tip: My room was 2909, Executive (meaning floors 25 to 29) King (bed) Grand Harbour View= the northerly 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

awesome room. We stayed in the opera house view and it was amazing. Staff are excellent and breakfast was delicious. The only down fall about the Shangri La is its location. Having to climb the hill was not ideal but the room and view made it well worth the money A+++

Room Tip: mattress was a bit hard for my liking but the pillows made up for this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for five nights with my husband in a horizon club room. The view from our room was spectacular and the room itself was well appointed with a fab bathroom.
The club level was worth it as the snacks in the club room were more than acceptable for breakfast and we enjoyed afternoon tea and pre dinner drinks before going out in the evening.
I would be more than happy to stay again if I get a chance to revisit Sydney.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with easy walks to the wharf, ferries, opera house, bridge climb etc. Food was super expensive...room service hamburger $32 and a coke for $6! Room was lovely and bed comfy. Staff and concierge exceptional!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.