We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great service and you can't beat that view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #19 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great room, great service and you can't beat that view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a Executive Harbour view suite for 3 nights for our family. Worked well as we had the kids in the pull out sofa bed in the lounge room and we had our own room, so coudl close the door when they went to bed.

The facilities are excellent along with the people and the service in this property is outstanding, the staff in the executive lounge went the extra mile, especially with out children

A great 3 day break away

Room Tip: Must have a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,146
    962
    356
    162
    90
See reviews for
482
1,850
192
621
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,085)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a great experience at the Shangri La in Sydney. It has the EXTREMELY modern and clean feel of a fancy Asian hotel but very reasonable rates for the hotels of its category.
It is well-located right in The Rocks- can walk easily to the harbor, shopping, etc.
The breakfast buffet is incredible (all kinds of exotic fruits, order your own omelet- one of the largest spreads that we have seen in our travels around the world).
Our room had the harbor view which is spectacular!
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful at the front desk. At the end of our trip, we were in a hurry to leave and didn't have time for lunch but had extra hotel credits from AMEX so room service even prepared us "rush" lunch boxes to take with us to the airport that used up our credit.
This would be a great hotel for a business or pleasure visit and we would definitely come back on another visit.

Room Tip: we thought the harbor view was truly stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We arrived about 7.30 am and were warmly greeted and ushered to reception and within 5 minutes were in our room, our luggage arriving a few minutes later. A pleasant surprise coming off a long-haul flight. We stayed for 8 nights in a Deluxe Grand Harbour View room and were given a high floor with wonderful views of the Opera House and harbour Bridge. We spent a fair amount of time during our stay just sitting by the window drinking in the view! For us, the location was great, being a 5 minute downhill walk to the harbour. This equated to a 10 minute uphill return though!
The hotel was exceptionally well appointed, with the fresh floral arrangements being enjoyed by my wife. We sometimes used the lounge coffee bar for a quiet start to the day rather than the main breakfast room. Overall we had a wonderful stay and were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: We certainly enjoyed the views from our Deluxe Grand Harbour room so would recommend going for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Highly recommended, great views,service had a great time. From arrival to departure there was not one flaw. Would go back there again definitely. Our suite was massive with the most beautiful views of Sydney Harbour.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Being located on the hill above The Rocks gives this hotel perhaps the best views of all Sydney hotels. It also means a steep walk up from the ferry wharves - unless you are sneaky enough to find your way through the Four Seasons and Quay West using their elevators to emerge at the back entrance to the Shangri-La!
Be sure to get a room on a higher level facing the main harbour - it's a postcard picture that is easy to watch for hours at a time. We stayed on the club level which was great for seamless check in and check out; the club lounge itself is perhaps a little small and understaffed so that at peak times there may not be a table - particularly if you want a windowside one; and the food supplies are on the lowish side. If you are hungry , perhaps sacrifice the view and try Cafe Mix on the lower floor which has a bigger variety of food.
The rooms are large enough with very comfortable beds and bathroom had a separate shower and full sized bath with high quality amenities.
Service is high standard as expected at a Shangri-La, albeit with a lower staff-guest ratio than in the Asian branches.
If you are a first time visitor to Sydney, or simply addicted to the magnificent harbour, this is the place for you to stay

Room Tip: Grand harbour view rooms are simply breathtaking - if that's out reach, the more intimate opera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a conference with about 200 pax at the hotel. I pre booked 8 guests for 3 nights each. I guaranteed the rooms using my credit card.

We arrived early knowing check I would not be ready. I specifically made myself known to checkin staff as I was starting my full day's activities and I wanted my wife to be able to check in before I got back. The girl said that would be no problem. My wife arrived and the lady at check in asked her to pay the 3 nights in advance and a deposit.

My wife told her our conversation and that I had guaranteed 24 nights accommodation. After sometime the lady said a she would take $300 deposit but we could only have access to the room for 1 night unless I came and paid the bill in advance. Sure enough on day 2 our keys were shut off!!

I was furious. Lo the customer relations manager sent us some fruit but it was very little and only after I complained.

Next on check out the bell boy made me carry my own bags from the storage room.....

Finally - that deposit / swipe my wife paid, well instead of reversing it they double charged us $1500. So wno my wife is out of pocket $1500 on top of what I paid.....

Spoke to Karen the duty manager... no "I'm terribly sorry Mr XYZ", instead all i got was, "may I check things out and take you number then call you back".

Other than that, the rooms are getting quite dated and not worth the $$$$. The view is spectacular of course....

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL IF YOU WANT GOOD SERVICE

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArpadRomandy, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear DaveMelbourne2010,

We thank you for your patience in the resolution of your concerns and we look forward to restoring your confidence in our hotel when you visit us again.

Best regards,

Arpad Romandy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a favorite hotel of business travelers. The staff is courteous and seems to look for ways to help. The rooms are very nice with most having a great view of the city or harbor. Yes, it is expensive, but not significantly more than other hotels with less to offer. My one pet peeve after staying at this hotel several times is the front desk staff. For some reason, they are not nearly as skilled (trained?) as the rest of the staff. My guess is that they take the new people and put them to work on the front desk. Unfortunately, the hotels strong service culture does not seem to thrive here. During my most recent stay, we had a problem with the water temperature in our bathroom (careening from scalding hot to ice cold without any reason). The front desk promised to solve the problem, but it only got worse with our stay. Raising this with the front desk staff earned a sympathetic ear, but no initiative to take care of the problem. We have had similar incidents in the past, and the common thread appears to be the unwillingness or inability of the front desk to solve problems. Will have to think about a possible stay there on my next trip, but will for sure look at alternatives.

Room Tip: Get a full harbor view room if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.