We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was just perfect :-)))” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Everything was just perfect :-)))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had 2 awesome days in Sydney and the Shangri-la Hotel, everything was just perfect :-))) We enjoyed the stunnig view of our room (2609), the perfect location and the friendliness of the whole staff. When we will get back to Sydney for sure we will chose this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,934
    865
    319
    144
    84
See reviews for
430
1,627
181
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (957)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location and amazing views. We chose a room overlooking the iconic Sydney Harbour. The view from our hotel room was simply stunning. The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous especially the people at the reception. They made our check-in and check out really smooth. The room service was great and so was the food. Definitely going back. Its a total value for money..

Room Tip: Carry a good camera as the views are stunning...Rest is taken care of :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Loved every thing about it. Great romantic night out. Food, staff and customer service was unreal. Topped off a great holiday! The room was all value for money, with dinning all close and the views awesome. Late check out is a must on any stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was the first time I had stayed at the Shangri-la and I found it to be a great experience. The service and support by all the staff was excellent. I found all of them to be very helpful, courteous and keen to assist.

They went a long to making my stay a really good experience. The Hotel has a great feel about it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had a stunning view of the bridge and the opera house.
Jaw droppingly beautiful.

This alone merits a five star!

After an overnight flight arrived early. Room was not ready so had to wait for couple of hours but was given access to the gym to take a shower.

Check in was pleasant with a nice Korean staff. Who tried to be very accommodating and offered the aforementioned gym which was a nice touch.

Location is terrific as it is so close to the harbor bridge rocks area and the opera house.

The room itself was not spectacular and was showing some signs of age but was in good working condition.

Come for the view. Get the right view and the view alone makes the shangrila a great choice.

I have stayed in several other Sydney properties like the intercontinental, the westin and the Sheraton but the shangrila's view is hard to beat. Stay here for the view.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The leek
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for nights and the view was definitely a wow! We blew the budget on a grand deluxe harbour view room. I think you paid more for the view than the room, although have to say I have never slept as well in a hotel bed as I did this one. Hotel is lovely, stay charming and helpful. Didnt eat here but did use the Blu Bar which has the most stunning views, however difficult to see the cocktail menu as they dont put any lights on at night which I can appreciate as you wouldnt be able to appreciate the view at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as part of an Australia break. Booked the Shangri La as we have stayed with this chain in so many locations. It certainly did not disappoint.
It is in a fantastic location for all of Sydney's attractions and must see locations.
The view of the harbour from the club lounge is phenomenal, with views of the opera house and bridge.
The bedrooms (stayed in a club room), are very spacious, clean and have plentiful quality amenities. Housekeeping do an excellent job and are very efficient. We also had a fantastic view of the harbour.
Breakfast really sets you up for the day, and the club benefits in the lounge of a tea time are great. Staff are really polite, friendly and helpful. Nothing is to much trouble.
Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if we return to Australia it would have to be the Shangri La again.
The naval fleet review was underway whilst we were there, which we hadn't known about when we booked, but this was a real bonus to enhance our Australia experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.