We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sydney Package
Ranked #17 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best view of Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was AMAZING! We stayed in an executive grand harbour view suite that gave us the best views of both the harbour bridge and opera house. Just make sure that you ask to be put on a higher level. We were initially put on level 7 were the views were terrible - you were on level with the highway and that was all you could see. However, the staff were more than helpful and rectified the problem immediately.

The room was very spacious and the bathroom was probably one of the best I've seen - well equipped with top notch amenities and again, very spacious - about the same size of the bedroom itself, if not bigger. The bath tub is at level with the window which gave a panoramic view of the city.

Bed was very comfortable - felt like I was sleeping on a cloud.

Room service was of very high quality - the food was on par with what you would get at a restaurant.

Overall a very memorable and enjoyable stay. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,676
    759
    267
    128
    79
See reviews for
374
1414
168
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Shangri-La and enjoyed all aspects of the stay. The views from the room were as described when booked and were spectacular. The room was tastefully furnished and very comfortable with the bed being incredibly so. All of the linen was of a very high standard. Staff were faultless in the consistency and quality of their service, ensuring that we have come away with wonderful memories and the intention to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed for our 10th annivesary and will remember sensational staff, wonderful room / location and facilities. A truly delightful experience at every level. Again, amazing staff made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed in a deluxe harbour view room which gave a wonderful view of both the bridge and the opera house. The room itself was fabulous, very large with a great bathroom and plenty of storage space to complement the view!
The real advantage this hotel has is the staff. The wonderful bar team gave us tips and ideas on things to do and see and local pubs and the front of house team were always really helpful on restaurants and bookings.
We only ate in on a couple of nights and the food in the 1st floor restaurant is fine, not fine dining but you can book at Altitude on the 36th floor if that is more your scene.
Just one word of warning - it is a pretty steep climb up to the hotel entrance (it is a few streets back from the Rocks). This does give the hotel an advantage in that it is nice and quiet but if you are (like me) not particularly fit it can be a bit of a hike!

Room Tip: The harbour view rooms are really worth it - upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A dream trip and a half marathon run along the bridge. Beautiful weather and nice central hotel for a once in a lifetime trip. I wish they changed up the food a bit in the club room, but not the worst thing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Having contacted the hotel prior to our stay, to ensure that we would not be disappointed with the room view, we were thrilled with our rooms which overlooked Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. As requested, we were given adjacent rooms for our family of four.

The rooms are comfortable and good quality - but not brash in the way that some newer hotels can be. The pool and gym are both good.

Breakfast in Cafe Mix was excellent, and we enjoyed a few drinks in the Bar on the Ground Floor. The concierge desk was very helpful.

My husband's birthday fell during our stay, and having booked a table at Altitude, we were thrilled to be given a small private room off the main Restaurant, fully glazed, with stunning views over the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. The staff looked after us wonderfully, and made the celebration extra special. The food was good too!

The position of the hotel was excellent, and although it is a steep walk from the main street, it would not be an issue for most people. I would love to stay here again - budget permitting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were so impressed with the view of Sydney harbour, the service was first class and the staff could not been more helpful and the rooms were first class, the bed was so soft we slept well.
full marks we will be back.


Room Tip: go as high as you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.