We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sydney Package
Ranked #17 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Cairns, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Most Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for ten days at the start of August. We splurged out and booked a Horizon Premier Grand Harbour Room (3313). The 270 degree view from the room was fantastic and we spent many an hour just looking out the window at all the other buildings, Harbour Bridge, The Opera House, Circular Quay etc, etc. Colin (Head Concierge) was great at suggesting and booking various tours. We loved having breakfast in Cafe Mix every morning with a vast selection of things to eat. The Chef cooked up some great omelets and pancakes and Michael and the staff looked after us very well. The Horizon Club was well worth it to go to for a cup of tea or coffee with various cakes, have a cool drink and relax with a great view from the 30th floor. It is a bit of a climb from George Street but I suggest walking into the foyer of the Four Seasons Hotel, take lift to 3rd level, walk out rear door, cross street into Quay West Hotel, lift up to main level, walk out front door and cross street and enter Shangrila rear door near Gift shop.

When we return to Sydney next time we would stay at the Shangrila.

Room Tip: If you can afford it try to get a room as high as possible and a room ending with xx13 and the Horiz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,943 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,697
    768
    269
    128
    81
See reviews for
380
1426
169
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed in a Horizon Club Premier Room level. The room was beautiful, absolutely spotlessly clean with plush fittings and a magnificent bathroom.

I asked for a special room and given the absolutely best one in the building.

The view of Sydney was to die for.

The staff could not be faulted. They treated me like a king.

The room was very quiet. Absolutely no other guest noises. Very private. Exactly what I wanted.

I am already planning my next trip to this hotel.

Room Tip: The high up rooms (mine was a King Premier Horizon) ending in "13" offer a full harbour v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had a number of issues, none of which were ever even addressed by the hotel staff during my four day stay. Hotel rooms are nice, Shangri-la price but overall less than average service, food and facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArpadRomandy, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear gregcmorley,

We have received your feedback from our online questionnaire and we are currently investigating the details of your stay. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

Best regards,

Arpad Romandy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I hadn't stayed here for probably a year or so until last night, arrived quite late and was greeted at check-in by a friendly smile. The room was an upgrade to a city view king room with a great view of the Opera House and Circular Quay. Just as with every stay I have had here the staff were awesome, the room was great, comfortable bed, large bathroom with seperate tub and quality amenities. Love this hotel!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view and the staff usually make an effort to find you one if there's one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Wow ! What an AMAZING hotel it is. We booked a Grand Harbour Room on Level 33 and also access to the Horizon Club. The views from Room and Club (level 30) are just stunning. We loved waking up to the sun over the Opera house and going to sleep with lights on the Harbour bridge. The Club is open all day and it's like a sanctuary for quick drink. The brekky buffet is just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Booked a horizon premier grand harbour room, and well it was fabulous. The views were literally amazing of both the bridge and opera house. Couldn't have wanted anything better from a room and having the horizon club next door was great.

Stayed in club levels rooms in Bangkok, Hong Kong and Taipei and this was by far the best.

However, went down to Cafe Mix for brekky dressed as a tourist as we were on holiday from the uk, and was ignored by the the guy cooking eggs for about ages whilst he chopped his veggies. Finally ordered 2 poached eggs but was then made to wait whilst he took an order for an omelette from a smartly dressed guy he addressed with 'yes sir, or course sir' etc etc. The omelette was ready and served to the chap before I got my poached eggs, which by that time were akin to concrete, plus the rest of my cooked breakfast which I had collected whilst waiting for the eggs was cold.

A clear indication of 2 levels of service, which was disappointing as I had read about the so called great levels of service provided by this hotel. Complained as you do and got an apology from a chap called Ajay and an email on my return but put a downside on our stay which was part of our honeymoon.

If you stay here dressed as a tourist as we were, don't expect the same levels of service as if on business despite paying top dollar.

Tough choice on whether we would go back as the room was fabbo. Maybe if in the club rooms, don't stray away from the club for brekky.

Room Tip: Get the grand harbour room everytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I'm a big fan of Asian hotels and airlines and the Shangri-La Sydney didn't disappoint, the hotel is located on in the Central Business District and looks over the Rocks area of Sydney and the Harbor.
Recommend staying here...

They also have a great bar on the top floor - don't miss it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.