We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the greats!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sydney Package
Ranked #17 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Gandia, Spain
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“One of the greats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in which I have ever stayed. Rated five star (should be 5* de luxe!) it offers the very best in accomadation, service and food. Free high speed wifi is available in room (top marks for this - it should be standard everywhere!) the staff are wonderful and I cannot recommend it highly enough. We have stayed here for five days and each day has been a pleasure. Not cheap but worth every cent for a very special visit. Also has a pool and jacuzzi, beauty shop and hairdresser. There are only two downsides, one was the prices charged in the beauty shop which I believe is a separate entity from the hotel. To have her nails styled and repainted my wife was charged over £75 and the task took almost three hours. In Spain she has this done in less than an hour for just £12. I think this is a total rip off! If you need a beauty treatment I would recommend you try elsewhere. Caveat emptor.
The second is that the hotel is situated at the top of a very steep hill and up numerous steps. not a problem if you are young and fit but if like me you are in a wheelchair quite a large problem. There is a second entrance which is currently closed for renovation which would help a bit when reopened but you still need to go up the hill. If you are older or infirm I would recommend a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,676
    759
    267
    128
    79
See reviews for
374
1414
168
497
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for a conference and were first given a room that was on the 9th floor overlooking a very busy toll road. After expressing our concern to the front desk about the constant noise we were moved to a higher floor on the same side of the building. We could see out to Darling Harbor and there was much less noise from the road. The hotel is convenient to Circular Quay however it is a uphill climb to get back to the hotel. The views from the 36th floor bar were amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in the Shangri- la Sydney for three nights. We had an excellent view from our hotel bedroom overlooking the opera house - amazing. The room was spacious and serviced to a high standard every day. The breakfast had a wide range of food to suit every nationality. The staff were very attentive and pleasant, willing to cater to your every wish. An excellent spot for sightseeing but, be warned only of you are able bodied, as it is on a height and there are many steps/slops to encounter to get to the opera house etc. an overall fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: A great location but only if you are fit and able bodied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location in the Rocks district, however unfortunately does not have the quality of customer service that you would expect for that price level.

When we arrived, it was a long check in process, mainly because the front desk staff helping us did not explain anything correctly, nor could we understand anything that she was saying. We were never told when placing the reservation that we would have to put down the entire amount for our stay PLUS an additional $300. If we were told this upon booking, then I would have had no problem. However we were not, and I feel that that is something that should be established when your reservation was made.

Once all that was over, she simply said that check in was not until 3pm (we arrived at 11am) and that was that. I have no idea why they asked when we made our booking what time we would be arriving if they were going to make no effort whatsoever to have the room ready for when we said we would be arriving. Even an attempt from them to make it up a bit faster would have been nice, but all we were told was "check in is at 3pm".

After dropping our bags off, we had no other choice but to walk around for 4 hours waiting for our room. A couple of hours in we decided to call to check how the room was coming and if it would be much longer, and we were told the room would be ready in "some time". Because we had no idea what "some time" meant, we walked further. Only 30 mins later we were called saying our room was ready. To say the least, we were not very happy because now we were about an hour away from the hotel, and had they told us when we called that it wouldn't be much longer, we would have headed back then!

After a not so happy beginning, we were given a beautiful room with an amazing view of the Sydney Harbour/Opera House. It was just unfortunate that their level of customer service is that low for such a high quality hotel. Especially with the high price that their customers are paying at that hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location for walking to your sight seeing, to the ferrys and a little bit of a walk over to Darling Harbour, but not too bad.

Overall, it was a beautiful hotel, but we were disappointed with the level of customer service that was provided.

Room Tip: Go for the Sydney Harbour view! It is amazing to sit on the bench and look out onto the opera house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for four days on a workation (work trip with signtseeing). Wonderful views of Circular Quay. We had a Horizon Club room, which was nice. The club room is great to meet with others, especially if you are traveling with friends. Coctails only in the evenings along with some snacks. It is nice but I am not sure it is worth the extra expense. I would probably have preferred a larger room not on the horizon level. Otherwise the room was comfortable and quiet other than the occassional horn from one of the boats. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever had. Great selection and quality. Be prepared as it is about $42pp.

Location is great. Short walk to most of the sights. Rocks area is interesting and of course the opera house. You can easily catch the harbor ferry to lots of places. Lots of bars and restaurants around. It is a great walking city anyway so easy to get around. Overall, an expensive but great choice in Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

While the room was nice and the views were good, it was not what we expected. The front desk process was unbelievably slow and not very helpful. The concierge was also not very helpful as he was too busy helping a low level celebrity. The shower ceiling was also peeling. The spa was nice. I would just go to dinner an drinks here for the views on the 36th floor and stay elsewhere. It wasn't worth the money. It's a shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have recently stayed in Sydney. The customer service and attention to detail given was outstanding. The cleanliness of the room was immaculate. The staff could not do enough to make our stay comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.