We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Suite at the Shangri-La Sydney Australia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #19 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Royal Suite at the Shangri-La Sydney Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Shangri-La Sydney a number of times and our favourite rooms have always been the Horizon club rooms ending in xx13. UNTIL NOW. Now we just want 3411.
The Shangri-La has become somewhat of a home away from home for us. Although we are from Sydney we love staying at the Shangri-La and we love dining at the Park Hyatt. Several times during the year there are marvelous things on in Sydney (Vivid, Handa Opera, or our birthdays or anniversary) and so we treat ourselves. We are small business people and don't have the time to take holidays but these breaks make up for it.
This time, on arrival at the horizon check in, we were upgraded. We were nervous because we love our particular room style, but......
WOW!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k4myaCR50wc

Have a look!
Nothing can beat that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,150
    963
    357
    164
    90
See reviews for
484
1,855
192
621
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here twice in February, marking either side of a trip to New Zealand. Both stays, we had no problems being checked in early, and were even given an upgraded room on our second visit. The views from the room were spectacular - I was immediately sharing pictures of the Opera House and the Harbour Bridge - taken from my room!
Accommodation anywhere in Sydney is expensive, but it was definitely worth it given the views and proximity to the Harbour. We loved touring through the Rocks area.
The rooms were spacious and clean, but we were particular fans of the breakfast that was included. The buffet-style meal included anything we could want and we found ourselves returning for more corn cakes, fresh fruit and yogurt parfaits. Delicious!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Shangri-La at the Rocks in Sydney a couple of times now for business.

The rooms are lovely, and plenty large enough. The beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms are spotless. I stayed in a room with a view of the Opera House, and it was stunning. The location is handy, only about a 5 minute walk or so to The Rocks. However, if you a little unfit, the walk back might be difficult as it is quite hilly.

The service is wonderful, and the staff are only too happy to help with any request.

The buffet breakfast is good, there is a wide selection of food. The Horizon Club is good value too, free afternoon tea, canapes and drinks all day.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else next time I visit Sydney.

Room Tip: The Horizon Club rooms ending in xx13 are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed at the Shangri La for 3 days in May. It was not cheap, but neither is anything in Sydney. The service was excellent - I arrived from the US at around 7am and I was able to check right in. Housekeeping service was impeccable. The room was very large, elegant and well-appointed, bathroom was terrific, huge tub, nice shower, and the view of the harbor was fantastic. (unfortunately i got a lower floor because of early check in, but still pretty awesome). The concierge was very helpful in making sure I knew where I was going as I toured around, and always gave me extra bottles of water as I set out each day. I really felt taken care of. The gym was also very nice with good equipment, chilled towels, and the works. The location just can't be beat - it was the perfect home base for seeing all of the iconic landmarks of Sydney as well as a quick walk to the ferry system that will get you just about anywhere. The only criticisms I have about the place were that the windows were dirty which really detracted from the view, especially when you pay for the view, and the elevators which were very temperamental and slow - at certain points over the weekend, there were lines of people waiting for the elevators which was tiresome after a long day. I think this has a bit to do with the bar on the 36th floor which apparently is a tourist spot for sunsets. I understand that, but it was annoying to be a guest and have to wait 20 mins for an elevator to my room because of it. In the end, I would highly recommend this hotel and would book here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Shangri-La at the Rocks in Sydney for business. I was there for 4 nights and had a very pleasant stay. My room had a great view of the Opera House and harbour and was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spotless with great pressure on the shower. My only criticism was the quilt was a little thin but perhaps they had not changed over to winter quilts yet. Great service in the restaurants and bar. I used Bar Blu on 36th floor twice and had a great meal at the Altitude restaurant.
If you book directly on their website make sure you book a refundable rate. I originally booked about 8 weeks out at $330 per night and then a week out from my stay I checked their website again and managed to secure the same room for $250 per night so I cancelled my original booking with no penalty.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand the room you are getting, Harbour view vs Opera view vs Darling Harbour vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Shangri-La twice now and its the only hotel i would consider for a special occasion such as an anniversary or Birthday.
The staff are very attentive, the location is fantastic (5 mins walk to The Rocks and The Quay) and the rooms are awesome. Fantastic views of either Opera house and Quay or The Quay.
Beautiful marble bathrooms, comfy bed and breakfast is excellent too (if not a little busy on Sunday mornings).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed the for 3 nights for a business trip. Staff did their outmost to make it easy. Got a (very) early check-in without fee. Good credit for Golden Circle. Great bat at the top. Forget the food at the restaurant first floor. Ok but nothing special. laundry was ok and on time, nice place although a bit far away from the action. Not sure would go thereof a private basis but can only recommend it.

Room Tip: Get on view on the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.