We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views marred by appalling service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #21 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stunning views marred by appalling service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stay regularly at this hotel and am a Golden Circle member. The 13-number rooms (e.g. 1213, 1513) offer exceptional space and full Sydney Harbour views (from the Heads, to the Opera House, over to the Sydney Harbour Bridge). When I was there on a business trip in April 2013, I had ordered an in-room breakfast for 6.00-6.15am. I had a car picking me up at 7.00am. So I decided that I would have a slow breakfast, then a shower and then check out. 6.15 arrives - no breakfast. I ring in-room dining and am told "it's on its way now". 6:25 arrives - still no breakfast (and still now shower as I don't know when the food will arrive). I ring in-room dining to be told "it's on its way". Food arrives at 6.35. It's cold. I have to bolt some of it down, then have a shower and was late leaving the hotel for my appointments. I think there are insufficient staff to service their morning breakfast round. I decided not to go back for my next trip to Sydney in May but went to the Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Choose the 13-numbered rooms (e.g. 1213, 1513, 2013). Ask for a high floor. They're not cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,417
    1,052
    388
    178
    97
See reviews for
547
2,053
217
697
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our room was large, but a bit "tired". Everything was clean and in working order. The bed was very comfortable and the view from our room, 1918, on the 19th floor was superb - looking out over Circular Quay and the Opera House.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the breakfast, albeit expensive, is worth paying for. The food choice is enormous and the quality is very good. Fill your boots and skip lunch!
Overall we were very pleasantly surprised by the Shangri La, Sydney. Happy to go back anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights when leaving a cruise ship. I had told them when booking that this trip was for a special birthday for my husband, on arriving at reception at 8am was very impressed to find not only was our room ready but we had been upgraded. As it was raining hard we decided to wait in for our luggage to arrive, but instead of the luggage after an hour we had 4 people walk into the room who said they had been given the room so obviously had a key. It took the bell boy some time to sort out the mess and then sort our bags. Not very professional!!
Later that day management sent up a birthday cake and a bottle of champagne, we drank the champagne but left some of the cake. The dirty glasses and cake sat in the room for 3 days even though we rang down and requested that they be moved.
We had various other problems with the housekeeping staff leaving dirty cleaning cloth's in the bathroom and them taking my husbands shoes for cleaning. the shoes were not returned for 30 hours until we got the manager to speak to them because we were waiting to go out and had a dinner reservation in a special restaraunt for our last night.
The room and the view were lovely, but things need looking at in the housekeeping department.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel if you cannot walk up hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our first experience at the Shangri-La and what a lovely experience. Our corner room on the 32nd floor (Premier Grand) with Club access was large and comfortable with spectacular views of all that makes Sydney. We checked in early morning and went up to the Club lounge to have a bite to each and drink while our room was being prepared. Celebrating a special occasion, we were given complimentary cake and champagne.
I cannot commend the staff highly enough, they were magnificent. Nothing was a problem, anything that we enquired about was dealt with promptly.
Evening drinks and canapes in the Club were the best we've had. A special mention goes to Shane - and his great cocktail mixes. Breakfast in Mix was very good - again the service stood out for us.
The pool and spa were also a treat.
This was by far the best 5 star service we've experienced in any hotel. It was well worth the investment.

Room Tip: Invest a little extra for Club access, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl Beach NSW
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Bit dated, but overall excellent value, great view, and horizon club staff excellent. Only downside, poor quality of 'champagne' and wine in horizon club ' and hot food not always hot. Best bed i have had in an Australian hotel. Did not want to leave it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Booked through their own website, pretty easy transaction and can claim Malaysian Airlines FF points which is nice.

Booked a harbour view room which we got on the 12th floor, amazing views right over Circular Quay to the opera house.

Room was large, well kept and modern. The TV didn't work properly which was fixed and then broke again. We reported it and it was fixed and worked for the remainder of our days there.

Location is at the back end of Sydney near the Rocks district which is close to the Harbour Bridge and the Harbour, can be at the train station in 5mins of walking. If walking back to the hotel from George St be mindful of the large hill you have to go up, can be a struggle.

Would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Despite arriving very early we were given a room immediately. We had opted for a cheaper room overlooking Darling Harbour. It was spotlessly clean, spacious and well appointed. The bathroom had the best shower in any hotel I have stayed at. Several have complained about the view but I feel that is very nit picking as you have to go to the window and look down to see the road to the bridge and toll. From the bed or a chair it was a pleasant view over water and into the distance rare in a city hotel. room facilities were excellent, all worked and free wifi.
The lounge bar and cafe are excellent and a cheap choice for breakfast. If breakfast is not included in your say it is a better option as the breakfast option is a silly price per person clearly designed for business accounts.
The Altitude restaurant is outstanding with fabulous food and one of the worlds most iconic views. A treat you must do but you will need to book online well before you go if you want to choose the time. Expensive but worth every penny or dollar. The adjacent cocktail bar is always busy also with amazing views and superb cocktails.
The swimming pool/gym complex on floor two is very good with a pleasant outdoor area. Sadly the gardens by the cafe are often ruined by the presence of too many smokers.
The location of the hotel is brilliant with easy walking to all the major attractions despite the uphill bit on the return just at the end. staff were excellent and the concierge service in particular being extremely helpful.
This is a busy hotel with lots of functions but it still manages to be a great base for tourists. It will seem expensive but that merely reflects the Australian dollar at the moment and that is true of all eating out etc at the moment anywhere in Australia cities and hotspots.
I would not hesitate to stop here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
0.4 mi away
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#15 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.