We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Extraordinary in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a problem (see my other reviews) with the Hotel we were to stay in this weekend in April for my mothers birthday. So I contacted American Express who managed to find me a suite at the Shangri La in Sydney. When I am staying for family gatherings we always book a suite as it enables us to have a private meeting place and for our elderly parents to take leave of us as they please and we can continue catching up in the living room.
What follows is not the experience most will get of this hotel as there is only one room like the one we stayed in but nonetheless what follows is an indicator of the Hotel generally and will give pointers on location, service, food, ambience etc.
The Shangrila Sydney is a real find. Its tucked away in the Rocks area but on a hill so that its high which makes its harbour views even more special. Suffice to say it looks over, the Park Hyatt, Quay West, the Four Seasons, the Langham and the Marriott so the views stretch further than other hotels.
So we arrived and the lobby is nice but not outrageous like some hotels, Nicely scented though. Reception took me to guest relations as I was flagged as a special guest apparently. The lovely Carmen at Guest Relations advised that as I was celebrating my mothers birthday they were pleased to upgrade me to the Royal Suite. This was an upgrade 5 room categories above what I had booked and in fact the best suite in the Hotel on the top floor.
As I said not everyone will experience this but it was truly amazing. My apartment at home is nice but this 'Penthouse' in the sky way above Sydney Harbour was something else altogther. It was twice as big as my apartment and the furnishings were luxurious and the rooms, all 9 of them, expansive. The living room had the most extraordinary view of the harbour bridge, opera house and right through to Sydney heads. the living room had a grand piano and fire place in it but it was the view that was most amazing. We watched at dawn on Saturday as the MV Ooosterdam came through Sydney Heads and finally some time later berthed at Circular Quay. If you like watching hustle and bustle of a city from on high this is the place and not just the suite but any room facing the Harbour would give you the same view.
The bathrooms in the suite were nicely stocked with good towelling and toiletries (Bulgari in the Royal Suite and L Occitane in the normal rooms). Turn down was efficient and unobtrusive with water left and a nice touch with a bookmark left on the bed.
Room servce was good and reasonably priced including the wine list. I got a bottle of a favourite red wine of mine for only a bit more than two and a half times what you might pay in a liquor store which gven the usual mark up on room service wines is amazing. Room service food was generous and the dinner excellent. Breakfast was very good but dinner was way above most Hotel Room service.
Every staff member you met was just excellent. Caring, courteous and happy to be there for you.
I got to see a normal room during my stay and I can add that they are well appointed and luxurious and large. The bathrooms are great too in the normal rooms and the views just the same as the Royal Suite.
On checkout the staff were just as welcoming as when I checked in and I was wished a pleasant onward journey by Kerrin the duty manager.
So whilst views, decor, food can make a great hotel what makes an extraordinary one are the people who make you feel like you are staying in their home and not their workplace and that is what this extraordinary hotel specialises in. Stay there you will be amazed.

Room Tip: All rooms have great harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,931
    864
    319
    143
    83
See reviews for
428
1,624
181
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (953)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our anniversary and the premier harbour view rooms have to have the best views in Sydney! Great to watch the sunrise.

The room was immaculately presented except for the windows which had some smears on them.

The beds and pillows are quite soft and the a/c was quite noisy.

It's definitely worth heading up to Blu Bar on 36 in the hotel to watch the sunset. Best to get there right on 5:00pm to get the best seats as they don't take bookings and it fills up quickly.

Overall, a great place to stay which is close to everything in Sydney.



Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Overall a nice hotel, good amenities, well equipped gym. Only spent one night so didn't use very much. The room itself was a disappointment. We had booked a harbour/Opera House view to start our vacation but they had interpreted that in the loosest possible way. We overlooked an elevated highway, Circular Quay and, on the far left of the window, the Opera House. None of the rest of the harbour. Not what we were expecting for the money we paid nor the description we were given. They should have said 'partial' harbour view and an 'oblique' view of the Opera House, no view of the bridge. Not very photogenic, even if the window was clean, which it wasn't. Just beware when you book a room with a view.

Room Tip: Be specific about the view you think you are paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent one week in early March. Good beds, quiet air conditioning, helpful staff. Wotuld stay again.Free wifi. Only negatives expensive meals, showing a bit of wear. Found restaurants for
inexpensive $14. breakfast just down the hill. Central to everything.

Room Tip: Choose a view of the opera house, 15th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here in February for my birthday with my family and friends, booked one room then another on a separate booking once we found out more people were coming, the concierge was more than happy to upgrade the smaller room so that we could be on the same floor. View was just awesome and for a one bedroom place the room was huge. Definitely recommend for anyone looking for a luxury stay in the rocks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a very enjoyable long weekend here in March. The property is up to the standard of the other Shangri-La properties we have stayed at and our room was meticulously clean. Staff were very helpful on what was a very busy Saturday (there were obviously a lot of weddings going on).

The only caveat is that if you don't pay for an opera house view you won't catch even a glimpse of that side of the harbour. Also the buffet breakfast cost is extortionate.

We really enjoyed a few cocktails at the busy Altitude cocktail bar as it has spectacular views.

Room Tip: We had a Darling Harbour view room on lvl 13. It's not the most attractive view. If you want the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Rcently stayed at this Hotel for 1 night.

The reception was pleasant and efficientand our room was immaculately turned out and in fact looked from The Bridge over the Opera House and down the harbour on the 27th floor. The view was spectacular and certainly had the "WOW" factor. The service was impressive and faultless. All promises were kept and exceeded.

We paid for breakfast, which was a little bit of a let down as we got down to breakfast about 9.00am and a lot of items had not been topped up and when they were replaced/toopped up they were taken again very quickly and left empty again for a while. After such impressive service the service here was a small disappointment, but the breakfast was still very nice.

Want a room with a view and great service (but not that cheap) stay here and its so close to great restaurants etc

Room Tip: The rooms generally are cheaper looking over Darling Harbour, but you pay for the best view in the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.