We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Sydney!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #21 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Sydney!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed recently and were delighted with the service and quality of the Hotel. We were on the 16th floor and had a gorgeous room which looked out to the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House! We also had cocktails up on the 36th floor which I highly recommend :)

We will back again very soon :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,432
    1,061
    388
    178
    97
See reviews for
552
2,066
218
701
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and hopefully not our last!!. This hotel is in a perfect location at the Rocks with the rooms offering unsurpassed views of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. We opted for the Horizon Club rooms which are perfect. They have their own reception on the 30th floor and the Club Lounge offers breakfast, coffee/tea facilities all day, afternoon tea and drinks and canapés in the evening. This was a fantastic chance to chat to other guests and to have a place to go to relax, all with an amazing view!
The service was impeccable. The rooms were very well appointed and comfortable, although if we were to pick fault the rooms could maybe do with a bit of updating and redecoration (something we believe is planned), other than that an excellent stay in a vibrant and lovely city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Situated near The Rocks, we had access to everything and easy walk to Circular Quay. Service was wonderful from check in to check out. We were promptly greeted and bags delivered. Cold water and towels were nice touches near the front door. Nightly turn down service included fresh towels and lovely amenities. Had a nice view of harbour with pillowed window seats. Bathroom was beautiful with exceptional glass shower. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Amazing view, good location, nice staff, clean and big room, what more do u need!
It was my second time, the first time was January 2012 and it was fantastic.
One of the best hotels in Sydney!!
And The club lounge was icing on the cake!

Room Tip: Get the corner room with a view of both the harbour bridge and the opera house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I were traveling to Sydney for the first time and decided to stay for our five nights at Shangri-La Hotel. We are very pleased with our choice and had a great experience.
Our room had a very nice, soft bed, the room was cozy and clean, we also had a great view on the Sydney Opera House. The room was very quite and noise proof.
The food in the hotel was expensive but very good.
Every concierge that we spoke to in the hotel was very polite, knowledgeable and enthusiastic.
Overal had a great stay, would totally recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed there in Jan this year. We upgraded to club rooms for $30 a person per night. This was superb value for money. The rooms were superb. The view was the best in Sydney, overlooking the bridge and opera house from our bedroom.
The club lounge served breakfast, light lunch, afternoon tea, and evening snacks and drinks throughout the day.
When we visit Sydney again, we will stay in Shangri la. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gomersal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel over the New Year . It has superb views over Sydney Harbour bridge. The service is excellent and the rooms are big and clean .There is a good choice of restaurants and a large bar at the top of the Hotel again with super views. The breakfast is excellent with a huge choice . The Bar at the top is open to non residents and is extremely popular with locals . This means that residents often do not get seating. Priority should be given to staying guests --this makes sense !!

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the Harbour bridge side at higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
0.4 mi away
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#15 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.