We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sydney Package
Ranked #17 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My family have stayed in this hotel on 3 occasions and we loved it every time. The rooms are beautiful, service excellent and it just has a lovely overall ambience. It is one of the few hotels in Sydney that is relatively easy to book with children online. Most others say that you need 2 rooms for a family of 4.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,907 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,675
    758
    267
    128
    79
See reviews for
374
1412
167
497
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed at the Shangri-La for 4 nights in February. This was a business trip and the Shangri-la catered very nicely to my needs. The Hotel is very modern looking inside even though it must be an older hotel. They have kept it well-updated. The breakfast buffet is quite extensive. I think they must provide something for just about everyone. It's not inexpensive though. The breakfast buffet runs about $40US. The location is perfect. You can walk down to the harbor, opera house and Botanical gargens. The room and bath were both very nice and clean. I would definitely stay there again. The only thing I didn't like is that the front entrance area has a very strong flowery perfume smell. I didn't care for the scent and don't understand why they use it so strongly.

Room Tip: View facing the harbor and opera house is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Like any other city Sydney has its gems. This is one of them. The rooms at the Shangri La have the best views of the harbor . The rooms are spacious and overlook the bridge and the Opera house. Most hotel rooms just look at one of them and do not have the full view.
The prices are not over the top either. Service does not make you feel special but is much nicer than the 4 seasons.

Room Tip: Prem harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our 2nd visit to Shangri-La Sydney at the Horizon Club. Once again service was excellent, brilliant location, spacious room - Darling Harbour view watching ships roll in, along with all those lovely bathroom components. It is worth the extra for the free drinks & canapes plus the more relaxing breakfast on 30th floor or just pop in for a tea/coffee. Overall a great hotel for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Shangri la in Sydney. The location near the Darling harbor is perfect for tourists. Great views from the spacious room. Wonderful restaurant on the top perfectly managed by an Italian director. A special appreciation to all the staff of the hotel. I certainly would reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis mo
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel was fabulous - spacious room, huge marble bath, excellent service and a location within walking distance of the Harbor Bridge, Opera House, quays, First Fleet Park, the Rocks - everything that you want to see in Sydney! The staff is super nice and accommodating and I recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1809, which was an upgrade to a harbor view - we had a fabulous view of the harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Overall, our stay at the Shangri-La Sydney was fantastic. After arriving from a 24-hour flight early in the morning (11:00 am) we were pleased to hear they had a room ready for us. The front desk staff was warm and welcoming, congratulating us on our honeymoon. All of our luggage was handled for us by the bellman and arrived promptly to our room.
We were given an amazing room with spectacular views of the Opera House, and the room had everything we needed. It was spacious, great bathroom amenities, full min-bar and lots of closet space. We requested extra hangers and they were delivered within minutes.
The location can't be beat, as the hotel is within a few minutes walk to the Opera House, Darling Harbour and the major shopping district.
Overall, a wonderful stay - I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for 5 star accommodations in the heart of Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.