We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sydney Package
Ranked #19 of 183 Hotels in Sydney
Matcham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri-La recently and had a very pleasant stay. The service and food were good, but the views from our room of the harbor where just fantastic. This hotel is well located for tourists to have a look around Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,831
    826
    297
    137
    82
See reviews for
409
1,545
176
548
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Located in the Rocks in Sydney, so you are in walking distance to EVERYTHING. The selection of pubs near by is also incredible! Old historic ones like The Lord Nelson or funky ones like the Argyle!!!

Hotel is clean but wifi speed was average.

Room service is always over priced, but I was baffled that they were charging $14.00 for a bowl of chips and $30.00 for a slightly larger than mini pizza!!

The bar on the 36th floor has unique and delicious cocktails. They are expensive but worth it when you have the best view of Sydney to look at while sipping them!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights, excellent service and nice room as to be expected for this chain. Staff was always helpful. Room had was on the 28th floor with an OK view of Sydney Opera Hall and Harbour. Free wifi was a real bonus and worked well. Bathroom was really nice. Good storage space, nice & comfortable king size bed.

Location for business not quite as good as the nearby Four Seasons. But, overall nicer hotel than Four Seasons. Breakfast is also a lot better at Shangri-La than the Four Seasons (had both during my stay). Restaurant and bar up on the top floor (36th) is really nice!

Only thing I didn't like was the fact the pool was indoor. Preference really.

Room Tip: high floor with Opera and Bridge few is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great location for most of the key things in Sydney, very helpful and friendly staff. Good sized room with amazing views. The restaurant was excellent but a bit pricey. The only thing that could improve the hotel and score it 5 is if it had an outdoor pool. Breakfast is very over priced so would recommend eating out for breakfast if it isn't included in the stay

Room Tip: Ask for an Oprah house view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nothing can prepare you - except maybe having done it before - for the extraordinary view of the harbour from the upper floors, Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House included. We loved our room, which was spacious, light, very well equipped and, quite a rarity, had loads of hanging space and storage. There was a large desk as well as a dressing table and a generous window seat the length of the room.
We found this hotel very unusual for the complete absence of interaction with its clients. Once we had checked in, that was that. Not even a breakfast menu on the pillow (no loss whatsoever, because once I saw the price, I knew there was no way we would be eating breakfast at the hotel!). The convenient exit, if you are walking, and we were throughout our stay, is on the lower ground level where there is no staff presence. Housekeeping is so discreet we only saw someone once, as we were leaving.
Having mentioned the price of breakfast, at $44 the highest ever in my experience, I should say that prices for the (well stocked) minibar and room service were much more in line with expectations and seemed reasonable for the standard of this hotel.
The Rocks area is a great location for good places to eat, shopping, access to Circular Quay and the ferries if you are fully mobile. Otherwise, as other posters have mentioned, the steps and slopes in this area would make life difficult.

Room Tip: No need to book a Horizon Club room, views from lower floors (we were on 21) are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We were due to stay here in January but had such hassle trying to get room information that we swapped to the langham. Decided to go for a drink here at the shangri la and went up to the blu bar. It was 6.30 and a Monday night but we could not get a seat in the lounge. Sat at the tiny bar area and eventually got served by a rude and offhand staff member. Tiny glass of wine in cheap glassware. The view was stunning though! Felt like a tourist trap more like going up the eureka tower! No 5 star feel to the hotel common areas, cold, clinical and corporate. Also tricky location which was difficult to walk to from the rocks. Would think carefully if choosing this one as it would suit business rather than leisure. Dissapointing........

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is located in the historic Rocks area of Sydney.There are many small cafes and restaurants all at a short distance from the hotel.
We traveled during winters and the lobby was very warm and inviting. Checkin was smooth and The concierge was very helpful and recommended really nice dinner and breakfast places during our stay there.Rooms are slightly old style but very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Venere, Otel, Escapio, Amex, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.