We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #20 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is located in the historic Rocks area of Sydney.There are many small cafes and restaurants all at a short distance from the hotel.
We traveled during winters and the lobby was very warm and inviting. Checkin was smooth and The concierge was very helpful and recommended really nice dinner and breakfast places during our stay there.Rooms are slightly old style but very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,432
    1,063
    389
    178
    97
See reviews for
554
2,067
218
701
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've stayed in Sydney lots of times over the years, and a lot of chain hotels are good to average. This was my first stay at the Shangri La. Other reviews suggested that staff were inattentive but I didn't find this to be the case. By the way, I booked it via Expedia because I got a better price than booking via the hotels web site, despite their best price pledge. I opted for a Horizon Club Room which costs more, but you get free refreshments, booze and breakfast plus a huge lounge on 30th floor. Check in was smooth, and done on 30th floor, although you have to get the Concierge to give you key card access to it. The rooms were very clean, well stocked with toiletries and towels, and very quiet. Views of Circular Quay were very good. The bed was very comfortable with huge marshmallow feather pillows. Evening canapés on 30th floor were great, and drinks were served at the table by the staff. Breakfast was either Continental on 30th floor or a full English in the Cafe Mix on 1st floor. I went for the full English. This restaurant is a Buffett and a bit crowded, but the food was excellent. The only thing guests might need to know is that it's a long walk up and down steep hills to get back to the hotel, so use taxis if you have mobility problems.

Room Tip: Choose an opera house view room unless you want to look at skyscrapers and a motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Booked this hotel through Trailfinders so did not know much about it other than it was in the rocks area. Nice enough hotel but as we had two people in our party with mobility issues, this hotel was not for us. Rocks area is quite steep and this hotel was at the top, so this meant that we had to get taxi's everywhere even for very short journeys. Taxi drivers were not always that impressed at such a short trip!!!! I liked staying in the rocks area itself though.

Majority of staff were very friendly, especially Phil the concierge who was extremely helpful in booking restaurants and arranging transport. Well done!!

Breakfast not very exciting for this standard of hotel. In particular the fruit some days was not very good. Not ripe or over ripe. This is very basic to get right.

Rooms were good and comfy, although the pillows were extremely hard. We did have a lovely view of the harbour.

A few members of our group had issues with the laundry service, with things being lost. Three of our items were lost in the laundry and I made about 5 phone calls concerning this, each time being asked to describe what was missing. There seemed to be no follow up even though I had spoken to the manager and each time described the missing items. Even on our last morning I rang and left a message for the laundry manager to see if they had turned up and received a message on the phone when I returned from breakfast asking for their description - again! At that point I gave up.

Overall we had an enjoyable time at the hotel, but think at this standard there are better options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spent 3 nights here, the hotel is in a great spot and the staff were very good! The room was to a very good standard. The food prices are very high, but the food was good but not up to the standard of the KL Shangri-La.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Have had fantastic experiences with Shangri-la Hotels in the past (particularly Dubai, Hong Kong, Muscat, all of which are exceptional). This was still good but underwhelming. Lots of hidden charges (used to paying crazy prices for breakfast and room service but this is the highest I have ever seen), service variable, key cards don't work, service at odd times (knocking on the door at 9am on boxing day to clean the room?), etc. Location is a bit of a pain in you are going back and forth to meetings in CBD (there is a steep hill). Overall not the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I just checked out if Astral residences at the star casino. We moved from a 2 bedroom apartment to a room for 5. It was awful at the Astral residences, staff were rude..housekeeping was crap..Shangri la sydney is a life saver..totally diffrent experience this is 5 star. Nothing bad to say...staff are very friendly, room very clean, bathroom amenities are fanastic and this is cheaper than staying at the apartment. ASTRAL RESIDENCE AT STAR CHARGES $500 A NIGHT FOR A CRAPPY 2 BEDROOM APARTMENT OLD SMALL AND DIRTY. AT SHANGRI LA WE R PAYING $365 INCL BREAKSFAST, VALET PARKING snd service with a smile, clean room. I recommend shangri la to everyone. Fanastic...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Having stayed at the Sydney Shangri-La four or five times I was looking forward to returning to what is one of my favourite Hotels.

We arrived following a 24 Emirates flight from the UK at Sydney Airport just before midnight following the third hottest day on record in Sydney.

Consequently we arrived at the Shangri La after midnight and struggled in with our five bags whilst the doorman / porters continued their conversation leaning on their desk inside the lobby.
Eventually and apparently reluctantly they prised themselves away to collect up our bags although by this time the bags were already in the hotel and I was already queuing up behind another guest who was dealing with the one receptionist who was on duty.

The check in was efficient but not as friendly as I have experienced from the Shangri La is past visits which didn’t make much sense to me because in most of the previous visits I have travelled with Virgin and arrived at 8.00am in Sydney and not necessarily expected a room to be ready but it always has been and the staff, although very busy, were always very friendly and helpful. Perhaps they keep the best staff for the busier times during the day.

Anyway we were shown to our suite which was a Premier Grand Harbour view (corner room with views of both the Bridge and the Opera House) – one of the best sights you will ever see from a Hotel bedroom window. These rooms are $600.00 plus per night but if you are a first time traveller to Sydney and are only staying a few nights I would recommend it.

Our first stay at the Shangri La was about six years ago and it was stunning and I guess it still is however in that time the rooms have not been renovated / updated and they are just starting to look a little jaded with chipped and marked furniture and just generally looking a bit ‘tired’.

Some other observations – don’t pay the extra for the Horizon Club – the breakfast is minimal along with the Club itself – the view is fantastic but it’s probably the same from your room. You may choose to save money on a City View Room and have breakfast in the Horizon Club for the views – I suppose that’s viable but the breakfast in the main restaurant is very good and should be tried at least once.

The pool is fairly big but it was full of noisy, young children when I was there – not the Hotels fault granted and on another day it probably will be quiet. The outside area is small and often in the shade from the taller buildings around it. The pool and outside area are on the second floor and are not rooftop pools like in some other hotels so they will be shaded a lot of the time – suits some people but not the sun worshippers.

Internet is free (in the Premier Grand rooms at least) and I used Wi-Fi with a good signal strength and no connection problems.

Overall the Shangri La is still a good Hotel but I didn’t feel quite as good about my visit as I had done previously and I might just take another look at the Four Seasons next time.

Room Tip: Higher rooms tend to be a bit quieter (it is near the main road leading to the Harbour Bridge) - if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
0.4 mi away
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#15 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.