We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous & spacious rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sydney Package
Ranked #17 of 182 hotels in Sydney
2 reviews
“Gorgeous & spacious rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Amazing hotel! The rooms are gorgeous. We stayed in a deluxe grand harbour view room on level 12. Still a bit too close to the motorway so a higher level would be better. Room was very spacious and clean. Bed was very comfortable, shower head and pressure amazing! Breakfast was included in our package and included a good variety of hot food, cheese, pastries, yogurt compote and cereal. Although if you are not ankh breakfast eater do not pay the premium for it unless it's included. Beautiful surrounds in the rocks district and short 3 minute stroll to top of George St. Staff were friendly, we did not experience any exception customer service as had little interaction with staff, but always friendly and courteous when dealt with them. Nice touch of having music piped into bathroom and separate shower and bath a plus. If you can afford it, you must get a harbour view room it just makes the experience all that more special!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,538
    703
    253
    119
    77
See reviews for
347
1298
163
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I decided to spend a day in Sydney en route to Johannesburg from Brisbane. I made a last minute booking at the Shangri-la and chose an "Opera View Club Room". On arrival checkin for the club rooms was located on floor 30. Thew staff were friendly and helpful and I was upgraded to a Horizon Suite which was on floor 33. The view was unbelievable - Sydney harbour, the bridge, opera house and city. The room was expansive with almost 180 degree views.

Afternoon tea is served in the Club room with drinks and canapes in the evening. Get to the evening drinks early to ensure you get a harbour view table. A continental breakfast is served in the Club room or you can go down to the larger restaurant for a full breakfast.

The swimming pool and spa were fantastic.

I really enjoyed my stay at the Shangri-la and would definitely spend the extra amount to get a Club room again.

Room Tip: Book a Club Room; it costs more but is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Shangri-La Sydney.

Check in was a breeze. very friendly staff at reception.

Got a great room facing Sydney Harbour. Fantastic views of the harbour and Sydney Opera House. Room was very spacious and clean. Good sized bathroom.

Location is fantastic, only a short walk down to George St and the Rocks. Maybe 10 minutes to Circular Quay.

This is fast becoming my favourite place to stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a well located modern hotel. It is an easy walk to the center, to Darlington Habor and to the Opera House. Our questions to the concierge were competently answered. Quiet pleasant rooms. We would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Visit was split into 2 nights and then 2 nights again a little later in our travels.

Had the same room for both stays. Initially, had a wonderful stay with no complaints at all. Large comfortable updated rooms, great breakfast, excellent location. Everything I would expect from a 5 star hotel.

Our only problem arose on our 3rd and fourth nights stay when the weather in Sydney turned hot and humid. It was 41 degrees C outside and the aircon in our room could not cope. Although thrmostat was set to 18.5 it did not get lower than 25.

We complained and were told it would be taken care of. It wasn't. Truth is they could not fix the A/C and we would have appreciated if they had admitted this at the outset, offered us some alternatives and dealt with the issu.
Instead we got moved around to several rooms and all of them were insufficiently cooled.

We finally opted for fans since all the nearby hotels were fully booked and we were not charged for the nights accommodation.

This is really a great hotel in a great location but I would avoid it in the hot summer months.

Room Tip: Avoid staying here during the hot summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArpadRomandy, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tokalosh,

Thank you for your review regarding our property Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us initially. We wish to apologise for the issue you experienced in regards to the air-conditioning. Unfortunately our chiller was not operating at full capacity due to a technical issue. We were disappointed to read that you were not informed of this issue and apologise that you were not offered a suitable alternative. Please rest assured that we have worked to rectify the issue to prevent reoccurrence.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Arpad Romandy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

When we stayed at the Four Seasons we found that the Shangri-La blocked much of the view, hence we moved hotels, and thank our lucky stars that we did. Despite having previously also stayed at the gorgeous Intercontinental hotel, we were still impressed by the beautifully decorated room and massive marble bathroom. The view of the Opera House was stunning, and small touches to the room made it even better, such as the night light, adapters built into the sockets so could use UK plugs - handy as we didn't bring enough adapters, and free WIFI (the Four Seasons charged $25 AUD per day for WIFI). The pool was warm and peaceful, though without the spectacular views of the pool in the Intercontinental.
The hotel location is on the door step of The Rocks so is perfect for finding restaurants for dinner. The top floor bar was very busy but had a wonderful view of the harbour and the Opera House. Watching the sunset from here was a lovely way to spend our last evening in Sydney.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spent two nights here in November and found it lovely and calm. It was very busy but the rooms must be well insulated as you couldn't hear anything with the door shut. We overlooked Circular Quay which was gorgeous. Breakfast buffet was nice. Spa was gorgeous! Husband and I both had massages and facials which were amazing. Very zen!
The hotel is tucked away and up a bit of a hill but unless you are wearing high high high heels it is an easy walk to restaurants and everything at The Rocks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney
Sydney Shangri La
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list