We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - A very nice valued hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Menzies Sydney to your Saves list
The Menzies Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Great Location - A very nice valued hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

Stayed for 7 days at the Menzies in Sydney at the end of March 2007

The highlight of this hotel has to be it's location. It's right in the middle of everything you need. Located across the street from Wynard Station, it's a quick trip 12 minutes by train to and from the airport.

On George Street one block behind the hotel, you'll find an American Express Foreign Exchange Office where if you're an AmEx card holder, you can write personal checks and cash them in to the local currency with no commission charge. If you can figure it out, you can walk via the passage way from the hotel to George street.

Located in the Wynard Station on the 2nd level you'll find a supermarket. On the 2nd & 3rd floor of Wynyard station you'll also find numerous pastry shops where you can pick something up for breakfast, or perhaps something for a picnic. On the 1st or bottom floor, you'll find starbucks, Hungry Jack (aka Burger King) or Mc Donalds.

Back to the hotel. The room itself was efficient. I used all the space that was available. Since I was in Sydney for a week, I contacted the front desk to have them remove the contents of the mini bar so I could fill it with stuff from the supermarket next door. I picked up a 5 Gal jug of water. Unfortunately upon departure, I think the hotel charged me for the contents of the Minibar, which is why a charge of 137AUD showed up. I'm trying to resolve that now.

The air conditioning in the room works well. While it's not a strong flow, it's constant. So if you leave it on, eventually it will get cool on a hot day, even hilly at night. I think that Australians have a better sense of energy efficiency then in the US.

The bathroom takes a little getting use to, especially the placement and size of the toilet (look for the button on the wall to flush), and the lack of a full shower door. Water temperature, pressure and control are all fine.

There are multiple restaurants located in the hotel, but did you really fly more then 10 hours just to eat in the hotel? Get out there and find some great restaurants they do exists, and are only a short walk away.

Our room was facing the bus stop, Wynyard station and on a low floor, but it was very quite at night.

I'd love to stay here again. It was a great value, and it's right in the middle of everything you'd need for you stay.

See attached photos

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — WEll they charged me for a minibar I didn't use.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    1,528
    1,101
    352
    146
See reviews for
942
1,359
343
686
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

Our family stayed at The Menzies over the Easter Period as we booked 'Easter in the City' on the their website at a very competitive price - $200AUD including breakfast for four. I was a little sceptical after reading some reviews on this site regarding this hotel. After phoning to confirm our hotel I mention if we could be upgraded to a Park View and they kindly upgraded us at no extra cost. Checked in around 10:00am as our flight was early. As we are family of 2 adults and 2 children (14/11) we shared a room with two double beds, the room was a good size with enough hanging and draw space for the 4 of us. Very comfortable beds and enough pillows to watch TV in bed. Room service was prompt. Excellent housekeeping each day. The Menzies is in a great location, just across the road is the bus/railway station and also a Coles Supermarket. Walking distance to The Rocks/Circular Quay/Opera House and of course the CBD. Requested a late checkout and have no problems with this. I would certainly stay at the Menzies again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

We booked the Menzies as a "secret hotel" via lastminute.com. It is in a great location and very easy to find if you are coming from the airport (train straight to Wynyard Station which is over the road from the hotel).

The bedroom was large and clean but the bathroom in comparison was quite shabby and outdated. Our room also looked out on to an office block (2 metres away) so we had to keep the curtains closed at all times. Our room was also quite noisy - the aircon vents often woke us up during the night.

Best of all was the location - 10 minutes walk away from Circular Quay and The Rocks. We were only in Sydney for 3 days so this was ideal.

Nothing memorable about the staff, they were friendly enough but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needs updating
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

We sayed at the Menzies in December 2006. We got a special rate through the airport information desk in Sydney but we didn't really know what to expect. Locationwise it's fairly good, a 10 minute walk from the main Quay/opera house etc. The problems that we had with the hotel though lie in the room. There are two wings, maybe one is good, one not so good I don't know. Whatever the reason though we seemed to be in a tired dirty room, it looked ready for renovation and there were also 'dodgy' stains in the bathroom; like something you'd see on CSI!

The restaurant didn't get much better, it was expensive and the portions were small - very Nouvelle Cuisine (OK for some people, but we like a decent platefull!)

Everywhere seemed expensive in Sydney so maybe this is par for the course. We weren't very impressed and wouldn't go back again.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

Our recent visit to beautiful Sydney was complemented by the cheerful, accomodating staff at the lovely, centrally located Menzies Hotel. After a long flight from the US, I found the elegant lobby refreshing and comfortable. Our room was of good size for a city hotel (vs. NYC or Paris), clean and well appointed. I was slightly put off by the somewhat dingey gray hallways, which smelled of smoke, although I understand that the north wing has been recently renovated and this situation resolved. A lovely, large buffet breakfast is served at the hotel restaurant, and there is a lively happy hour in the lobby bar. Don't miss the beautiful indoor pool and gym. Most memorable, though, was the friendly, extremely helpful staff--a rare find in a center-city hotel.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2007

The location is everything with this hotel, you can even catch the train from Sydney airport and get off right opposite! The room we were originally allocated was upgraded (free of charge) due to a misunderstanding about the bed available for the third person staying with us. We booked via an internet site and were charged $AU140 per night for two nights with a $AU45 tariff for the extra person. If you don't expect 5 star service in this 4 star hotel you won't be disappointed!

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

I booked this hotel for a one night stay for the weekend. It was booked online on lastminute.com.au as a secret hotel deal.

For the price I paid it was really good value.

We used the spa, pool and the gym.

The hotel is located just a few minutes walk from Pitt Street mall and the Rocks and is about 10 minutes walk to Chinatown.

If you need to catch a train somewhere, across the street is Wynard Train Station.

I would definitely stay here again. 10/10

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the spa/pool/gym facilities.
  • Disliked — There is nothing that I didn't like at all...
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Menzies Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menzies Sydney

Address: 14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menzies Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Menzies Sydney is a 4 star hotel located on Wynyard Park in the heart of Sydney. With 446 beautifully appointed rooms, this is the ideal choice for business trips, holidays and exciting city breaks. With extensive conference facilities catering for up to 450 delegates, the hotel also boasts three bars, two restaurants and a swimming pool. City attractions such as the historic Rocks precinct, Circular Quay and the Sydney Opera House are on your doorstep, with immediate access to public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Menzies Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Sydney Hotel Sydney
The Menzies Hotel Sydney
Menzies Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menzies Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.