We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you want?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Menzies Sydney to your Saves list
The Menzies Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #89 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What more could you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Location:
Inner CBD, five minutes walk from major shopping attractions and business centres, ten minutes walk from the harbour and King Street Wharf, train station across the road, and situated in a safe area - what more could you want?!

Front desk & Concierge:
Lovely staff who couldn't have been more helpful. I often wonder at the negative comments made by people who say they waited to check-in, if they rush their own check-in? Waiting for five minutes while they check another guest in will not kill you. They were all polite and professional, what more could you want?

The room:
If I could've taken the bed and pillows home with me, I would have! I enjoyed a wonderful sleep and wish I'd stayed longer than one night. The room was clean and comfortable with modern decor. I wasn't in long enough to be 'offended' by the view of the next building, a garden-view room would've been wasted on me as I've never spent much time looking at the view from an inner CBD hotel room and I can't understand why guests can be so indignant that their view was of another building. I imagine it would be a different story if the hotel was located next to the sea, harbour, or mountain but it's inner CBD and no one is in their hotel room for long. Quiet, clean, and ultra comfortable...what more could you want?

The atmosphere:
A lovely, welcoming foyer that was enhanced by the grand piano on Friday night. What a lovely surprise that was! How many hotels afford their guests such a charming treat these days? Enjoying a glass of vino as the piano played while the frantic pace continued outside, was utterly spectacular. The Menzies has such an inviting atmosphere, I can't imagine anyone feeling uncomfortable.

The business centre:
Though this trip was for leisure I frequently visit Sydney for business. I was impressed on a personal and business level by the business centre that's available. Firstly, there's more than one computer/internet terminal set up in an internet cafe style but privately partitioned. Very impressed by the set-up because it's a cheaper alternative than paying for the Accor internet connection.

Other:
I wasn't there long enough to enjoy the gym or other amenities but I would LOVE to organise a function there. Shame I look after Brisbane events and not Sydney's ;)

Would I stay there again?
ABSOLUTELY! I travel to Sydney frequently for work and usually stay at The Grace Hotel. I enjoyed it so much I'm going to request The Menzies next time! What more could you want in a hotel?!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMenziesSydney, Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2010
Thank you "Walkabout" for such lovely feedback. You obviously appreciated and mood and feel of The Menzies and the services we offer, and I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely - Michael Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    1,433
    1,009
    315
    128
See reviews for
874
1,252
333
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

I can't believe it when i found this 4 star hotel at such a gd price (stay four nites to get the best deal, only that it's prepaid and cannot be cancelled) and can accomodate a family of four ( w 2 active kids). They have 2 double beds that fit us comfortably with gd central heating. So I was overjoyed when i learned that it's situated at such a convenience place. train station is right opposite and there's a coles supermarket above the station! there's all kind of eateries around and also found a sovenience shop(basement) around the corner selling at reasonable price. it's walking distance to about everywhere! For dining, don't miss out the food court at the basement of Myers (a few streets down). it's better than chinatown. pricing is reasonable, it's very clean and gd presentation. there's both western and asian cruisine. Oh, menzies staff are helpful too. infact, we plan to stay in this hotel longer next time to explore sydney and its surrounding. we need not buy any travel pass becos of it's excellent location!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMenziesSydney, Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Thank you "janet069" for your input. I am so pleased to see that our location and facilities suited your family so well, and look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely - Michael Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

The room was spacious however incredibly noisy - especially the airconditioning and the street noise even though I was on the 8th floor. The room was fine apart from the noise. The location was great.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMenziesSydney, Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Thanks for your input "coconutsmoothie".
I'm so sorry to hear that you found your room noisy. The chilled water pipe project just being completed to upgrade the air conditioning in our south wing should rectify this.
I hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again next time you're over here on the east coast.
Sincerely - Michael Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stay at this Hotel at least once a year. It is like one's favourite item of clothing or shoes - comforting and familiar! The service is great, as is the location. In addition, we consider it to be great value for money. All things considered, we can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMenziesSydney, Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Thank you "levymal" for your lovely remarks. I'm pleased to see that we're your home away from home in Sydney and look forward to many more visits.
Sincerely - Michael Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Nights of stay: May 15, 16, and 17, 2010
Room location: Second floor, facing inner building walls.
Odors: None
Cleanliness: No issues. Beds clean
Noise: None. Room cooling/heating central system with very silent fan
Staff: Very helpful, courteous even though some don’t know English.
Available Breakfast quality: Superb, better than excellent

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMenziesSydney, Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Thank you "shebSAM" for your comprehensive feedback. I'm pleased to see that we met or exceeded your expectations in all aspects of your stay, and hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit to Sydney.
Sincerely - Michael Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

The location is good, to the opera house is in walking distance,
The room is terrible, very old, a 4Star hotel without safety deposit box, No shower curtain, every time you shower wet everywhere, the mattress is old & any movement it makes the sound back to you. Never seem the air-condition controller like this I think over 20years old(Pls see my photo), one more surprise is the housekeeping can open my door without knock and also even I have double lock, the security chain stop the door open.
Breakfast is expensive, also no congee, hotel should provide at least one of Chinese food, reception is very busy one 2 staff stand there all the time.
No loyalty program, but its accor chain hotel.

27-29May2010

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMenziesSydney, Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
Thank you "RichardSK" for your input. I apologise if you felt the hotel did not live up to your expectations. I am pleased to advise that the hotel does have safety deposit boxes available to guests at no charge and I'm sorry if you were not aware of this. We also participate in Accor's loyalty programme Advantage Plus. I acknowledge your suggestion that at least one Chinese food item be available at breakfast however I am sure you can appreciate the large variety of countries represented by our guests and it is not possible to cater to each ... however we do provide a wide selection of hot and cold items on our breakfast buffet.
I hope you had a pleasant journey home from your visit to Sydney and that we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Sincerely - Michael Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed at the Menzies for four nights. I picked this hotel because I am a advantage plus member. I got the same rate as everyone else and I would say the same room. I asked for a view in my request. Yes i did get a view of the building across the lane way. I could be just and say that we ended up with this room because we arrived early, but we did not get a room until midday. The T.V. had a hum in it so they sent a guy up to fix that. Then the air con was cold so the same guy came back and fixed that. The Hotel never sent any apology for these things , but the repair guy did say sorry. Room was not properly cleaned, toiletries not refilled, sheets not changed for 4 days - we only asked for them to be changed on the second day, but it did not happen. I would stay somewhere else next time as it was not value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMenziesSydney, Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Thank you "bennyh" for your feedback. As you were kind enough to contact us direct we have responded to you via e.mail in regard to rates. Your comments regarding replenishment of room supplies have been passed to our Housekeeper and I thank you for this input. Please be assured that Advantage Plus members are valued guests at all Accor hotels and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Sincerely - Michael Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Menzies Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menzies Sydney

Address: 14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menzies Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Menzies Sydney is a 4 star hotel located on Wynyard Park in the heart of Sydney. With 446 beautifully appointed rooms, this is the ideal choice for business trips, holidays and exciting city breaks. With extensive conference facilities catering for up to 450 delegates, the hotel also boasts three bars, two restaurants and a swimming pool. City attractions such as the historic Rocks precinct, Circular Quay and the Sydney Opera House are on your doorstep, with immediate access to public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Menzies Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Sydney Hotel Sydney
The Menzies Hotel Sydney
Menzies Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menzies Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.